We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic hospitality”
Review of Tamassa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tamassa Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Reviewed April 3, 2014

My wife n me are both hospitality professional, thus we really know how this industry works and perform very well. We decided to stay at tamassa as we saw so much good reviews on the tripadvisor recently, looks very promising. We wanted to experience it for ourselves. As we arrived there, there was a warm welcome in the entrance, followed by some very helpful people in the reception. You can feel the authenticity from there itself, we had some great food with wonderful service at the playa restaurant, there was kamlesh who was our waiter on the occasion, this guy will go extra mile for anything, just to make sure that you are please with the out come, there was also heera which I met during his mini bar replenishment, was friendly and helpful, on top of that the mini bar is free if you are on full package, I was not expecting that ? They have a large variety of cuisine, and they do taste very good. Well done chefs. The staffs were very passionate of what they were doing. If you were wallking around in the resort, they will greet and make you feel welcome. We were amazed to see staff still caring and doing the rights things towards there guest, I personally congratulates the general manager for creating a good atmosphere for his staff and tht reflects on the guest. Well done team tamassa, hats off to you guys, I hope you guys delivers the same hospitality for years to come. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone coming to Mauritius, deserve a 5 star rating, you would not get a better deal anywhere., there so many good memories we gathered from tamassa and will definitely coming back next time. A highlight to the General manager, pls look after your staff, as they are a respectful assest to establishment. Thanks

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Pravin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Pravin E,

Thank you for an outstanding feedback.

I am delighted to hear so good things about my Team, which I am so proud of. Even our previous guests have spoken very highly about our Team Members.

Our people at Tamassa are very friendly. They carry positive attitude, show gratitude and respond to all requests with a smile.

It is a pleasure to learn that you had a great time with us.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,

Nitesh Pandey
General Manager
Tamassa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,259 - 2,265 of 5,472 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had an awesome holiday at the Lux Tamassa resort in Bel Ombre. This was our first introduction to a Lux resort and overall the experience was great – but with a few minor disappointments as well.

The location of the resort is superb. Bel Ombre is a beautiful and quiet area with great beaches, spectacular island scenery, and close proximity to the Black River National Park. This proximity to great beaches, snorkeling, quiet roads, and hiking in the park was the reason we chose the Bel Ombre area to base ourselves, and after traveling over the entire island, we’re glad we did. It is definitely the nicest corner of the island. We rented a car during our stay and managed to see most of the island and do all the things we wanted to do.

The reason we chose a Lux brand hotel was that it seemed a bit different than the standard resorts. We especially liked all of the sporting opportunities available and made use of the mountain bikes, well-equipped gym, tennis courts, and other sporting paraphernalia, all free of charge. In addition there are a number of exercise and fitness classes, as well as a full spa treatment facility. Great walks along the beach in both directions with decent snorkeling right in front of the hotel beach. The roads around Bel Ombre are not very busy so make for a great place to ride a bike.

The resort itself is luxurious and expansive, with hotel infrastructure centered around three huge swimming pools and looking out over the beautiful Indian Ocean – lots of sunshine and open area. We managed to catch sunset almost every evening from the beach. The room was very nice, modern, comfortably furnished, and well-decorated. There is free Wifi over the entire resort area, so easy to catch up with family back home while sitting on the beach or by the pool. The old red phone booth with the free international calls was a nice touch.

The bars and restaurants were all good – not great, but good enough. The main buffet restaurant was tasty and had great variety, however the service was really hit or miss. Sometimes we didn’t receive our drinks until we were finished eating. Once we even had left before the drinks came out (if they ever came out).

A few of the disappointments:
1. The ICI ice cream stand was only open for a few hours during mid-day. Thus, since we were generally out doing things during the day, we missed out on ice cream. It would’ve been nice if it were open at least until sunset.
2. The TV in our room didn’t work well (no volume control) and would sometimes turn itself on in the middle of the night.
3. Inconsistent service at the restaurant.
4. Expected to be able to watch movies on the beach every night, but only one played during our week-long stay. And it started so late (9:30pm) that we were too sleepy to watch it.

Overall we had an excellent stay at the Lux Tamassa and would definitely stay here or any of the other Lux hotels around the island. Definitely recommended to other travelers, especially to those looking for a sporty or active holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for an incredible, valuable and constructive feedback.

I am totally thrilled to learn that you had a great stay with us.

At Tamassa, we explore every single opportunity to provide best hospitality to our esteemed guests.

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We truly value the views of our guests and we apologize if we did not meet your expectations in certain areas. As famously said, the road to success is always under construction. In the same way, we take very good note of the views of our guests and work on them to become better each day.

We are pleased to inform your goodself that we have already changed the timing for the movies and have brought forward the same. Reference the volume control; the key for the same is just below the channel change on the remote.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,

Nitesh Pandey
General Manager
Tamassa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Our day use at at Tamassa Hotel on the 30th of March was a memorable experience.The hotel has an amazing display and the staff were so welcoming.Special thanks to Priya and the barman,David who made this so pleasant day happen.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Ajay S,

Thank you for the beautiful feedback.

It was a pleasure to have you and be at your service.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,

Nitesh Pandey
General Manager
Tamassa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed at Tamassa for my honeymoon and it was a wonderful experience. Absolutely loved the atmosphere at Tamassa, the facilities and surroundings. The staff were also helpful and courteous. We stayed in the superior room on the first floor and it was great, spacious and had a separate balcony which was great to just sit and relax during evening or morning time.

Hotel has many 4 different pools and many sea sport activities included. The beach by the hotel is not exactly a swim friendly one since its mostly rocky underneath. We stayed half board(breakfast/dinner) and each day were surprised by the variety of food on offer from many different cuisines. It surely was a lavish spread. We also had a dinner night at the Playa restaurant with a customized menu, that surely made us feel special.

Only gripe I had was about drinking water, as there wasn't a single bottle of water complimentary inside the room which I found really strange, though one could easily buy bottles from the nearest town for less than less 1/3rd of what they charge.
Note: Water was free during Breakfast & dinner, I saw many guests taking back bottles from there to the room.

All in all..It was a memorable experience...we both loved it.!!

Room Tip: Beachside rooms have a great view, might be worth the extra premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank suleeshs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Suleeshs,

Thank you for an amazing feedback.

I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to hear such kind words from our guests.

Karan, our Indian Chef comes from Chandigarh and prepares authentic home-style food for all our Indian guests.

Tamassa is indeed very well spread, giving ample of space to all our guests, even when it is full.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,

Nitesh Pandey
General Manager
Tamassa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Altogether a relaxing and memorable stay. We had a special cake arranged to celebrate my husband's birthday which was on the day of our check in. Many thanks to Bharat also. Thanks to all the staff again for their cooperation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your outstanding feedback.

It is always a pleasure to hear such kind words from our guests.

Along with your goodself, I would like to pass a big “Thank you” to my team.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,

Nitesh Pandey
General Manager
Tamassa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This was first abroad trip for my wife & me, Tamassa made sure we had the best time and a life time experience. Tamassa is a beautiful place with good hospitality and best beach views. Beach views are the best.Hotel is very clean, pools are awesome there is spa pool which is even better. If you go Mauritius Tamassa Hotel must be considered as top choice

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Praveen Pralhad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Praveen,

Thank you for your lovely feedback.

I am truly delighted to learn that you had a great stay with us.

At Tamassa, Team Members seek opportunities to make each moment matter and help our guests celebrate life.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,

Nitesh Pandey
General Manager
Tamassa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London, United Kingdom
15
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Wow is all I need to say about this resort. We enjoy travelling and have been privileged to go to some nice places in the world including many of the Caribbean islands. I don’t really know where to start, as soon as we got to the resort we were welcomed with smoothies and removed from our luggage to a very welcoming reception. Over the 10 days we were there, we got to know a few of the staff that made our stay very comfortable. In fact, they were so helpful, we almost felt like we were royalty.

Starting with the Reception, one of the cleanest I’ve been to and very relaxed. Always staff at hand to help. From the reception desk, you can see the main pool and the restaurant and bar. There are also various rooms to relax in before you even get near any swimming pools. Yanesh, Ravi and Bharrat are the guys who looked after us.

We hired a car to go to Cassela and the crocodile park through the resort, it couldn’t be easier and a highly recommended day out with the lion walks. A trip I will never forget!! On the day we got a call in our room with the time for the arrival of the car by Bharrat, who hadn’t even started his shift. We were also alerted at breakfast by Kamlesh, that our hire car was waiting outside. What a service.

Sajeed and Kamlesh at the 2 restaurants were very helpful and professional, even offered us meals that weren’t on the buffet menu. This resort had waiters up and down the beach providing drinks all day if you were too lazy to go to the bar. They also managed a surprise cake for my birthday on our first night. Great surprise.

We were also approached by the general manager Nitesh, who took the time to say hello and implemented some of the feedback received from us such as offering ice creams and healthy burgers etc from the bar.

Three swimming pools and a spar that was of 5 star level. Jacuzzi, steam rooms and another small pool in an idealic setting tucked away from the main area. Various options for massages and treatment were available. There was also an onsite gym if you fancied a work out. We spent most of our late afternoons at the spa.

We had some nice extra’s with our package that included a lobster meal, one massage each, private lounges outside our room and a day trip to a deserted island, well almost… 9 people and a dog on the island!

We normally don’t like travelling to the same resort twice, I would be happy to return to Tamassa. We felt this resort deserves a 5 star rating!!

Kay, Muhith and Ashik. Room 1068

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for an incredible feedback.

Team Tamassa is pampered to hear the comment, that this was one of your best vacation ever and you would not hesitate to return back.

I am delighted to hear so good things about my Team, which I am so proud of. Even our previous guests have spoken very highly about our Team Members.

At Tamassa, we strongly believe and are aware of the fact that, our success totally depends on our action towards our guests’ feedback.

We train our people to be friendly, along with carrying positive attitude, show gratitude and respond to all requests with a smile.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,

Nitesh Pandey
General Manager
Tamassa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
7.7 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
14.9 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.6 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 7 in Grand Gaube
4,506 reviews
38.2 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,977 reviews
32.1 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamassa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamassa Resort

Address: Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range: $276 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamassa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new experience awaits guests at this beautiful all-inclusive beach hotel in Mauritius, located in Bel Ombre, on the island's south-west coast. Tamassa, a 4-star beach hotel, stands at the end of a long avenue of mature coconut palms towering skywards. A picture postcard landscape stretches across sugarcane fields to the mountains beyond. The south-west is a beautiful part of Mauritius, with spectacular walks and drives through lush, tropical hillsides and a range of open-air activities in beautiful countryside. In front of the beach hotel, beyond the sandy beach, lies a turquoise lagoon that almost blends into the skyline. The sea air is invigorating and the ripples of the waves gently calming. Beyond, lie thousands of miles of open sea. The traditional style architecture ideally suits the tropical setting, with beautifully landscaped gardens. The buildings seem at one with the environment. The decor is breathtakingly contemporary, with clean lines and bold use of colour. The atmosphere is one of eternal youth, friendly, cheerful and enthusiastic. Tamassa is a new Mauritian experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tamassa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naiade Hotel Tamassa
Naiade Hotel Mauritius
Tamassa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing