We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Heritage Golf Club

Heritage Golf Club
Ranked #4 of 9 things to do in Bel Ombre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Heritage Golf Club is a multi-award winning championship golf course located in the southern part of the beautiful island of Mauritius. This 27-hole golf complex, designed by Peter Matkovich, comprising of an 18 hole championship golf course, a 9 hole Par 3 course, exceptional practice facilities, golf academy, clubhouse, restaurant and golf shop. The Domaine de Bel Ombre, of which Heritage Golf Club is part, includes 2 five star hotels, Heritage Le Telfair and Heritage Awali, 150 luxury Villas, the Chateau, Beach Club and Nature Reserve. The Heritage Golf Club is the host venue of the AfrAsia Bank Mauritius Open, the first tri-sanctioned golf tournament involving the European, Asian and Sunshine Tours. This 1 million Euro tournament will be played from the 7 - 10 May 2015 and will attract the top professionals from all over the world. Other awards and accolades: - "Best Golf Course in the Indian Ocean", World Golf Awards 2014 & 2015 - Best Golf Development in Africa at African Property Awards 2013-14 - Certificate of Excellence Award for the year 2013 & 2014 by Tripadvisor - Included in the "Top Ten Best Golf Courses in Africa" by CNN Travel 2013 - Voted Best Golf Resort in Mauritius at the World Travel Awards 2010 & 2011 - Voted Best Golf Resort in Mauritius at the World Travel Market 2010
Reviewed August 27, 2013

What a beautiful and challenging course and the restaurant was lovely,the food was very good, the staff were very helpful,the complementary coffee on our way round was a lovely touch but be aware its more rum than coffee thanks guys.

Thank Cfromgainsboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, General Manager at Heritage Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of our course. Glad you enjoyed the "Mauritian Coffee"!!
We look forward to welcoming you back to our fairways soon.

Kind Regards

Ryan Dodds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"in excellent condition"
in 15 reviews
"tee times"
in 11 reviews
"pro shop"
in 16 reviews
"caddy master"
in 9 reviews
"driving range"
in 7 reviews
"green fees"
in 6 reviews
"played rounds"
in 5 reviews
"first class"
in 8 reviews
"helpful staff"
in 6 reviews
"book in advance"
in 4 reviews
"challenging holes"
in 4 reviews
"during our stay"
in 4 reviews
"great staff"
in 4 reviews
"golf"
in 80 reviews
"buggy"
in 42 reviews
"fairways"
in 25 reviews
"par"
in 18 reviews
Filter

231 - 235 of 532 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

I had the chance to play this course while staying at the Heritage Awali hotel, and, even better, the green fees are free for the hotel guests. For visitors, the fees are $205 a round (about £136). The course is challenging, so unless your driving is accurate be prepared to lose a few balls! The fairways and greens are exceptionally well-maintained and there are staff constantly working to keep it that way. I was lazy and rented a buggy (about £20 per person), but as there are a few climbs it was worth it. The buggies have water in an ice bucket which is welcoming, and from time to time the staff go round the course with coffee. The scenery around the course is just wonderful and adds to the experience. If you are lucky you will see monkeys crossing the course, and there are mongooses wandering around. The advantage of playing at this time of year (July/August) is that the course is quite quiet, so you are not being chased by the group behind or being held up by the group in front. I cannot speak highly enough of the staff, all of whom are friendly. At the end of the round they clean your clubs and will store them if necessary. It is worth using the restaurant after your round: the food is good, and the service is excellent. During our stay we were well looked after by Keeshnan who always made us welcome and attended to our every need.

Thank probbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, General Manager at Heritage Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our property. We greatly appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to our fairways soon!

Kind Regards

Ryan Dodds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Jul/Aug is their winter and so the golf course wasn't oversubscribed. Staff were great and very helpful.

Thank Shafiq C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Whilst at first sight appears intimidating a great course for all to play. The greens in particular ran extremely true. The course provided challenges for all levels and was extremely well maintained

1  Thank Barry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a great course in terms of layout, quality and scenery as well as service and food in the club house.

Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Golf Club also viewed

Pointe de Flacq, Flacq District
Trou d'eau Douce, Flacq District
 
Bel Ombre, Savanne District
Le Morne, Riviere Noire District
 

Been to Heritage Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing