We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff - Fantastic Resort”
Review of Tamassa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tamassa Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Staff - Fantastic Resort”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were very impressed with Tamassa Hotel, when we visited in October this year.

Staff was helpful, friendly and nothing was too much to ask. We booked one of the beach houses, with a fantastic seaview, and a clean white beach, with lots of fish, go snorkling!! 200 % recommended. Also we have a little boy of seven months old, and they offered to prepare baby food, remembered his name Lucas, and were so kind to him and us, absolutely wonderful.

A special thanks to :

Kovilen (beach bar man)
Marie france (cleaning lady)
Runga (manager bar)
Rose mary (reception)

We had an awesome holiday!

Room Tip: Beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrietjeJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank for an amazing feedback.

It is a pleasure to read through so many names from our team across all departments.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,

Nitesh Pandey
General Manager
Tamassa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,266
    638
    118
    34
    17
See reviews for
1,609
2,562
73
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (802)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Finesse magazine took 27 ladies to the beautiful Tamassa Hotel. We all enjoyed the beautiful surroundings and were very impressed with the friendly and professional service. Thanks to Mike Tan Yan (one of the senior sales managers) for making sure that all the ladies were happy. I would definitely love to take a group (and my family) there again. What a greay experience! Linda Kriel (Fitness expert and -columnist Finesse Magazine)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lin1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Ms. Linda,

Thank you for your beautiful feedback.

The team is delighted that the whole group enjoyed the stay and the visit was a success.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,

Nitesh Pandey
General Manager
Tamassa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed in Tamassa for a night celebrating my closest friend's wedding.
The staff of the hotel is very responsive, should you need anything - the solution comes within 5 to 10 mins.
The food was great too, and the choice is big enough to satisfy a picky guest.
If I ever in Mauritius again, I will definitely stay there to experience their SPA and other services once more.

Room Tip: take a room near pool - it is in the same distance to everything the hotel offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Ms. Maria,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

Indeed, the wedding was a great success and I am glad that you had a good time with us, even though it was a very short stay.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,

Nitesh Pandey
General Manager
Tamassa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emirate of Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed in this resort for 5 times and every time I am there I feel like I am special and as if I own the world...it all starts from the warm mauritian welcome ...every staff is carrying a great smile as if theres nothing in this life but to smile and to be happy..u wl receive the positive vibes the moment the start preparing ur room cards...my last visit was on the 1st of this November. .and I felt like am coming back home ..everyone was welcoming me especially amy at the reception who didn't save a moment to share her beautiful smile with me and the rest of my team she and baharat recognised me and did their best to make us feel comfortable...my night has started with the amazing pop cap sparkling wine at jalsa cluband theb amazing entertainment team ..FAB..NEIVEN and Rachel..we sang ..we danced with nothing to stop us as if there's no tomorrow and the fun kept flowing like a flodded river..the 2nd day was so special as we enjoyed every bit of the beach activities and the amazing drinks and food served in the b.bar..and the beach bar ..the breakfast offers wide selections of food and a great smile from the sweet host Pooja that carries out a charming appetiting smile ..the staff runs here and there to make sure u r enjoying ur breakfast...the 2nd night was a night to remember as we started at the lounge singing with entertainment team and playing the table tennis with the so talented stephan and the beautiful voices of gayel, niven and rachel..and then a great sega dance show followed by a bouncing beats next to the main pool ...the people in Mauritius and especially in tamssa make life worth living and worth enjoying ..every single bit of care u receive from the staff makes u feel as if u r the only one living on this planet..nothing is fake ...no hidden agendas ..everyone would approach u and ask u how r u feeling and even offer u more kindness to make ur stay even greater..the night was a big bounce at jalsa as the dj has played a variety of songs to match with everyone's taste and never hesitated to play requested song...every drop of sweat was woth shedding in the club...the 3rd day was too special as we did the amazing trips offered by the boat house...such as swimming with dolphins and the catamaran trip ...there should be a reason why I keep doing these trips every time I come and they never get old or boring...coming back from the trip we did join the beach volleyball team for a super blood pumping game full of laughter and fun ..its so simple to engage in any activity ..the people there makes u feel that they r either ur best friends or part of ur family...one of the most admirable people in this hotel is the great SAJEED who makes all the efforts possible to make u feel like a celebrity or maybe his brother or sister ..his great knowledge of food and wines ...his soft touches ..his recommendations are part of his great personality. .this Great sajeed is a person that u would never forget and for me he is a reason why I would love to come back ..the playa restaurant can't be as great without sajeed..sajeed played a great part in my stays ..his warmth and respect makes it so hard to leave ...he can instantly make u feel special no matter who u r ..just because its u ..and since am talking about the playa I should talk about the amazing tiger prawns and the exquisite taste of the lobsters offered there ...have urself a big lobster and maybe a 12 bottles of pop cap and you all know what I mean....and guys you gotta talk to michael who will share ur laughter and make u wanna jump and roll on the floors as he will introduce u to a new ways of having fun...drink and eat as if there's no tomorrow as you will recover that in the best spa ever that will offer u a customised treatments designed for your own satisfaction....I am not exaggerating ..this place is heaven on earth ..being there makes you emotional toward every inch of the place...I loved my stay ...and I knw that I will be back and I am sure that I will expect nothing less than a great service...we live days to make memories and in the back of mind there's nothing that can beat the tamassa-Mauritius memories ...its a sour free experience full of peace and serenity...love u tamssa team ..thank u for everything u do ...it shows how much u r dedicated to serve ur hearts and souls... I work in thebsame field and I have travelled allover the world and u guys r the best...u inspire me to do my job even better when am doing my customer services ...thank u and love u is the minimum that I could say xxxx

Abdallah khashman
Room 1061
Check in date: 1 nov 13

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buddahkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such an incredible feedback.

I am delighted to learn that you had a great time with us.

At Tamassa, Team Members seek opportunities to make each moment matter and help our guests celebrate life.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,

Nitesh Pandey
General Manager
Tamassa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We went to Tamassa produced by LUX, for a mind body and soul retreat in October 2013. We were a group of almost 30 women. Three experts were taken along to work with the group in their journey to a NEW YOU - a dietitian, life coach & fitness instructor. We had two fitness sessions each day, doing either water aerobics, kick boxing, power walking or circuit training. The hotel was great, and because of the size of the property we had plenty of room to get fit! With 3 huge pools we could also swim and splash without disturbing the other guests.
The service in all the restaurants was really good, the food fantastic and the rooms very comfortable. We chose the "all inclusive" package, so we never worried about the holiday ending up costing us more than we budgeted for.
The spa is to die for. I loved the steam room and jacuzzi. And the sunsets on the beach will make every traveler come back.
The meaning of Tamassa is "party" and that we did every evening after dinner on the dance floor.
Thanks to the whole team for looking after us. We had a fabulous time.
Hope to see you again soon!
Venessa Schoeman - Brand Director FINESSE magazine (South-Africa)

Room Tip: The rooms right on the beach have a beautiful view, but it is a bit of a walk to the restaurant and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VenessaSCHOEMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the fantastic feedback.

The team is delighted to learn that you had a great time at Tamassa.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,

Nitesh Pandey
General Manager
Tamassa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This review is arguably a bit late as it has been a while since I visited but I have to say that I visited this hotel when it first opened and it has always stuck in my memory as one of the nicest hotels that I have ever visited and it thoroughly deserves it's number one position!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basejumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a fabulous review.

It is never late to hear such kind words from our guests that they enjoyed their stay with us.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,

Nitesh Pandey
General Manager
Tamassa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We read may reviews of this hotel before we booked our honeymoon and one thing that strucj me was how so many reviews mentioned staff by name. I am not surprised in the slightest at this nowhaving returned from our amazing honeymoon at Tamassa. The staff are wonderful and turn this great hotel into a true gem! Nothing is too much trouble, the sales manager Mike wanted to help us carry our bags (they were very small...) and even tried to get hold of some peacock feathers especially for me for our room as theywere our wedding theme... if there was a problem - light bulb blown or safe battery light flashing low it was fixed within minutes! Add to that fabulous food, great cocktails served with a smile - Satish... we miss you already, and of course the beautiful beach and scenery, you cannot want more. The boat crew lead by Wessley are fun guys who were alwasy happy to help out, the range of activities on offer is good. the entertainment / sports crew are great, Niven and Gael took us on a half day (6hr) bike ride along the South Coast. Advertised as 28km they might want to check this.. we think it was about 40km but it was a lovely way to see some of the sights away from the hotel. They made a detour so we could get water and ice creams... great job guys!

Food is brilliant. Playa is intimate in the evenings even though several families dine there also, the presentation of their food is beuatiful... youdo eat with your eyes after all! Lunchtimes have good selection and there is always a brilliant buffet too. theme nights not to miss are wednesday and Monday, Mauritian and Indian at Show buffet... some of the best curry we've ever tried! And don't get me started on the bread.... mmmmmmmm We ate our one night at a local restaurant (Le Chateau) that had rave reviews in the British press.. the food was no better than the hotel, in fact we were both a little dissappointed to be honest!

Lastly, without listing another huge string of names, the over riding thing about Tamassa is a sense of space and tranquility. It's a busy hotel with families and couples and even a SAGA tour group so it caters for allsorts but it does not feel "busy" or cramped. the grassy spaces between buildings and lots of trees just added to the idyllic ambience.

we will be back, for sure!

Mr and Mrs Larder! 2052 October 2013

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank z1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the amazing feedback.

I am glad that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us and we exceeded your expectations in all fronts.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,

Nitesh Pandey
General Manager
Tamassa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
7.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,709 reviews
30.2 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,454 reviews
32.9 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.2 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,536 reviews
38.7 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
32.1 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamassa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamassa Resort

Property: Tamassa Resort
Address: Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamassa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new experience awaits guests at this beautiful all-inclusive beach hotel in Mauritius, located in Bel Ombre, on the island's south-west coast. Tamassa, a 4-star beach hotel, stands at the end of a long avenue of mature coconut palms towering skywards. A picture postcard landscape stretches across sugarcane fields to the mountains beyond. The south-west is a beautiful part of Mauritius, with spectacular walks and drives through lush, tropical hillsides and a range of open-air activities in beautiful countryside. In front of the beach hotel, beyond the sandy beach, lies a turquoise lagoon that almost blends into the skyline. The sea air is invigorating and the ripples of the waves gently calming. Beyond, lie thousands of miles of open sea. The traditional style architecture ideally suits the tropical setting, with beautifully landscaped gardens. The buildings seem at one with the environment. The decor is breathtakingly contemporary, with clean lines and bold use of colour. The atmosphere is one of eternal youth, friendly, cheerful and enthusiastic. Tamassa is a new Mauritian experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tamassa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naiade Hotel Tamassa
Naiade Hotel Mauritius
Tamassa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing