We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tamassa Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Reviewed March 2, 2009

What a great 20th anniversary we had at Tamassa. Wonderful, friendly staff and well kept hotel. I read all the reviews on this site before going to Tamassa and we were very pleasantly surpised. The Food was great, rooms were great, even the weather played along. I will definitely be going back to Tamassa.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndyLawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,029 - 3,035 of 5,357 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2009

It was a heavenly experience... From the moment we arrived at tamassa to the moment we left, every thing was almost perfect. The staff was very helpful and the room keeping was prompt. They cleaned our rooms and changed our towels and mats again and agian. For once we were tired of seeing our rooms cleaned every time we returned. The reception was helpful, the rooms and outdoors very clean.

We had to pay 30 euros foe renting bicycles but a 15 km ride to a nearby village was worth every bit of it.

The breakfast and the dinners at the show restraunt were sumptuous for a hardcore non vegetarian like me. Though vegetarians would have had some trouble.

The few draw backs were the quality of food provided on arrival. It had to be cold dinner in the room but they could have given somethin better. Also the cost of water and other refreshments in the mini bar were over the top. many a times we had to hold ourselves from spending the extra euros.

All in all it was an amazing experience and i'd love to go back to tamassa. The final day when we were packing and getting ready to leave, i was actually feeling low and knew that i would miss this place a lot. Thanks to Tamassa and the whole team for making this a memorable honeymoon.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank guru_utkarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

We've been users of Tripadvisor for a while but this is our first post. I know that everyone has their own opinions and expectations so just to get the background right.... we're lucky enough to be able to go away 2-3 times a year and we tend to look for locations in the 4-5* region offering good value for money.

Some of our highlights have been Kuredu in Maldives (excellent), Bodyholiday in St Lucia (going back later this year!), Ritz Carlton Bahrain (nice but too business like), One and Only Dubai (excellent service)

The Tamassa is a brand new resort in Mauritus and part of the Naiade chain (Beau Rivage, Legends, Le Pavillion....) and as far as positives go, the building is really nice, the grounds are very well kept and the facilities in excellent condition. As people have described, the beach isn't your picturesque paradise, but you incorporate that in your costs and you get what you paid for.

Negatives: The service was truely awful! I've simply copied an extract from out complaint letter to the General Manager at Tamassa which we've had no response from for over 2 months...

Rooms and housekeeping:
(1)The level of housekeeping was completely sporadic, every other day, we had to ask the housekeeper to give us fresh towels for the beach as the old ones had simply been left on the balcony even after cleaning.
(2)The turn-down service again appear to happen every other day and our fresh bath towels and bath mats were simply left on the bed whilst nothing else in the room was touched.
(3) We learnt that we had to ask the housekeeper every morning for toilet paper and on the days which we forgot, we were simply left with no toilet paper as they did not appear to check. On 2 occasions, I had to call housekeeping in the evening to provide fresh toilet paper and on both occasions, I had to wait 30 minutes and chase Housekeeping every 10 minutes.
(4) The Do Not Disturb sign was ignored - On the first occasion, the person checking the mini bar simply kept knocking on the door at 10am until we woke up to tell him to come back later. On the 2nd occasion, the turn down lady again just consistently knocked on the door until we also turned her away.

Restaurant Service (Show):
(5) This was a common feeling amongst the guests who we spoke to but it would appear that towards the end of each period of service, the waiters and cooks were more inclined to make sure that everything was tidied up and cleared up in time for the next service rather than looking after the guests who were still eating. The waiters simply ignored guests who were clearly asking for the bill or additional drinks whilst they were laying tables for lunch and dinner, and the chefs simply did not bring out fresh food to replace food which was finished. This was particularly evident at breakfast from 10am onwards, as guests were simply left with remainders whilst there was another 30 minutes of allocated time for breakfast. We had to wait 30 minutes for our bill one evening, 10 minutes to get a waiter's attention and then 20 minutes chasing a variety of waiters as nothing had been brought to us, eventually we had to simply walk out of the restaurant!

Restaurant Service (Playa):
(6) We had an extremely pleasant meal on the last evening of our stay, unfortunately it was pouring down with rain (but that is not something we can ever complain about!). We had noticed that your staff had cleverly brought over a large supply of umbrellas at the beginning of the meal, as some of the guests (ourselves included) who had arrived earlier on did not expect the heavy rain. However, at the end of the meal when we asked one of the waiters if we could use one of the umbrellas, we were turned down swiftly being informed that they were simply umbrellas which guests had brought themselves. It was only after we had stayed on our table (whilst waiting for the rain to dissipate) and another waiter enquired why we were still there after 30 minutes, a "spare" umbrella was immediately produced.

"All Inclusive":
(7) It was only upon checking out of the hotel were we informed that the hotel was not All inclusive for 24 hours. Whilst I appreciate that we could have read the 3 page instructions at the beginning of our stay, we feel that this fact could have been better and clearer informed verbally when we checked in to the hotel (but this was never mentioned). I think that you will agree that not all guests will read through the variety of paper and leaflets made available to them at the beginning of each stay, especially after journeys of over 12 hours. I understand, from a business perspective, the rational of having to pay for drinks in the club after midnight but I don't understand why guests should be charged for water before 11am or noon. Even then, we were given contradicting answers by your reception staff with regards to when the "All Inclusive" period started each day.

I think that if you take any of these in isolation, then they can be considered petty complaints, however in cumulation it's was just annoying as you had to deliberately adjust your holiday to suit the staff. At the end of the day, you pay a premium over Maldives to stay in Mauritius and we (nor our friends and colleagues who have also been) cannot find any reason why that's justifed. Highly recommend Maldives... no point going back to Mauritius.

If this doesn't put you off and you're still determined to go then at least make sure you go all inclusive (It's £3 a bottle of water, and we would have spent at least extra EUR 85 a day as a couple on food and drinks) .... also if you're going to do your PADI then you can negotiate the price down by a good EUR100 per person.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank SunSeaSand88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2009

tamassa is a very nice property . it has very nice room .the hotel is very good . only problem is very far from all the main mauritius. the beach of the hotel is not so great .like the other hotels have. but the hotel ambience and the swimming pool and the spa are simply great. the food of the hotel is ok . as v are vegetarian and so the veg food is very very less.overall its a vary nice hotel .its nice staying there.

Stayed: January 2009
1  Thank shounakthaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2008

we stayed at tamassa recently and i can not understand people who criticise anything.we got an upgrade worth 9800 pounds for 12 nights at this hotel and any body who complans about food service THE BEACH THE STAFF then i suggest you stay at home!!!!!!! le tropical in treau de deauce was also excellent and many thanks to naiade resorts for really looking after us we had the best holiday ever and weve had a lot of good 1s.TAMASSA IS FAULTLESS!!! hi to all staff BHARAT SANJAY AND SAILESH happy new year to all staff.WE are going back for 21 nights in february and can not wait.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cliffeaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

I checked into the hotel on the 14 th of dec...the welcome was ok..we were asked to give our credit card details inspite ,that we had totally paid up for the trip.we reached hotel late so we were provided food in the hotel room which was awfully cold and bad in taste.there was no water in the room,and room service took real long time to provide that too at a very high cost.In the morning the breakfast buffet was good.On the request of newspaper in the room i was told it would not be sent and i would have to collect it from the reception my self...thats 4 star service!!!!on request for a voltage adapter for my mobile phone as the charger we use in India being 220 and hotel sockets being 110...i was told i would get one soon...which eventually was provide to me on the 4th day of my stay in the hotel.On the 18th of dec my wife had the usual dinner buffet and got sick....the hotel did not have any doctor on duty and instead offered to call a doctor from outside at a cost of 100 usd and also charged a 10 % commision on that as per thier hotel policies,which had no other options but pay them a sum of 110 usd seperately.ON request for breakfast in the room...the order came in after a long one hour that too incomplete and took another one hour for the completion after the first installment of breakfast.There was no impact of any complain made at the reception at all.It seemed like the Indian guest at the hotel were treated as bad as compared to white skin guests...*****.I WOULD NOT SUGGEST ANY INDIAN SHOULD STAY IN THIS HOTEL AT ALL*******

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank lucifersingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

We've just returned from 7 days at the Tamassa and all of us had a great holiday. Overall we found facilities at the Tamassa of a high standard, the staff friendly and the food above average. Highlights were the fantastic staff at the boat house, the well equipped, clean and comfortable rooms and the food. Only one suggestion to the hotel - stop the work in the gardens in peak season, it was a bit irritating to have people digging everywhere - not sure of the reason given it is such a new resort. We opted for AI and found it worthwhile, especially with boys aged 11 and 16. We used most of the facilities - all the boat house equipment, the gym , the tennis court and lounged in the wonderful pools. We noticed that it was mostly Tamassa guests having fun with all the water sports and assume it is because most is free. Our boys had a great time wakeboarding and waterskiing every day. We booked a catamaran trip up the west coast through the boat house - a real highlight - great staff, good food and a wonderful laid back experience. We saw dolphins, did snorkelling, drank some rum punches....and had a lovely time. On the last day we went to Ile des Deux Cocos, a wonderful way to end our holiday. Snorkelling was good, the sea like a crystal clear pool and the barbeque and service on the island outstanding.

We did little travelling around the island as the time it would take to eg Port Louis (2 hours one way) or Grand Baie did not appeal to us. We specifically chose a quieter part of the Island so we could really relax and not rush around. We did a trip to the Mahebourg market about 45 minutes away but saw very little worthwhile buying. En-route our taxi driver took us to "a shop with good quality clothing". New Grove factory shop had good quality and a wide choice of branded clothing - was it fake?? The owner was smooth talking and EXTREMELY pushy and as we later discovered dishonest too. BE WARNED - you have to check every packet - incorrect sizes and items found were put in our bags. Once at the hotel we discovered the 3 shirts our son chose were 3 different sizes, the complimentary shirt my husband was given was way too large etc etc. Our own fault that we were too trusting. A classic scheme between the taxi driver and the shop - dishonest operators intent on ripping tourists off. I called the shop to ask the owner to exchange the incorrect goods, he glibly said I must call the taxi driver and ask him to bring the goods when next he came - guess what - the taxi wasn't going again and we were stuck. I appealed to the Tamassa Porter for assistance and he helped us in the end. This is a very bad reflection on Mauritius which I hope other travellers can avoid.

Stayed: December 2008
2  Thank Lorz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
7.7 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,014 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
30.3 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,577 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel So Mauritius
Sofitel So Mauritius
#4 of 6 in Bel Ombre
1,239 reviews
32.1 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamassa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamassa Resort

Address: Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range: $291 - $788 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamassa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new experience awaits guests at this beautiful all-inclusive beach hotel in Mauritius, located in Bel Ombre, on the island's south-west coast. Tamassa, a 4-star beach hotel, stands at the end of a long avenue of mature coconut palms towering skywards. A picture postcard landscape stretches across sugarcane fields to the mountains beyond. The south-west is a beautiful part of Mauritius, with spectacular walks and drives through lush, tropical hillsides and a range of open-air activities in beautiful countryside. In front of the beach hotel, beyond the sandy beach, lies a turquoise lagoon that almost blends into the skyline. The sea air is invigorating and the ripples of the waves gently calming. Beyond, lie thousands of miles of open sea. The traditional style architecture ideally suits the tropical setting, with beautifully landscaped gardens. The buildings seem at one with the environment. The decor is breathtakingly contemporary, with clean lines and bold use of colour. The atmosphere is one of eternal youth, friendly, cheerful and enthusiastic. Tamassa is a new Mauritian experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tamassa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naiade Hotel Tamassa
Naiade Hotel Mauritius
Tamassa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing