We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic holiday”
Review of Tamassa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tamassa Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Reviewed March 15, 2013

we stayed at the tamassa hotel feb/march having just returned, lets start with the negatives first there are none this hotel is perfect in everyway. all the staff are great and very friendly, the food is too good ive put on over a stone. Everywhere is very clean and rooms are cleaned daily to a very high standard. Allan at the playa restaurant is a real gem and had us laughing from the moment we met him [thank you allan] also Pooja in the buffett restaurant has one of the best smiles i have ever seen and a very wecolming wayabout her she should be greeting guests on their arrival talking of which we were met with a nice cold flannel and drink overall checkin took about 15 min. Would we go back again YES we would.

Room Tip: higher floors have stunning views of indian ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doreen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear Doreen D,

What is a stone when you are on holidays!!!

Thank you for your review and delighted to read that smiley Pooja and Allan made you dinning experiences full of laughter!

Thank you.

ashvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,749 - 2,755 of 5,416 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Tamssa resort was, without doubt, one of the friendliest hotels I have ever stayed. From check-in to check-out the management and staff simply couldn't do enough for us. We are fairly low maintenance holidaymakers but everyone went out of their was to make sure we were enjoying our stay. My partner had his birthday whilst we were there and the hotel was more than happy to organise a birthday cake for him in the Playa restaurant (with no charge). Housekeeping seem to work 18 hours a day and our room was made up at least twice a day,

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joolsPontypool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear Joolspontypool,

We certainly agree that 12 hour flight isn’t that short, but paradise cannot be close!!

Thank you so much for such a lovely review and your comments have been shared with the whole team.

By the way, rest assure that the Housekeeping team members are not doing 18 hoours!!!

Merci beaucoup,

ashvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Tamassa February / March for a family special 60th birthday . Overhaul the hotel is a gem it is locked away on the beach with plenty of activities going on. The rooms are boutique style & cleaned every day .The staff are all very pleasant and speak very good English !! The food is plentiful and cooked freshly on display. Best of all was the beach bar the views from there were spectacular with the added bonus of all the friendly bar staff & waiter service specially from Allen who helped make this a happy and memorable stay !!! Just for information there are no local restaurants or shops

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 187061Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear 187016Jim,
What a great review and glad that your family have had a wonderful time among us.

Alan indeed is an asset to us and we are delighted to see him grow through such comments and also reinforce our commitment to our team members in regards to continuous coaching.

Once again, thank you for your time spent in dropping us these few but strong lines.

Sincerely,

ashvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Recently stayed at the Tamassa Hotel for 5 days. We received a warm and friendly greeting from the staff who assisted us to a pretty upper level room over looking the sea which was stunning. The view of the beach, gorgeous blue sea was totally undisturbed it was lovely to sit out on the balcony .
The staff were all attentive, courteous and nothing was too much trouble, the manager Alan was very visible talking to guests and over viewing everything he made a point of acknowledging us by name.
The Lux Me Spa was really relaxing, Sophie the manager assisted us in finding the right therapy treatment after my husband had spent several days fishing marlin at the SIOBC tournament.
We had a fantastic time at the Tamassa hotel and would definitely return, we have been to Mauritius 5 times and this was the first time we have stayed in the south of the island it was less commercial and very pretty. One tip hire a car to explore . Great hotel will return, thank you Alan and all your staff .

Room Tip: Sea view upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank prettydelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear Prettydelight,

Thank you for your review.

Indeed the southern coast of the island is still untouched thus offering a huge variety of nature trecks and surrounded by local fisherman villages – the real Mauritius.

Hiring a car is a great tip and we look forward to welcoming you back for the next competition.

Sincerely,

ashvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at Tamassa for two weeks in the beguinning of January. Had a very nice stay. We arrived rathter earlie in the morning and was warm velcomed by the staff at the reception, got cold towels and a welcome drink. After checking in we were offered breakfast while waiting for our room (it was 8 in the morning). After breakfast our room was ready so we didn´t hav to wait for long. Our room was very nice and spacious. Comfortable beds, great big bathroom and a nice view from the balcony. It was also kept nicely clean during our stay.
The beach was so beautiful and we never had any problems getting sunbeds. The snorkling was great and it was just about 20 meters to get to the housreef.
Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful except for the B-bar which should have been rated as a b-bar. We tryed the bar a coupple of times but gave up. The vaighters didn´t take any notice of us so finally we had to vawe with both arms to get attention. And when they finaly took notice we vere never offered a drinkmeny, they just looked at us almost as we disturbed them and then asked "yes ?". After trying for two nights we didn´t return. The drinks we finally was served were not good. Instead we went to Playa, the beach bar where the service was great and friendly.
We didn´t quite lika the main restaurant Show. For us it´s too big and noicy, felt a bit like the lunchhall at a school. The food was OK but rather tastless. We had dinner at Show our first 2 nights as the á la carte restaurant Play was full booked. But at our third night we had our dinner at Playa and it was really great, very nice food. After this we had all our dinners at Play, also all lunches every day.

Tamassa is a bit like two hotels in one. The good parts are the hotelrooms, Playa restaurant and Bar, the beach, most of the staff including the very nice and friendly receptionstaff. Also public areas which was beautiful furnitured and in nice colors. Lovely garden. Theese parts of the hotel we would rate 5. But then you have the B-bar which we rate 1 and the main restaurang Show which get the rating 2+.

All in all this is a very nice hotel and we really had a great time at Tamassa. The location couldn´t bee better as the surroundings are rather unexploated and very cloose to sights like Black river, seven colored earth and Charmel with it´s waterfall.

Mats and Lars, Sweden

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mats_Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear Mats_Stockholm,

Many thanks for having shared your experiences among us.

As mentioned in an latest review, we have already started to redefined the SHOW restaurant .

Indeed, Tamassa is located in an untouched area of the island and close to the main natural attraction points such as the coloured earth, waterfalls etc.

Once again, dank je wel!

Regards,

ashvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great food for an all inclusive hôtel, especially if you book to the restaurant on the beach.
The service and the spa are also pretty good!

The spot is quite isolated and you better rent a car to move around the island. Swimming conditions are, due to the lagoon current and the reef, not so nice but it is ok.

Room Tip: book one rooms close to the boathouse, so you get the view on Océan in a ''regular''...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flo898989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear Flo898989,

Greetings from the tropical island of Mauritius!

Thank you for your comments which have been much appreciated by the whole team.

We are delighted to read that overall you have had a great stay among us and we for sure look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

ashvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Finally, a resort that offers an all inclusive experience, without losing the intimate detail, of a tailored premium experiential holiday.
The one unique thing i have experienced at Tamassa was that, as a 500 pax + resort, it never feels like it is too big or too overcrowded.
It has a unique unpretentious party feel from breakfast to bed time.
I have been very pleasantly surprised to experience such a world class hotel experience, at such a low price, as we usually opt for more supposed upmarket hotels. Well done to LUX, for a more lighter and brighter, premium beach holiday once in a life time, experience !

Room Tip: deluxe beach rooms, an unbelievable 49squares, with the best smelling ocean, in the world !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurentjhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear LaurentJHB,

What a fantastic review!

We can for sure feel that you have enjoyed the Lighter, Brighter feeling and also our All Inclusive Package.

Forget not that your new home is only 4 hours away from you and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,

ashvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
7.7 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,097 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
14.9 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,566 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel So Mauritius
Sofitel So Mauritius
#4 of 6 in Bel Ombre
1,275 reviews
38.6 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 7 in Grand Gaube
4,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamassa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamassa Resort

Address: Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range: $270 - $649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamassa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new experience awaits guests at this beautiful all-inclusive beach hotel in Mauritius, located in Bel Ombre, on the island's south-west coast. Tamassa, a 4-star beach hotel, stands at the end of a long avenue of mature coconut palms towering skywards. A picture postcard landscape stretches across sugarcane fields to the mountains beyond. The south-west is a beautiful part of Mauritius, with spectacular walks and drives through lush, tropical hillsides and a range of open-air activities in beautiful countryside. In front of the beach hotel, beyond the sandy beach, lies a turquoise lagoon that almost blends into the skyline. The sea air is invigorating and the ripples of the waves gently calming. Beyond, lie thousands of miles of open sea. The traditional style architecture ideally suits the tropical setting, with beautifully landscaped gardens. The buildings seem at one with the environment. The decor is breathtakingly contemporary, with clean lines and bold use of colour. The atmosphere is one of eternal youth, friendly, cheerful and enthusiastic. Tamassa is a new Mauritian experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Tamassa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naiade Hotel Tamassa
Naiade Hotel Mauritius
Tamassa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing