We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exotic Mauritius”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tamassa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tamassa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
“Exotic Mauritius”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Summer was just setting in when we plannned our vacation to this beautiful place which has lovely beaches and lots of water sports.
The resort was very well made up with the cosy room so spend with you loved ones. All the rooms facing the pool.
The resort has its private beach with many water sports and so much fun in the clean and clear waters.
Though was average but the rest took over it.
Enjoyed the spa with various treatments.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akshatachaudhary71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear Akshatachaudhary71,

Warm greetings from the Indian Ocean!

We thank you for having chosen Tamassa as your holiday resort and we are delighted to read that you overall, had some good time amongst us.

We would also like to thank you for your honest feedback and as you you will certainly understand, without any feedbacks, we cannot improve our service...so thank you.

The SPA team among the rest, are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

ashvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,923
    608
    112
    34
    17
See reviews for
1,474
2,358
71
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (770)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed for 11 nights in October 2011 and were not disappointed. The hotel has been really well designed with all public areas laid out really well. Our room was excellent (2072) and the views nice from the balcony.

The food was probably the best all inclusive food we've ever had (been AI in Bali, Egypt twice, Turkey, Maldives) and the drinks were brilliant too.

The pools were nice, and the entertainment was fun.

Overview - good / even better if:

Good - rooms, service in the main, cleaners, bar staff, activity centre
Even better if - Spa prices were more realistic (£50 for a 30 minute back massage is only slightly cheaper than the Ritz), Dress Code is rediculous (I was turned away for wearing a pair of Ralph Lauren dress shorts), follow up service to complaint wasnt dealt with, there were a lot of screaming / moaning kids

Overall, the hotel was nice, as expected but nothing special. If you are looking to go somewhere special for your honeymoon (this wasnt ours) I'd go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Email in advance to get a first floor (not ground) room, those on the ground floor have very little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninjakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear Ninjakitty,

Warm greetings from the Indian Ocean!

We thank you for having chosen Tamassa as your holiday resort and we are delighted to read that you overall, had some good time amongst us.

We would also like to thank you for your honest feedback and as you you will certainly understand, without any feedbacks, we cannot improve our service...thank you.

Sincerely Yours,

ashvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed at tamassa for two weeks and had a great stay. Check in was quick and easy after a long flight which was most appriciated. All the staff are lovely! The grounds of the resort are beautiful and well maintained and looked after. All the rooms have a sea view some closer than others. The room was really modern and lovely. You can book to eat at playa restaurant but we didn't bother as the food at show buffet was always nice with plenty of choice. Some of the drinks and food at playa at lunch time ate not included in your all-inclusive package so watch put for the astrix! We booked our trips through the White sands rep who was really helpful and arranged a driver for us to take us round some local beauty spots after our morning walking with lions. Overall we had a great stay here and were very happy.

What could be improved?
Get a bar closer to the big pool on the large crescent or send a waiter round more often. This is the nicest pool but a trek to the neatest bar!
Get rid of the gravel round the sunbeds as it's not nice to walk barefoot on to the pool.
Get more sunbeds - there was plenty when we stayed but I expect you would struggle to get one when the hotel is full.
All inclusive should mean ALL inclusive. Do all of the above and I would give it 5 out of 5, for now I'd rate it healthy 4

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luvztotravellots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear Luvztotravellots,

Warm greetings from the Indian Ocean!

We thank you for having chosen Tamassa as your holiday resort and we are delighted to read that you overall, had some good time amongst us.

We would also like to thank you for your honest feedback and as you you will certainly understand, without any feedbacks, we cannot improve our service...thank you.

Rest assure that we are looking into all raised comments and we only look forward to welcoming you back at Tamassa.

Sincerely Yours,

ashvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

Overview:
Hotel and grounds are immaculate, hotel well positioned, very helpful/friendly staff, and nice food. Sunbeds are a bit limited in numbers, but we always found somewhere to relax. We also booked a catamaran trip from the boat house, it was a full day with lunch and drinks included and cost 5400 rupees (£120) for two of us and it was an excellent day out!

Value:
Excellent value for money, all water sports (water skiing, snorkelling trips, windsurfing plus more) included in the ‘all inclusive package’. Also free use of the sauna, steam room & Jacuzzi at the superb Spa area.

Cleanliness:
Everywhere is spotless!

Rooms:
We had a standard room which was very nice, and the large flat screen TV on the wall was great, and plenty of English channels. All rooms are sea facing too.

Location:
Located on the south west of the island, only a couple of other hotels in the area, directly on the beach, plenty to see snorkelling just off the beach, but beware the current is stronger than it looks!! Also lots of broken coral on the beach, so beach shoes recommended.

Service:
On the whole service was excellent, but we did find the waiters would on occasion forget to bring your drinks after taking your order!!

Food & Drink:
Excellent quality food, but a bit limited in choice (lots of beef/lamb/fish dishes……I only eat chicken & turkey :-( If intending to use the a la carte restaurant (the Playa), you need to book in advance. You can email ahead with your reservations as well. Breakfast was the best meal for meal, freshly baked bread and eggs & pancakes cooked as you wait. Drinks….plentiful, but they can’t make cocktails!! Mini bar in the room which is included and refilled every day.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NO1ADDICT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear NO1ADDICT,

Warm greetings from the Indian Ocean!

We thank you for having chosen Tamassa as your holiday resort and we are delighted to read that you have had some good time amongst us.

We would also like to thank you for your honest feedback and as you you will certainly understand, without any feedbacks, we cannot improve our service...thank you.

Oh by the way, if you let us know of your favourite cocktail, we shall ensure we have it just right upon your arrival.

Sincerely Yours,

ashvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

This was not may first stay in Mauritius, so I know a little about what is out there as far as options. The resorts in Mauritius are mainly destination resorts and many never leave the property.

The staff are friendly and efficient. Very nice people.

The room is really all that is needed. It was built a few years ago, but adequate for the resort. The bathroom was not clean very well, but the design of the bathroom was truly the culprit becasue some things looked impossible to clean. The daily cleaning staff did their best, I think. It still was not a 'wow' clean, though.

We only took breakfast at the hotel which was enough. The coffee is terrible, but the food good. There were many options for everyone's tastes. I was truly amazed. However, I am not a buffet person. I saw other guests' hands slide into food dishes frequently. Of, course after that would happen I found I could no longer eat that food. So, as the days went on, I had fewer and fewer choices. The bread is excellent. The croissants are excellent. And the cereal selection was excellent, with plenty of options for toppings.

We had room service one night which was okay. A bit expensive and the fries were under cooked.

The activity center staff were very friendly and the gym was really great.

The spa was nice. I hung out in a cabana for some time and although it was a little dirty, it was comfortable.

The pools are not heated so be prepared in winter. And the beach and swimming area in front of the hotel are very nice, better than the more expensive resorts along that beach.

the beach lounge chairs, I found, were uncomfortable.

It was a decent value compare with what else is available on that side of the island.

Room Tip: If you can handle stairs, I would take something on the top floor that has its own stair case and do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear Lynn B ,

Warm greetings from the Indian Ocean!

We thank you for having chosen Tamassa as your holiday resort and we are delighted to read that you overall, had some very good time amongst us.

We would also like to thank you for your honest feedback and as you you will certainly understand, without any feedbacks, we cannot improve our service...thank you.

Our Housekeeping team has been debriefed accordingly and following of your constructive comments, we also came up with an internal competion named 'The WOW! Factor'..so again, thank you.

Sincerely Yours,

ashvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

We came on a two-week holiday to Mauritius and spent the first week at the North in a small boutique hotel and the second at Tamassa. On relection of our break, the first week won hands down.There are positives and negatives to this hotel. On the plus side the rooms are of a very high standard with beautiful bathrooms. The room service is extremely good. The hotel is clealry quite new and this is reflected in its clean and modern feel.The staff are very friendly. On a negative, the hotel was just very in-personal for us in comparison to a smaller hotel; you are certainly not made to feel particularly special here as there are simply too many other guests. I would definately not recommend this hotel for honeymooners as it would not tick any boxes whatsoever. The hotel welcomes families and this is not particularly desirable if you are looking for a quiet relaxed couples break, as there are lots of children running about. A massive disappointment was the all inclusive package which is deceiving in the fact that it only applies to the items with a star next to it on the menu's so it is advisable to be careful what you are ordering as not everything ends up being free! There is no iron facilility in the room and the hotel charge a laundry service to press clothes which we felt was very poor (and expensive!). If you are looking for a convenient, self service buffet style large hotel which has lots of kids facilities then this is probably the ideal place for you...if you are looking for some Mauritius paradise with a special vibe and an adult theme then you would probably be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear Sarah H ,

Warm greetings from the Indian Ocean!

We thank you for having chosen Tamassa as your holiday resort and we are extremely sad to read that the resort did not meet your expectations.

We would also like to thank you for your honest feedback and rest assure that we have informed our partners on the sale side to ensure that the right description of the resort is given.

On another note, i would like to informed you that our Menus have been redone and the star system is no more existent.

Sincerely Yours,

ashvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed at tamassa for our honeymoon and on arrival I was impressed with the look of the hotel. It was clean and decorated nicely. It definately had the luxury feel we expected. The staff were instantly attentive which was lovely after such a long journey.
We booked a superior room and were Lucky enough to be overlooking the sea. The rooms are nicely decorated and modern, the housekeeping staff work really hard keeping it nice everyday.
The beach is lovely and the sea is only waist deep for around 50 metres out. Definately go snorkelling as there are lots of nice fish just off the shore!
Whether or not you like the Location depends on your expectations. Just outside the hotel is nothing really and the surrounding villages are small and shabby with stray dogs everywhere. So if you expect the touristy type places you get in turkey, Spain etc then you will he dissapointed.
There are lots of places worth a visit though. We hired a car the couple of days we wanted to do trips. Walking with lions at casela nature park was brilliant and not too far away. The crocodile park is also good. You must see the giant tortoises they are brilliant.
Driving is not too bad as they also drive on the left and its easy to navigate if you follow the coast.
Definately do the catarmaran trip. We booked through hotel as it was cheaper than going through our rep.
Food is nice definately book into the beach restaurant as much as you can in advance as the food is nicer than the buffet.
Overall this is a great hotel and excellent value for money. Would recommend!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sexypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear Sexypants,

Warm greetings from the Indian Ocean!

We thank you for having chosen Tamassa as your holiday resort and we are delighted to read that you had some fantastic time amongst us in the resort and on the island!

If you will be coming back to Tamassa. please drop us a line or two beforehand, and we will try our best to get you your favourite room.

Sincerely Yours,

ashvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
7.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,385 reviews
30.2 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
32.9 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.6 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,327 reviews
38.2 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
38.7 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamassa

Property: Tamassa
Address: Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamassa 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new experience awaits guests at this beautiful all-inclusive beach hotel in Mauritius, located in Bel Ombre, on the island's south-west coast. Tamassa, a 4-star beach hotel, stands at the end of a long avenue of mature coconut palms towering skywards. A picture postcard landscape stretches across sugarcane fields to the mountains beyond. The south-west is a beautiful part of Mauritius, with spectacular walks and drives through lush, tropical hillsides and a range of open-air activities in beautiful countryside. In front of the beach hotel, beyond the sandy beach, lies a turquoise lagoon that almost blends into the skyline. The sea air is invigorating and the ripples of the waves gently calming. Beyond, lie thousands of miles of open sea. The traditional style architecture ideally suits the tropical setting, with beautifully landscaped gardens. The buildings seem at one with the environment. The decor is breathtakingly contemporary, with clean lines and bold use of colour. The atmosphere is one of eternal youth, friendly, cheerful and enthusiastic. Tamassa is a new Mauritian experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelsClick, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tamassa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naiade Hotel Tamassa
Naiade Hotel Mauritius
Tamassa Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing