We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic 4 star All Inclusive hotel”
Review of Tamassa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tamassa Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Reviewed July 29, 2011

At the end of our stay in Mauritius we stayed a few days in hotel Tamassa. We had 3 superior rooms (we were with 6) of which 2 were interleading. The rooms were not very big, but spacious enough with a large bathroom with nice bathtub, shower and separate toilet. The room was decorated in white and green and it was the best bed I slet on during our stay in Mauritius. Wifi was free and worked very well. The entertaiment team was great. My sons had lots of fun with them.
The main restaurant 'Show' had a theme buffet every night. The choise and quatlity were very good. Sometimes it took a bit long before they collected our empty plates. Some parts of the restaurant are a bit dark in the evening.
The All Inclusive was untill midnight every night. After that you had to pay for your drinks. And guess what: my sons came back to their room every night around that time!

The pools are not heated, so in the wintermonths they are a bit chilly. The Spa is very nice and they even have a hit tub there that is really heated! The Spa-pool, sauna, hammam and hot tub had free access for all clients as from 16 years old. The treatments are not cheap, but the staff is very good. Sometimes they have discounts on the treatments.

We all had a great stay at Tamassa and we would like to go back one day.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank iot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,024 - 3,030 of 5,469 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2011

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at Tamassa and cannot say enough about it. From the arrival you are made to feel welcome by the reception staff and nothing appears to be an effort or too much trouble for them.

We read some unfavourable comments on here about the food in the Show Restaurant, but in all honesty I cannot understand what all the fuss is about. We enjoyed every meal there and each night is a themed evening for cuisines from around the world, the African one was not really my cup of tea but I still found something to eat and was happy with this.

The Playa Restaurant is fantastic the lunches are perfect and the evening meals are delightful, we had a 6 course lobster dinner for £50 a head (not including drinks). If you are going to go, make sure you go all inclusive as we did and although you have to sign for things it is clear and concise on what is all inclusive by showing an asterisk on the menus.

The standard rooms are brilliant and have everything you need, so for this reason we did not upgrade our rooms to the higher ones as there was no real point unless you want to just pay for a pink room over a green one!! The rooms are always clean and spotless and if any faults occur they are out straight away to fix them. Our mini-bar packed up and within 30 minutes of reporting it, a guy knocked at the door with another one.

The grounds are fantastically kept and regularly cultivated and adds to the whole ambience of the hotel. The pools are clean and there is always plenty of places to sit and soak up the sun. The beach is fantastic and anyone interested in snorkelling need not worry as you will not be disappointed. The water is waist height and there is plenty of coral life so close to the shore line and you will see the most beautiful Trigger fish, Tangs, Surgeon fish, Damsels, Parrot fish etc but one tip is wear some waterproof shoes as there are plenty of urchins and it is recommended if you can, to wear either a short wet suit or top as your back will get burnt!!

The Dilo is a great idea. Here you can take a glass bottom boat ride twice daily (free if you are all inclusive) and you can arrange various trips like deep sea fishing etc.

We rented a car for a couple of days and took our own time round the island, in my opinion this was the best way as you get plenty of time to take it all in rather than being bundled on a bus every half hour. We saw most of the main towns like Port Louis, Quatre-Bornes, Beau-Bassin, Rose Hill, Phoenix, Goodlands and Grand Baie.

If you are looking to go to Tamassa for your first visit or even if you have been to Mauritius before and want to try something different, give this hotel a thought as it is first class in my opinion.

P.S. Don't forget to bring home some Vanilla Tea as you will be hooked.

Room Tip: Don't bother upgrading as the standard rooms exceed your expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank JeddNero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Hotel and facilities lovely. Clean, spacious rooms, lovely swimming pools and well kept grounds. Staff friendly and helpful and plenty of them. Only let down is the food. Plentiful but a bit bland and samey. Never mind, all else was great. We hired a little car and took ourselves off every day. Tamassa is in the south of the island which is the greenest part. Loads to see and do. Not sure how keen I would be in Mauritian summer though; too hot! It helps to speak a bit of French but everyone we met was lovely. Go for it

Room Tip: Third floor quieter and has best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank mauritius123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

I stayed with a group of people at Tamassa Hotel for 14 days and it was awesome! The grounds are beautiful and the food at both restaurants is delicious. All the staff were very friendly and the service was awesome!! I loved the all-inclusive package made life easy :) The hotel provides heaps of activies so you can do as much as you like or as little. I'd like to say a special thanks to Kamlesh and Heman you guys are awesome at your job as entertainers!! had so much fun :) and Gael i loved listening to you play guitar down at the playa restaurant :) I would definitely love to stay here again!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank carlyh85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We loved this hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean and the big bed sleeps very well. The employees are numerous (like everywhere in Mauritius) but very friendly. The service is good. We travelled with a baby (9 months) and Tamassa had special baby meals, these were very good.

The beach is nice but we loved the 3 pools more. These are very beautiful (and absolutely not crowded). The hotel offers free snorkling tours. This is absolutely a must-do. The coral is beautiful there and you have a good view while snorkeling.

Tamassa is located in the South of Mauritius. This is not the touristic side of the island, but the environment is beautiful here with some of the touristic highlights near. MNauritius is not that big and it is possible to visit everything of Mauritius from this hotel.The touristic facilities on the island are good: you can easily hire cars or driver guides to make private daytours. However there is no need to leave the hotel. Tamassa is great and provides a diversity of possibilities, especcially when you love sun bathing. The hotel is suitable for all kinds of people. We were on a honeymoon and we were certainly not the only ones. That's Nice, there are a lot of 'younger' couples here. It is also suitable for familys.

Room Tip: All rooms are located near the beach or the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gineke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

My bf and I stayed at Tamassa for the last ten days, June 2011 and I just had to write a review because I always consult tripadvisor before booking my holiday and hotels so needed to feed back on such a lovely hotel!

We were blown away by how beautiful the grounds were when we arrived - it's honestly so well cared for, so clean - I can't see how a 5* hotel could better it. It helps that it's new obviously (building was competed in 2007) but it's been incredibly well and lovingly maintained. The lay out is perfect - each little 'villa' contains a few 'flats' and they all feel unique and separate from everyone else (so you don't get that feeling that you're one of many in a big hotel). There are 3 gorgeous pools to choose from, and one heated one in the spa area that's open to all. The spa area was a Godsend for us when it rained (which was about 40% of the time) - and the free use of the day beds, jacuzzi and steam rooms was such a luxury.

The free watersports were amazing - we kayaked, went on pedaloes and snorkled - all new to us but wonderful ways to pass a lazy afternoon.

Tennis facilities, gym and pingpong table were also such fun for a rainy moment.

Plentiful sunloungers near the beach so no fighting for space, and excellent attentive Beach Boys. There were lots of sea urchins in the sea which slightly dampens snorkling experience so i recommend gum shoes definitely!

The food was excellent - there arent any local restaurants to walk to so we highly recommend going all inc or half board. We booked B&B only but upgraded too Half Board as soon as we arrived and saw the price differences!

There's no doubt its an expensive island, and that was reflected in the hotel. I would say the food, cocktails and spa treatments weren't vastly different to prices we pay at home in London. Our Visa card saved us as we spent almost double what we'd taken - whoops. But that's not a moan - it was all worth the money, we never once resented the prices as they were reflected in the quality of the foods/service/treatment etc.

We hired a car and explored the South of the island for just a day which I'd highly recommend - got a great sense of the real Mauritius.

Very beautiful place, welcoming friendly staff, good quality food which wide choice to pick from, comfortable beautifully modern rooms (with UK plugs, no adapaters needed hurrah) and fabulous services and experiences on offer.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND :)

Room Tip: Even Standard rooms were stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank sophielise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Booked for two nights, two superior rooms, one for us and one for our parents. Went for a half-board package on which we got a great deal.
The architecture and rooms are fantastic, everywhere you look there seem to be huge pools. Me and my brother had a jam-packed schedule! The hotel provided activities like waterskiing, canoeing, windsurfing, glass-bottomed boat trips, snorkelling free of charge! In three days we learnt waterskiing, and if we had more time, we could have tried windsurfing also. The team is great, and willing to teach you with great patience!
There was also an activity centre with table tennis, tennis, arcade games, and biking.. So we did all of it..
You should just go, it'll be a fun trip! And if what I've already mentioned wasn't enough, there's an activity planned for almost every hour of the day!
Food is very good, but not exceptional. Location is very far from Grand Baie, but if you rent a car, it's not too much trouble.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank owl1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
7.7 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
14.9 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.6 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 7 in Grand Gaube
4,498 reviews
30.3 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,584 reviews
32.1 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamassa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamassa Resort

Address: Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range: $262 - $601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamassa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new experience awaits guests at this beautiful all-inclusive beach hotel in Mauritius, located in Bel Ombre, on the island's south-west coast. Tamassa, a 4-star beach hotel, stands at the end of a long avenue of mature coconut palms towering skywards. A picture postcard landscape stretches across sugarcane fields to the mountains beyond. The south-west is a beautiful part of Mauritius, with spectacular walks and drives through lush, tropical hillsides and a range of open-air activities in beautiful countryside. In front of the beach hotel, beyond the sandy beach, lies a turquoise lagoon that almost blends into the skyline. The sea air is invigorating and the ripples of the waves gently calming. Beyond, lie thousands of miles of open sea. The traditional style architecture ideally suits the tropical setting, with beautifully landscaped gardens. The buildings seem at one with the environment. The decor is breathtakingly contemporary, with clean lines and bold use of colour. The atmosphere is one of eternal youth, friendly, cheerful and enthusiastic. Tamassa is a new Mauritian experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tamassa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naiade Hotel Tamassa
Naiade Hotel Mauritius
Tamassa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing