We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of Tamassa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tamassa Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We visited the Tamassa for two weeks in Jan/Feb. It is a fabulous hotel set in acres of beautifully tended garden. Three pools, good beach (Shoes need in sea because of coral) Lots and lots of sunbeds with plenty of space. The accommodation was first class, we had a bedroom, dressing room, bathroom with his and her basins, shower and bath and a separate WC. All the rooms are in two or three storey chalets surrounding two of the pools. Many have a side sea view.
There are two restaurants, the main one serves buffet style meals with a vast variety of food the other, adjacent to the beach is a gourmet restaurant (booking required for dinner). We did not have a bad meal the whole holiday and my only comment about the gourmet restaurant is that they give you too much.
The staff just could not have been better, going out of their way to be helpful. It could be said that `they went the extra mile.
Out and about is safe and the natives are friendly. English is widely spoken.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel if you can afford it.
The down side is getting there and back. We went with BA and paid almost £1000 each to upgrade and it was the worst flight we have ever had. The food was rubbish and the staff rude and arrogant (I asked for a deink and was rudely told to go get my own!)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Mr. Nick,

Thank you for the delightful feedback.

I am delighted to learn that you had a great time with us.

We always train our team to be friendly, positive attitude and respond to all requests with a smile.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,

Nitesh Pandey
General Manager
Tamassa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,286 - 2,292 of 5,416 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

We have been the first time in Mauritius and Tamassa Hotel. We found an excellent service, very nice, proper and convenient rooms and a fantastic area within the hotel.
Special thanks to Devina ("Mum") for her outstanding friendship, her support and her hospitality, which was amazing - we felt like being home with our own family.
We had 10 wonderful days at Tamassa and surrounding, enjoying the nature, fauna and beaches of a very green Paradies Island. We really hope being in the position to return to Mauritius and Tamassa once in the future.

Room Tip: We can recommend superior rooms on first floor with beautiful panorama look on the pool and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus-Birgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your outstanding feedback.

It is always a pleasure to hear, when guest state that “they felt like being at home away from home”.

Certainly, a big thank you goes to Devina for being the perfect ambassador for Tamassa.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,

Nitesh Pandey
General Manager
Tamassa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This was our first trip to Mauritius, and wow were we not dissapointed.
The Tamassa is stunning from walking in at reception to every other area of the hotel.
We had booked a beach front room which i would recommend to anyone thinking of staying here. The room was spacious, comfortable,well decorated, the bathroom imaculate and exceptionally clean.
A short 30 yard walk from the door of our room and you are on a beach with stunning views of the indian ocean. The beach whilst apparently not being as soft as the beaches in other parts of the island was in my view perfect. Crystal clear water was great for cooling off in and enjoying a swim. One word of caution if you have small children with regard to the sea is that there is a current close to the shore which you can definately see and feel, but this is not all day but only at high tide.
Sunbeds and shade are available on the grass adjacent to the beach, and shade is needed in the glare and heat of the sun. Palm trees also around if you cant get a place with an unbrella.
There are three very large pools which when we were there we could have had virtually to ourselves.
There are two restaurants on site, one is a buffet style providing breakfast, lunch and dinner and the other is a la carte sited next to the beach.
The breakfast and lunch buffets were excellent providing lots of various meals/dishes both hot and cold unfortunatly we did not try the buffet in the evenings but the reason for that was the exceptional food at the a la carte restaurant.
I would recommend booking this if you intend to go or book on your arrival.
The one area that could cause and did cause frustration with some guests at this restaurant was the speed of seating/ service by the staff. There seems to be a lot of staff working but no one really managing the guests from arrival through service.
What would be a benefit would be one person booking you a table when you arrive and ensuring that the staff know which tables to service first etc. I.E. a maitre'd.
The latter end of our holiday there was what seemed like a team meeting nightly with the staff which did help.
From our prospective not a major issue as the views, conversation, food,wine etc more than made up for a little bit of a wait.
Lunch at this restaurant was also exceptional.
One last thing is that you may book a time at the restaurant and you will get a table ,but if you want to choose where you sit i.e. inside or outside that seems to be done on a first come ,first ask basis.
One point i would like to make ref the above comments around the restaurant is that the staff working there are fantastic and very friendly but just need a bit of leadership and direction.
As for the food which was served ,all our meals over the 8 days were superb. Starters, soups, mains and desserts.
Compliments to the chef!!
The Spa is well worth a visit even if your not having any treatments. Its a very relaxing area where you can use the jacuzzi, sauna,steam room, pool and very comfy daybeds at no extra costs. We also took up the offer of a 2 for 1 massage which was great after the flight from the uk.
If you are thinking of having any trips out from the hotel which we did to Port Louis (worth a trip, but be prepared if you go to the market to come out of there very sweaty) and into the mountains (well worth a trip for the stunning views) then the hotel taxis are very good value for money, also the catamaran trips to see the dolphins which can be booked at the beach hut near the beach are excellent.
And a must is the glass bottomed boat (which is free).
Last but not least we would like to say a massive thank you to all the staff who we dealt with at the hotel. The friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff at the hotel was something we have not experienced before and they are a credit to the hotel owners/management.
There are to many names to remember and acknowledge but one that stood out was Satish who worked in the bar near the beach.(not that we spent most of our time at the bar!!)
We would like to thank all the members of staff who helped make our holiday very special and one to remember.
We will be going back to Tamassa hopefully sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: Go for a beach front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Andy,

Thank you for the magnificent feedback.

Your comment covers all areas of the resort and I am sure, will assist all our future guests to choose Tamassa. We sincerely and whole-heartedly thank you for the same.

It is a pleasure to inform you that we have added a new food center at Tamassa, which will certainly reduce the load at our beach restaurant along with giving our esteemed guests a varied dining choice. And, guess what, we also have a new “Ice Cream Parlor”, which is being loved by all young and even elderly ones!!!

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,

Nitesh Pandey
General Manager
Tamassa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

i know its a late review but better late than never, july 2013 the wife surprised me with a trip to tamassa for my birthday..we've been here in 2012 as well and having made alot of friends, it was great to see everyone again.

our room was amazing but due to a small glitch that we weren't happy with, Mr Ashvin the Residentual manager met my wife and i at the playa restaurant for lunch to discuss the matter and within moments he upgraded us to a beach front room which was breathtaking..by the time we was done with lunch, our golf cart awaited us with our luggage to our new room, Ashvin even spoilt us with a breakfast in our room the following morning, what great touch..thank you Ashvin..

the different theme nights where amazing, the food was beyond 5 star quality..the indian food was great, thank you SURAJ from the chef department for the tips and recipes on mauritian style cooking..

evening entertainment was brilliant, enjoy every second of it..the lives bands where awesome especially the main band..the hotel's mc as well is a great singer and entertainer..a big thank you to our barmen RAJIV & PREESHEN for going the extra mile and always making sure our drinks kept coming, also for remembering our favourites drinks so when we arrive for the evenings entertainment, our drinks was served even before ordering..thank guyz..

on my birthday evening was a special dinner at the playa restaurant, it was amazing, food was great as usual and to end it of i was surprised witha brithday cake to celebrate.. thank you :)
dont forget to try the spa treamnets as well, well worth every penny...

all in all what an amazing experience...this was our second time within a year to tamassa and crave to go back is growing stronger by the day...we will return..
thank you to all the friends we have made, its THE TEAM that make TAMASSA the best RESORT in BEL OMBRE..

PS: the sega dances were out of this world, bring on ZE LADIES

also big thank you to pooja and baruth..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and for choosing Tamassa for second time.

Totally thrilled to read through so many names from my team. It gives me great joy.

What delights me is that even after eight months of stay, you remember all names from the Team Tamassa. This is something big, as it shows the impact of our team member’s services and their gratitude.

“Our Team” at Tamassa is our biggest strength. Almost every single review talks about our people, who can make any vacation memorable.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,

Nitesh Pandey
General Manager
Tamassa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I booked a last minute holiday to Mauritius and we are so glad that we chose Tamassa. Upon entering the hotel, your breath is taken away by the stunning view. The hotel is beautiful, clean and the staff are very friendly. The grounds are immaculate and the beach is stunning...we just want to be back there! The food in the main buffet restaurant is ok but I would recommend that you book as many nights as possible in their other restaurant on the beach as the food is amazing. You can just turn up for lunch (you may have to wait a while but you can always get a drink at the bar whilst you wait) but for dinner it's probably best to book a few days in advance. The area itself is quite quiet but if the weather isn't great one day, I'd suggest renting a car and spend some time travelling around the island. One of the best excursions we did was a boat trip first thing in the morning to swim with wild dolphins..it left is speechless and is something we will never forget! This really was a great hotel with the perfect combination of fun and relaxation..we completely agree with the reviews that its a small piece of paradise.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Lovenightsaway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a startling feedback.

I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

You will be delighted to learn that we have added a new food center at Tamassa. It opens for lunch and occasionally for dinner too. We also now, have an Ice cream parlour, which is loved by all guests, especially the young ones.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,

Nitesh Pandey
General Manager
Tamassa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The Front Office Manager, Benoit George was just amazing! His hospitality, professionalism, friendliness and caring nature, was just something you don’t experience at all hotels I've visited. He had time for every guest, whether he had the time or not. When we checked out he was on his way to a meeting. He first chatted to us, asked whether we enjoyed our stay, then realised we have not checked out and he went behind the counter and assisted with our check-out procedure. Then he went to his meeting. Nothing is too much for him. Even assisted in organising us a taxi one evening.

The reception staff were all very helpful, friendly and courteous. Always helpful.

Accommodation: Comfortable, neat and clean.

The entire resort was neat and clean. I will recommend Tamassa for groups or leisure guests any day.

We celebrated our Wedding Anniversary on 18th February in Mauritius! An invitation was delivered to our room for a special dinner booked for us at Playa Restaurant. They gave us sparkling wine, special menu printed for us, food was excellent. As we thought this is now the end of our dinner, along came a small cake specially baked for us and two glasses of champagne! When we arrived back in our room – there was another surprise! Flower petals on the floor and bed with towels folded into swans – flowers showing the way to the bathroom where a foam bath was waiting with petals drifting on the foam! This was so special – so detailed! THANK YOU VERY MUCH WE REALLY APRECIATED THIS SPECIAL TREATMENT FOR OUR ANNIVERSARY!

What a wonderful leisure/family resort. Also good for conference groups

Room Tip: Beach front rooms had better view of the ocean, but the gardens are so beautiful that any room can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Ellen,

Thank you for an amazing feedback.

It is always a pleasure to hear kind words about your estate, but what delights me more is when I read kind words about our team member.

We are in “people’s” business, and no services can survive without human touch.

Benoit is indeed, one of the most shining stars of Tamassa, and I am pleased to inform you that he has just received his promotion to become Rooms Division Manager

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,

Nitesh Pandey
General Manager
Tamassa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

As a solo traveller to Tamassa I was made very welcome by all the wonderful staff from the management to the room attendants. My room was very comfortable with good amenities and all the facilities are superb: I especially enjoyed yoga under the palms in the garden and the excellent treatments in the spa. There was a good selection at the breakfast buffet and lunches and dinners at La Playa restaurant was interesting and beautifully cooked - I never had a disappointing meal.
An excellent all inclusive holiday and I would love to return with my family.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1Rosina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the stunning feedback.

At Tamassa, we explore every single opportunity to provide best hospitality to our esteemed guests.

It is always a pleasure to hear such kind words from our guests, praising all areas of the estate.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,

Nitesh Pandey
General Manager
Tamassa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
7.7 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,097 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
14.9 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,566 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel So Mauritius
Sofitel So Mauritius
#4 of 6 in Bel Ombre
1,275 reviews
38.6 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 7 in Grand Gaube
4,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamassa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamassa Resort

Address: Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range: $270 - $649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamassa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new experience awaits guests at this beautiful all-inclusive beach hotel in Mauritius, located in Bel Ombre, on the island's south-west coast. Tamassa, a 4-star beach hotel, stands at the end of a long avenue of mature coconut palms towering skywards. A picture postcard landscape stretches across sugarcane fields to the mountains beyond. The south-west is a beautiful part of Mauritius, with spectacular walks and drives through lush, tropical hillsides and a range of open-air activities in beautiful countryside. In front of the beach hotel, beyond the sandy beach, lies a turquoise lagoon that almost blends into the skyline. The sea air is invigorating and the ripples of the waves gently calming. Beyond, lie thousands of miles of open sea. The traditional style architecture ideally suits the tropical setting, with beautifully landscaped gardens. The buildings seem at one with the environment. The decor is breathtakingly contemporary, with clean lines and bold use of colour. The atmosphere is one of eternal youth, friendly, cheerful and enthusiastic. Tamassa is a new Mauritian experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Tamassa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naiade Hotel Tamassa
Naiade Hotel Mauritius
Tamassa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing