We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay at the Tamassa”
Review of Tamassa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tamassa Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed at Tamassa 9th -22nd October 2013. The hotel lived up to my expectations based on brochure photographs, descriptions and reviews from other TA members (I don’t think the TA reviewers that posted negative reviews stayed at the same place).

The room was nicely decorated and the superior bedroom had a large bathroom. I had a ground floor room, I think I would recommend asking for a first or second floor room just because there wasn’t any privacy due to the patio doors opening on to the main hotel grounds. As you walk in to the hotel the reception looks amazing and the views from the large windows over the main pool, restaurant and bar area are a real wow factor.

The main restaurant (Show) was nicely decorated and the room although it can seat a large number of people doesn’t feel like a school canteen (like in some hotels) because it is laid out in small sections. There was a good variety of food, salads, breads (the bread was fantastic) etc. although I think if you are a fussy eater (i.e meat and two veg, no sauces) you might struggle.

The restaurant near the beach (Playa) provided waiter served lunches most days, very good food and large portions, although I was slightly disappointed with the selection on the buffet days. The meals served at Playa in the evening were fantastic, although 4 courses was far too much food for me. I ate at the Playa restaurant three times and each time the menu was different. This was a nice touch as in some hotels the speciality restaurants just offer the same menu. The Playa restaurant does book up quickly so make your reservations at the beginning of your stay.

The hotel grounds, pools and facilities (i.e spa and sports) were very good, and the staff were very nice and friendly.

I’d recommend this hotel, I thought the price paid (£~1900pp for 13 nights stay + flights from London) was reasonable. It would only be made better if international branded drinks were included in the all inclusive package, but that said the drinks provided were ok, just not up to Mexico standard.

Room Tip: Ask for a first or second floor room for a little more privacy.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonese04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Guest.

Thank you for a fabulous review.

I am glad that we stood up to your expectations and you enjoyed your thirteen night stay with us.

Thank you for your detailed and fantastic feedback, which I am sure will assist all our future guests to choose Tamassa.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,

Nitesh Pandey
General Manager
Tamassa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,166)
There are newer reviews for Tamassa Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,303 - 2,309 of 5,166 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

It was a 3 days stay. Breakaway from the hectic work to spend a quality time with the family. Time well spent with the family. Stay at Tamassa was well worth the choice. We felt pampered in every way. Location of the Hotel, Clean Rooms with Vibrant colours [Kids just loved it!!], Choice of Food, Ambience, Good Housekeeping, Staff were very courteous and ever ready for every kind of help. Activities, Kids Play. All great and excellent and well worth [Actually worth more] than the money spent. Welcome to Bye-Bye - All the time well taken care off!!

Room Tip: Keep it up....You will go a long way!!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dineshmurmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the incredible feedback.

I am delighted to learn that your stay was very relaxing and rejuvenating. Team Tamassa works extremely hard behind the scenes to ensure that all our guests celebrate life.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,

Nitesh Pandey
General Manager
Tamassa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

we have recently stayed at this hotel, we were very happy with the hotel, where the welcome is genuine, people often say how lovely the staff are and how they can't do enough to help you, well this really true here, the boat house crew where great and gave me lots of help and advise, when I was water skiing. we also found that the restaurant near the beach was really good, we ate there everyday, either lunch or dinner, some times both, the attached bar was also great with lovely staff, and a great place to watch the sunset with a cocktail in hand.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to face the beach.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BucksFreckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such an amazing feedback.

I am glad that you had a great time at Tamassa.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,

Nitesh Pandey
General Manager
Tamassa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at Tamassa from July 28th to Aug 11th 2012. We picked the hotel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor, and so glad we did. Took a while to actually write and put in our review but finally got around to it.

We would recommend it to anyone, and we have already booked to come back here in December and bringing others with us!

The rooms were modern, with a colourful décor and very spacious. The bathrooms needed a spot of re-grouting but nothing too serious. We were upgraded to a superior room on arrival which was a pleasant surprise.

We had an issue with the plug in the bath getting stuck, went to dinner, and on return it was fixed! Excellent Customer Service! The cleaners did a fantastic job and kept the place immaculate, they also provided a turn down service each evening which was a lovely extra touch.

The internet was occasionally sketchy, which was difficult to come to terms with for one of us and his first world problems, sometimes there are more important things to life then pictures of cats.

There are 3 large pools and the grounds are lovely and well kept, although the stones around the pools were extremely sharp and difficult to walk on.

The beach is big with plenty of space and beds and as Mauritius is surrounded by coral reef there are lots of rocks and coral in the water full of all sorts of sea creatures and plant life which was amazing to see especially as it's only a few feet into the crystal clear water. This isn't really a play in the sea kind of place and you will need sea shoes as there are a lot of things to accidentally step on once you get past the sand.

The food was very good quality, we pretty well tried everything off the Playa menu and all the buffet food and throughly enjoyed most things we ate. If you want to venture out though we would highly recommend the crocodile steak at La Vanille.

There were a few little birds flying around at mealtimes, but it’s a hot beautiful country with lots of greenery and wildlife and it’s all open to the outdoors so you’ve got to expect birds, the good news is these are small clean birds and not some scabby mongrel pigeon.

All of the staff are fantastic and would do anything to help! There are too many to name each one but Rajiv in particular needs a special mention, he made the holiday for us, advising us of where to go on the island and helping better understand the mauritian people.

While there we hired a car and visited lots of places outside the resort by ourselves, we got to meet some of the people and their dogs (usually standing in the middle of the road oblivious to the cars) and see some amazing sights which you won’t get whilst sat on the beach or through the organised tours, don't worry though the roads are safe, mostly because there are people standing in the middle of the road everywhere you look and all the cars are from some long lost past and don’t go faster then 40mph

Thanks Tamassa and we look forward to seeing you all soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hammo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for an incredible feedback.

I am delighted to read through your kind words and your beautiful experiences.

At Tamassa, Team Members seek opportunities to make each moment matter and help our guests celebrate life.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,

Nitesh Pandey
General Manager
Tamassa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Tamassa staff is excellent - Benoit and Yanesh made our stay wonderful by allocating a great room for our family - good access to the beach and pool.
For families with small kids, Francine and her colleagues at the kids club are fantastic - they have a nice program and many activities for children, and are very caring.
We had a nice lunch and dinner at La Playa - Booking in advance is recommended.
BBar is a good place to chill out - The barmen made some nice cocktails.
If you want to go Mauritius - go to Tamassa!

Room Tip: Beachfront room are best
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ram N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Mr. Ram,

Thank you for your beautiful feedback.

It is always a pleasure to hear such kind words from our guests, especially when the whole team works so hard to ensure that all our guests celebrate life.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,

Nitesh Pandey
General Manager
Tamassa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We spent a wonderful week-end at Tamassa. The staff were caring, and always willing to help. We had a beach room, thus excellent location. One very important point is the staff at Play (kids club) looked very well after our two children aged 3 and 6 - they were simply stunning with them! My husband and I even managed to have a dinner "en tete a tete" - which is normally very difficult with small kids.
I could only say that the waiting time at La Playa during lunchtime is bit long - you better go early, before 13h00. But we had a good lunch and two nice singers entertaining.
Dinner at the main restaurant was good - even if there is not a big selection. But the a la carte dinner at la Playa was simply delicious.
We had a wonderful break and would definitely recommend Tamassa to our families and friends.

Room Tip: Beach rooms are definitely better because of view
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ariane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Ariane,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback.

I am glad that you had a good time with us.

At Tamassa, the team is totally dedicated to help our guests celebrate life.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,

Nitesh Pandey
General Manager
Tamassa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is by far one of the best hotels we have stayed in!!!!! Amazing experience from all aspects…location, environment, atmosphere…all in all it’s a place for everyone!!!!
We spent couple of days at this lovely resort…. How sorry we were since we wished we could stay longer. From the moment we arrived, until the moment that we left, we were treated like royalty with every whim and wish catered for. The staffs were helpful with advice and suggestions. The view from the room was stunning… with the blue sky and the tempting blue sea. The room was much larger than what we expected with nice amenities.
Most important for me is the swimming pool. It is the first thing I usually look at. At first I was skeptical... it looked like a little oasis in the middle of room accommodations. But once at the pool, it was heaven. There are were 3 huge pools. Every scene you take in, from every possible angle, leaves you in awe. The attention to detail made a huge impression on us!!!
The food at the buffet was great as well with the different themes…you get the feel and look of the theme….with the restaurant nicely decorated. We dined at Playa once and the food there was world-class as well. It was so delicious….Bravo to the Chefs!!!!
All beach staff was exceptionally attentive and friendly. They would constantly walk around to make sure that you are comfortable and ready to assist. The ‘Drinks Me’ corner offered a range of fresh drinks for free whenever you passing by and feel like having something…The spa team..... just beyond words. We were treated with such warmth and honestly say from a treatment point of view, this is the one!! We did not use the gym but saw it was well equipped with trainers. The staffs during the breakfast buffet were exceptionally friendly and we learnt a lot about the history. I do believe this is next on our list.
The rooms were spotlessly cleaned…the maids were so meticulous and smiling!!!! Nothing was a task for them…
Entertainment was fabulous…with a whole lot of activities and fun loving people…..
The B-bar was amazing as well….the barman would be so friendly and make you marvelous drinks.

We will definitely be back again!!!!
Cheers to Team Tamassa!!! You left us admiring you all!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Ms. Sonia,

Thank you for such an amazing feedback.

Your review is truly wonderful and will certainly assist all future guests to choose Tamassa.

At Tamassa, we explore every single opportunity to provide best hospitality to our esteemed guests.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,

Nitesh Pandey
General Manager
Tamassa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
7.7 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,804 reviews
30.3 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,485 reviews
32.9 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.2 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,636 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamassa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamassa Resort

Address: Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range: $329 - $765 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamassa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new experience awaits guests at this beautiful all-inclusive beach hotel in Mauritius, located in Bel Ombre, on the island's south-west coast. Tamassa, a 4-star beach hotel, stands at the end of a long avenue of mature coconut palms towering skywards. A picture postcard landscape stretches across sugarcane fields to the mountains beyond. The south-west is a beautiful part of Mauritius, with spectacular walks and drives through lush, tropical hillsides and a range of open-air activities in beautiful countryside. In front of the beach hotel, beyond the sandy beach, lies a turquoise lagoon that almost blends into the skyline. The sea air is invigorating and the ripples of the waves gently calming. Beyond, lie thousands of miles of open sea. The traditional style architecture ideally suits the tropical setting, with beautifully landscaped gardens. The buildings seem at one with the environment. The decor is breathtakingly contemporary, with clean lines and bold use of colour. The atmosphere is one of eternal youth, friendly, cheerful and enthusiastic. Tamassa is a new Mauritian experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tamassa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naiade Hotel Tamassa
Naiade Hotel Mauritius
Tamassa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing