We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamassa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Tamassa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

My excellent hotel to get away. The prominent plus point is the ability of the staff to put a smile at anytime. The holiday was peaceful.Food was good and the choices were aplenty. The beach was serene but the water was rocky! There is always something to do there. And the nightly performance at the B bar was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asokan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.
I am truly delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again, I can see a special mention towards Team Tamassa. A special comment about our team, such as yours, delights me and makes me feel proud.

We at Tamassa, assure all our guests a fantastic stay, where service comes from heart.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,
Nitesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,814
    599
    111
    34
    17
See reviews for
1,421
2,307
69
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (756)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quatre Bornes
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

It is now a must that we visit Tamassa once or twice per year to the minimum....
The friendly approach of the staffs and the high quality of the service always encourage us to visit the hotel.
We have now been celebrating our wedding anniversary at the hotel since 2011. We have been at the hotel once in 2011 and 2012. But have already visited the hotel twice this year and most probably would be visiting it again this year. We really value the prevailing atmosphere of the hotel and that's why we tend to celebrate our memorable events there.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter and the panoramic view is too beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vishal d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Vishal,

Thank you for the amazing feedback.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. From the entire Team Tamassa, we wish to thank you for your trust and giving us so many opportunities to serve your goodself.

Guest return is always most rewarding for any resorts or hotels.

Your first visit was as a guest, your last return was as a friend and we wish to welcome you back in near future as a family.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours’,
Nitesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tooting, London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were pleased with the courteous welcome received during our short stay at Tamassa . The staff with different level of responsibility were helpful, resourceful and friendly at all times. There was an eagerness/willingness to ensure the holiday makers enjoyed their stay. The food were excellent with a varied menu. overall, we had a very memorable time ' Tamassa.

Room Tip: We would recommend Tamassa at any time as the service were superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayswanrao s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

I am glad to know that your enjoyed your stay with us. It makes me feel pride, when I read comments that our team members are completely dedicated to helping people celebrate life.

Look forward to welcome you back in near future.

Sincerely yours’,
Nitesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Gaulette, Black River, Mauritius
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

we had several stay at the Tamassa Resort and I can say we feel very at ease there, such is not the case in other hotels. The food is very good and we have a large choice. The staff is very attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanisha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Ms. Vanisha,

Thank you for your great feedback.

I wish to thank you for giving us another opportunity to serve your goodself and your family.

Saying so, I am glad that you have enjoyed all your stays at Tamassa.

Look forward to welcome you back in near future.

Sincerely yours’,
Nitesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

What can I say! I'm writing this sat on the sun lounger after checking out! But we had to review it straight away!! We have had the best time at Tamassa! What we have to say is the service from every member of the team has been the best, never a problem that couldn't be overcome! Special mention goes to Allan from the Playa restaurant, who from day one nicknamed me 'Fahrenheit' due to my aftershave and who was always friendly but who really did deliver a real quality service; Franko from the playa bar who when he saw you always came over to say hello and have a chat; and Pooja in the show restaurant who was always so friendly, warm and welcoming! These were the names that we managed to get but seriously every member was outstanding, and besides the beautiful location the staff really made our holiday!

We booked into a superior room, this was located near the back of the resort and up one flight of stairs. We were then upgraded to a beach front room, room 1067. The rooms were identical apart from the view, the beach view was amazing! We loved the rooms, we had a 'green' decorated room which had sliding wood doors to the bathroom with big corner bath, large waterfall shower, his and her sinks and a big double wardrobe... Wicked!!

We loved the food at Tamassa, you couldn't fault it, and we didn't have a bad meal. So much choice from the Show restaurant which was a buffet, we had some gorgeous food from here, i would highly recommend the indian night they put on - the restaurant looked amazing and the food was delicious, the tandori fish the best ive ever tasted! breakfast was served in the show each day then you could eat either there or in the Playa restaurant for lunch or dinner. We tended to go to the Playa, it really is restaurant quality, and for both lunch and dinner you can have 4 courses if you want. Also as we were on our honeymoon we were treated to two special meals in the playa, for these the tables are dressed and you get your own personal menu card with 5 courses, including yummy lemon sorbet and champagne to cleanse your pallet. Also the dessert was amazing - warm chocolate pudding with vanilla ice cream!

You also have the option to pay for a special lobster menu, we treated ourselves to this on our last night and we would HIGHLY recommend! Again 5 courses and the lobster was amazing, you get so much and it is so fresh and meaty, to get the same in England would cost a fortune.

We didn't really participate in any of the activities but if you are sporty there are plenty of things to do, I wish I had brought trainers as we had a couple of rainy days and there is a good gym with equipment available to use, or free bike hire. On the subject of the weather, if you are coming in the winter, it can be a bit cool of an evening and like I said we had some rainy days when it was cool again so I would just advise bringing a couple of warm clothes, my wife bought a pashmina which did the trick but says she wishes she had brought a few pairs of leggings for those days! We made the most of the spa on one rainy day, which is beautiful, and treated ourselves to a massage. You can also borrow a DVD player and DVDs for your room and order room service which again was lovely, and you only pay for a tray charge, the food is inclusive.

There's so much the hotel will do for you but it's all in the magazine in your room so well worth reading through, and if you wanted something bespoke they can arrange it too.

What else? Oh the Vir-Gin cocktails are the best! I think we would have to say a big thank you to Kovilen for bringing us these cocktails plus other drinks each day as we lounged on the beach, again nothing was too much trouble for him.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FilthyBeats81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your detailed and amazing feedback.

I am delighted to read through your in-depth comment, which not only justifies our quest of “helping guests celebrate life”, but will also assist all our future guests to choose Tamassa.

Once again, I get my energy seeing so many of our team members shining out. It’s all about people.

Sincerely appreciate your thoughts about all areas of the resort, especially the food. We place a lot of emphasis on the taste and flavors.

At Tamassa, we strongly believe that “Each Moment Matters” and on behalf of the entire team, I can assure your goodself and all our future guests, that there are 311 smiles waiting eagerly to serve you all.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve your goodself in near future.

Sincerely yours’,
Nitesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield derbyshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Well where do we start, slight mix up with the rooms on check in , which got resolved within an hour with a free up grade to two interconnecting superior rooms
The food and the staff are fantastic , nothing is too much trouble , various staff member have been outstanding especially Viseen a real credit to the hotel
We have travelled the world and would give this a high 4 star to a mid 5 star, even though it is rated a 4 star

Full review to follow

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laney1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

I am glad that you are enjoying your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive our esteemed guests’ feedback whilst at the estate.

Once again, our team members have proved their outstanding service and the magic touch, which has the potential to make all our guests happy.

At Tamassa, all team members understand the importance of each moment, and we are all committed towards helping guest celebrate life.

I sincerely hope that, we are able to completely “wow” your goodself and your family.

Look forward to receive your full review and feedback.

Sincerely yours’,
Nitesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Without any doubt, this was the most fantastic resort we ever stayed in! The service and attention to detail was very good from check- in onwards. We were quickly taken to our room, which was fresh and beautifully laid out.
The staff is very friendly and kind. They always go out of their way to help you and make your stay amazing one. The staff always carries a smile and have great attitude.
The entertainment program at evening times was very good. We enjoyed the Indian and Mauritian night at the buffet restaurant. The food is very very good.
The resort is away from Port Louis, but all other tourist points are close to Tamassa, which was very good for us. It was also more peaceful and greenery in the south.
To summarize, all of the above, “we love you Tamassa”.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arjun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh P, General Manager at Tamassa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Mr. Arjun,

Thank you for your amazing feedback.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us followed by a safe journey back home.

It is truly a delight to read your valuable feedback, where “attention to detail” was the key element across all the estate.

Tamassa is very well located in the south of Mauritius, which is home to many of the “must see places”, along with having the benefit of less explored.

Look forward to have another opportunity to serve your goodself in near future.

Sincerely yours’,

Nitesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
7.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,285 reviews
38.1 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,242 reviews
32.7 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
37.8 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,238 reviews
38.6 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamassa

Property: Tamassa
Address: Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamassa 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new experience awaits guests at this beautiful all-inclusive beach hotel in Mauritius, located in Bel Ombre, on the island's south-west coast. Tamassa, a 4-star beach hotel, stands at the end of a long avenue of mature coconut palms towering skywards. A picture postcard landscape stretches across sugarcane fields to the mountains beyond. The south-west is a beautiful part of Mauritius, with spectacular walks and drives through lush, tropical hillsides and a range of open-air activities in beautiful countryside. In front of the beach hotel, beyond the sandy beach, lies a turquoise lagoon that almost blends into the skyline. The sea air is invigorating and the ripples of the waves gently calming. Beyond, lie thousands of miles of open sea. The traditional style architecture ideally suits the tropical setting, with beautifully landscaped gardens. The buildings seem at one with the environment. The decor is breathtakingly contemporary, with clean lines and bold use of colour. The atmosphere is one of eternal youth, friendly, cheerful and enthusiastic. Tamassa is a new Mauritian experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Tamassa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naiade Hotel Tamassa
Naiade Hotel Mauritius
Tamassa Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing