We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible customer service”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had a very disappointing experience at Le Telfair - whilst the grounds and rooms are lovely the customer service is appalling.
On the second to last day I took a taxi to the nearest village where there was an ATM as I wanted to withdraw some money to tip our babysitter. I arrived back to the room at 9.45am and the cleaner came to service the room at 10.30am. The money was gone by 11am and I was in the room but in and out by the pool. Admittedly the money should have been put in the safe but it wasn't the fact that the room cleaner took it but how it was dealt with by the manager.
I was told that the issue had been passed over to security but then saw the same woman come in to clean the room the next say which was insulting. The manager said when we checked out the next day that the issue was being looked into and I would receive an update in the next few days via email. We checked out on the 21st May and it is now the 30th with no update. This sums up the urgency and poor level of customer service - it should not take over 10 days to resolve or update a guest.
I felt that as a fair compromise for both the hotel (and us) taking responsibility for what had happened that we could split the difference in commission the hotel took for one of the 8 days we hired her ( the hotel charge 9 pounds an hour for the first hour and 6 for the hours thereafter and the sitters receive 3 pounds equivalent) The hotel said they could not do this and offered no compromise which was unreasonable.
This left a very bad taste in my mouth but to be honest there were a series of poor customer service issues from sending the wrong food from room service to finding out on arrival that we could not book into three of the five restaurants over the 11 night stay because they were fully booked which is ridiculous but be warned! I would book restaurants before you arrive as they often have weddings and functions on.
We went with friends who were at the Awali and they have stayed at Longbeach and said it was a much more modern, accommodating and professional set up.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Traveller310578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Stephan-Lagesse, Manager at Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest(s)

We have read your comments on Trip Advisor with great concern. We would like to thank you for the time that you afforded to write about your impression of our Resort.

Whilst we would not like to go through each and every details mentioned, we must admit that we do understand your feelings after so much expectations of a perfect holiday and we would like to once again apologize for having disappointed you.

We know that we are not perfect, but because we truly care, we know that we can change things. Sometimes inconveniences happen and we perfectly understand your reaction.

We keep track of valuable items of each and every room to protect our guests belongings , the hotel's reputation and our employees jobs. As explained to you today we are unable to understand what truly happened.

We truly believe that the Mauritian Legendary Hospitality is inexhaustible and we would really like for you to renew with this experience again and hope to regain your trust in Heritage Le Telfair and our team of employees in the near future.

Our very best wishes,

Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,458
    259
    85
    33
    23
See reviews for
573
949
33
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Beautiful large rooms, wide choice of restaurants, attentive staff and all round 5 star luxury! Beach not as nice as in the ones in the North of the island but there are many pools including a heated one. We loved our stay there!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChantalCantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Stephan-Lagesse, Manager at Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Guest(s)

Thank you for taking the time to share on Tripadvisor .

We are particularly glad to read that you have made the most out of this holiday. Your satisfaction is our great reward and the entire team joins me to thank you once again for your excellent rating and for highly recommending our resort.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon for further memorable moments.

Best regards,

Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Wow, we stayed at the Heritage Le Telfair and cannot wait to go back. 5 stars in every way and you will not be dissapointed. Rooms were fabulous, location is one of the best. Water sports and things to do at the hotel are excellent. Spa and pools are fabulous and restarants are top class.
The service is worls class and you will not be dissapointed.
We were so well looked after and cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlNicUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Stephan-Lagesse, Manager at Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Guest(s)

Thank you for taking the time to share on Tripadvisor.

We are very glad to read that you had an amazing experience, your satisfaction is our great reward and the entire team joins me to thank you once again for your excellent rating and for highly recommending our resort.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon for further amazing moments.

Our very best regards

Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We spent 10 nights in Le Telfair and it was even more enjoyable what we expected. You have a great choice of food, many type of restaurants - all with great atmosphere. Our room was a dream, only once we found a huge cockroach :) We went there to have our secret wedding on the beach, and the service we got was just amazing. As it was raining on the day of our wedding and everyone could see how sad I was, they surprised us with a romantic dinner on the beach later that week. Everything I had in mind (like having a coconut in our room to try from the tree), the hotel staff did it the day after - and they can't take any tips. Special thanks to our butler, Kunal who made us feel very special. All other hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful too. I would advice to rent a car with a driver to look around on the island, worth to see. Only downside is the beach itself, not as exotic and beautiful as on the pictures.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreaOnTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Stephan-Lagesse, Manager at Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Guest(s)

Thank you for taking the time to share on Tripadvisor your recent experience at Heritage Le Telfair.

I am particularly glad to read that you have made the most out of this holiday and that our facilities and services were to your holiday expectations.

Your satisfaction is our great reward and the entire team joins me to thank you once again for your excellent rating and for highly recommending our resort.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon for further memorable moments.

Best regards

Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Have now been there 4 times, having previously stayed at the prince Maurice. Where the the Maurice is a bit 'stuffy' & very French, the Telfair is very welcoming & friendly. The rooms are beautifully appointed & very comfortable. Large selection of restaurants to choose from with the Chateau being top of the pile for atmosphere while the G'inja being great for an experience. Annabelle's is the main restaurant & is also excellent with nothing being too much trouble.

If you want golf the course is fab! Golf is free & next year so will buggies. Also plenty of water sports available.

Why would you not go?

Room Tip: Go for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Stephan-Lagesse, Manager at Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for having taken the time to write this fantastic review and thank you for your trust.

We were delighted to have welcomed you back, we are truly blessed to have ambassadors such as yourself, your review will hopefully help future travelers to make their choice of Resort accommodation and experience.

We look forward to welcoming you again,

Best regards


Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere-Buiten, Flevoland, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

For our 10th anniversary we booked Le Telfair. Although the prizes were steep for us, it was more than worth it.

First of all: the staff. If you think of something you'd like or think is missing...they'll arrange it for you. They'd arranged a beautiful and delicious cake for our anniversary, we enjoyed playing snooker with them, learned us to play solitaire, gave us an extra umbrella and so on. They were all highly trained pros and moreover: genuinely friendly.

Everything else was more than we had expected. The room...Oh. My. Word. Big, but not unpersonal so. Lovely bathroom, a bed to sink into and an oceanview balcony with comfortable chairs. The food was superb! We especially enjoyed Le Palmiere, lunch on the beach. There are six (!) main pools that you can make use of (not just Le Telfair, but also the connected Awali). They're all BIG, beautifully scaped, crystal clean and no detectable chlorine.

Absolutely a place to go back to!

It was just the two of us, but we can imagine it is a great place to take kids to as well.

Room Tip: Oceanroom, gardenroom, villa, they're all AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Stephan-Lagesse, Manager at Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time and effort in writing your review on Trip Advisor and for having chosen Heritage Le Telfair again for your recent holiday.

We are truly thankful for the kind words describing your experience and we can assure you that they will be shared with all the artists.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Best regards

Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Just back from a 7 night stay at the resort and have nothing but praise for it. I found it very difficult to pick a resort on the island as we had been to the Maldives before, and you worry that nothing will come up to that experience. Found that 3 major high street travel agents I visited where no help at all, had to do all my own research . However, the choice of this hotel was the best we could have made.

We arrived at around 1030 , it's about a 45 minute drive from the airport. I had emailed the resort with a few queries and requests prior to departure and they where very helpful and this was reflected in our check in. Our room was available , even though we arrived early. It was upper level in block 20 , room 2006. A good choice if you want a view of the river and the sea, also near to the water activities and the C beach club, and just over the bridge from Gin ja restaurant and bar.
Rooms are spacious and well equipped .

We stayed on the Gourmet bliss All inclusive, after booking I was a little worried as many people moaned on here about paying extras , but I feel it is a very extensive package after staying at other hotels in the Indian Ocean . Room service items are even included in the package, and all you pay is a tray charge of 200rupees per person, so roughly £8 for 2 people, it's well worth it though. The usual mini bar items are included also, ie water, soft drinks and beer, wine, champagne and haribos etc aren't .

We could not fault the food anywhere in the resort. My advice is to research and plan before you go and even email in advance for reservations as they fill up fast, especially Gin Ja, the Asian restaurant.

Breakfast is nice, all the usual items, but the best croissants and pastries you could imagine. Would recommend room service breakfast even a few times.

Lunch menus are great too. A mixture of burgers, curries, sandwiches , pizzas, salads, pastas, fish,oriental,something for everyone. Yes some items have a supplement , but if you look around the different outlets you'll see that, something with a supplement at Le palmier , may not have a supplement at The C beach club, so you can really sample everything on your package. The ice cream and desserts are just amazing with great tropical flavours.

Dinner at Annabells was great, this is the only restaurant you don't need reservations for. All a la carte, choices are great, we didn't know to the last night that there where other choices at the back of the menu but the table d'hôte always offered exquisite choices to choose from, and my husband is very particular with food and the quality of it.

Dinner at Gin ja was great. We initially had to wait 5 days for a reservation here, but as we sat at the bar in it one night, we where asked why we hadn't dinned here that night , when we told the bar man he called over the head waiter and unbeknowing to us the resort manager was also present and said that they would fit us in the next night. Food and service was amazing. Flames, show cooking, the works. The deserts are just amazing too. It was our anniversary holiday and we where even presented with a cake, which was a lovely touch. There is a separate lobster feast menu which is an extra £60 per person, but the main menu had loads of fab choices.

On the beverage front the choice is great. Loads of cocktails and great brands with no supplement, even champagne. Many of the cocktails are well thought out and put together to reflect the surroundings.

At night time there is always a group or band in the cavendish bar. Nice relaxed atmosphere.

During the day we spent most days at C beach club. Loads of daybeds and loungers. Only had a slight problem with the towel man, who insisted we have towel cards for towels but had never needed them before, but this was soon sorted.

A glass bottom boat tour is included with the hotel, good wee hour out to the reef. Weather permitent. As is the free watersports.

The only downside was the path between the rooms and C Beach, it's quite disjointed , paving stones stop half way. Very ill lite at night and there's lots of overhanging trees.

All staff where really nice and helpful.

Would really recommend this resort. It has a lovely atmosphere and ambience. We hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: 2001-8 good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank r0ss14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Stephan-Lagesse, Manager at Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Guest(s)

Thank you for taking the time to share on Tripadvisor the Heritage Le Telfair experience.

Your satisfaction is our great reward and the entire team joins me to thank you once again for your excellent rating and for highly recommending our resort.

The Gourmet Bliss is indeed the best value 5 star package available in Mauritius where luxury is included!

Following your recommendation please note that the Pathway leading to the C-Beach is planned for mid July and should finish by end of July and wish to thank you again for your kind recommendation.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon for further Brilliant moments.

Best regards

Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
7.2 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,709 reviews
33.0 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,287 reviews
4.0 mi away
Shanti Maurice - A Nira Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,454 reviews
7.3 mi away
Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Tamassa Resort
Tamassa Resort
#1 of 6 in Bel Ombre
5,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
Address: B9 Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 61002
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Wellness Resort offers a variety of luxury accommodation in a discrete village design with 20 different villas of 6 or 8 rooms. 158 rooms and suites have beautiful sea views or river views with floor to ceiling French windows, private balconies or verandas. Heritage Le Telfair is a member of Small & Luxury Hotels of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Le Telfair Golf And Spa Resort
Heritage Le Telfair Golf Hotel Bel Ombre
Le Telfair Hotel
Hotel Le Telfair
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing