We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7 Nights in May/June 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Firstly, this is a briliant hotel with superb service from a wonderful staff. The location, on a whitesand beach at the edge of a lagoon lined with coconut palms is the quintessential paradise. More of this later. However, there are a few things that visitors need to be aware of.

1) Free internet is available in the Poolbar, Cavendish Lounge and Restaurant. The speed is poor 1MB at best. The hotel offers an internet upgrade to your room for around £65 for your stay so you would think that room internet would be far superior to that of the public areas. It's not. We only got around 200k! We asked the techies to look at this and after some investigation which included having the IT manager in our room trying to work it out with the service provider, they declared that there was nothing they could do! We had the package removed from our bill. What's odd though is that whether or not you subscribe to the package, you can pick up internet from other rooms even if you haven't logged on. (Still ridiculously slow!)
2) Beware of the advertising. All advertisers seem to use a room picture of a junior suite looking out on to the sea. That is not representative of the "deluxe" room. Deluxe rooms are also charged depending upon the view. Views also vary greatly from pool, gardens, beach etc. No complaints though of the room which was very clean and well maintained.
3) If you want to tip and need cash, try to get it before you get to the hotel. The hotel charges 10% comission
4) The restaurants are open-air and the local birdlife are adept at raiding the breakfast tables as soon as your back is turned. They also fly in and out of the Annabella kitchen. A cat also roams freely areound the eating areas.
5) According to the hotel, there are 22 TV channels. The TV gives you the option of selecting all the programmes in a certain language. So, choosing English, you are presented with a foreign news channel, BBC World, a couple of kids channels showing the same films every night, some of which are in French and 5 other channels, all dedicated to sport. In short, the TV is pointless!

However, I would whole-heartedly recommend this hotel as the pros far outweigh the cons.

If you like spas (and I don't) the setup is excellent. The grounds are immaculately maintained and the staff could not be more helpful. They make your stay as comfortable as possible. Nothing is too much trouble.

We went at the start of the low season and the hotel was running at around 25% capacity. This made the whole experience very quiet and relaxing. The pictures on this page a represenative of the experience so I won't add duplicates.

Just a couple of recommendations:

1) Splash out on the Chef's Table experience where the head kitchen chef dedicates an evenening to a couple. You decide the type of cuisine you want and it is prepared and cooked in front of you. It costs about £60 per person but the food and experience is to die for.
2) Look carefully at upgrading to the all inclusive package. Extras are ridiculously expensive - a bog standard bottle of wine can easily cost £40.
3) If you fancy excursions, hire a cab by the hour and just tell the driver of your requirments. This is cheaper than "managed" excursions and you have the freedom to come and go as you please.

Hope this helps - you will love this hotel (despite the long and bumpy ride from the airport).

Room Tip: Room comments included in the report. Always ask if an upgrade is available - they are sometimes ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdeseymour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,006)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

986 - 992 of 2,006 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

An absolutely beautiful hotel, light and spacious with friendly service. There is much to recommend the hotel - the fantastic golf course, the C Beach Club, the bright and airy rooms. The only things to be conscious of it in going to the hotel are the depth of the sea if you like swimming (the lagoon is pretty shallow and not easy therefore for swimming in). That said, the hotel do offer free glass-bottom boat tours of the coral and the lagoon as well as free snorkelling trips.

The other thing is to make sure you are on the right dining package. Half board limits the restaurants you can eat in without paying a supplement, and drinks and lunch can be fairly expensive. A pizza or salad for lunch are about £13 and a beer or glass of wine are about £5. We went for the gourmet bliss package which I would recommend if you like a drink before dinner and wine with a meal. The GB package allows you to eat in all of the restaurants except Gin'ja and Coast where you get 1000 rupee credit (Gin'ja works out at an additional cost of about £65 per person). In all the other restaurants, including The Chateau and Infinity Blue which were our favourites, you received an acceptable number of options as part of the package.

That said, when you are 5* and paying a GB supplement, it does cheapen the holiday slightly when you keep having to ask for the bar menu to work out what drinks are included and which aren't (and there doesn't seem to be any logic as to which are included and which aren't) and is something the hotel needs to review if they are to be truly 'Excellent'.

We will however probably return but wish they would resolve the all-inclusive complexity

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BasherWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This resort is truly amazing. The level of service and friendliness of the staff is outstanding. We were celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary and my sister and her husband were celebrating their 1st Wedding Anniversary. We had dinner at Gin'ja and they really exceeded our expectations, even setting up a special table on the beach. We had an ocean view beach front villa and it was beautiful, and the maid kept it pristine. Selven, the beach bar manager, was exceptional and his attention to detail shows him to be a credit to the resort. We must also mention the others who exceeded their duties: young Selven (or Selven 2 as we called him), Niraj, Avinesh, Kris, Geremy, Jonathan, Dhiraz, Lucinda, Ashley and the exceptional Jessen to name a few. The golf course was the best we have ever played. Special mention must go to Dany at the Club and also Shweeri. My husband and brother in law played 8 times and never tired of this immaculate golf course which could be the best we have ever played. I've never seen a course where the fairways are like greens! We went on two boat trips to remember with Hans and Kristophe, who were recommended to us by another of the fantastic genuine people we met called Harry, who sells sarongs and jewellery on the beach. Do not expect a "lookie lookie man". This guy Harry is a genuine businessman who is a credit to his professions. A boat trip with Hans and Kristophe is a MUST when you stay here. He can be contacted on (+230)7366820 or emailed on hans-c@hotmail.com. The boat trip, the dolphins, the BBQ - lobster! and the special "Mauritian Coffee" made our days with them the best trips we have ever had on a holiday. Having visited many so called 5 star spas this one truly is 5 star !!! Also the gym and sports areas are fantastic. We are definitely going back next year and hope to meet all the lovely staff again. ANYONE WHO HAS A NEGATIVE COMMENT TO MAKE ABOUT THIS RESORT AND IT'S STAFF IS NOT IN TOUCH WITH REAL LIFE.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have not been to Mauritius since the mid 80's and I have just spent two days at the magnificent Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort on business. I arrived late at night on a direct flight from Cape Town. Although tired and not feeling 100% I immediately felt better by the warm welcome in the reception. I was shown to my room, which was an absolute oasis. The room was spacious and comfortable with a huge balcony overlooking the tropical beach. Paradise! During the next couple of days I explored this fine establishment and from the great golf course in championship condition to the several amenities around this resort I was never disappointed. This modern colonial hotel is a 5-star resort and you will not find a better management team on the island attending to your every need. Nothing is too much trouble for them and the warm personal care that everyone takes in helping to make your visit memorable cannot be understated. The pool area is equisite and if you are looking for a tropical island holiday with a championship golf course on-site, look no further than Heritage Le Telfair.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank WilsonGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_LindleyThomen, General Manager at Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Mr Wilson,

Allow me to thank you for having chosen the Heritage Le Telfair for your recent break. I am mostly happy to read that you've enjoyed your two nights break and that the level of service have been up to your expectations.

I do hope to get to welcome you back here again for a longer stay as Le Telfair being in a huge Domain called 'Domaine de Bel Ombre' has a lot more to offer.

My best personal regards to you,

Lindley Thomen
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Recently returned home after 9 fabulous nights spent at Heritage Le Telfair.We were looking for a relaxing base following 5 days sightseeing in Cape Town and were not disappointed with our choice. Our ocean view room was perfect (room 804- many thanks to our maid who kept everything immaculate) and just a short stroll from the white sandy beach. Food was of a high quality. We ate in Annabella's most nights (thanks to Eddy for organising a superb fish curry on our last night). Also ate at the Balafon Buffet (Awali) and the Chateau. Read so much about Ginja the A La Carte Asian restaurant and ate there one evening. This was the only disappointing meal of our stay. We were given a 1000 rupee allowance each and chose duck staters and chicken and fish for the main course. Given previous reviews we were expecting something special but were left disappointed with a rather average meal. During the day we spent our time between the beach at Le Palmier and C Beach Club. We made the right decision to opt for the fully inclusive Gourmet Bliss package as food and drink was very expensive if staying on half board. Special thanks to the team at Le Palmier who kept us topped up with drinks and served us fabulous lunches on the beach. A special mention for Selven.....always happy and smiling and there in a flash to give great service and offer advice about the food and drinks.. We had pre and post dinner drinks in the Cavendish Bar each night. Always some form of entertainment - jazz,modern, guitar and local dancers once a week. Took advantage of the Spa facility and had the couples massage package which was pure bliss! Overall, a truly memorable stay in fantastic surroundings. Many thanks to the staff and management for making this such a special holiday. Would recommend for anyone looking for 5 star treatment in beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are spacious, well appointed and close to most of the hotel's amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steveandlibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_LindleyThomen, General Manager at Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for having chosen The Heritage Le Telfair for your recent holidays. I am glad to read that you've had a wonderful experience. Thank you for your appreciation concerning the different service of the Resort. I have well noted that your Gin'ja experience was not up to your expectations and will for sure look deeply into the matter.

I will pass on your appreciation to the entire team and specifically to your maid, Edyy from The Annabellas restaurant and Selven from Le Palmier restaurant and the Spa team too.

I do hope to get the chance to welcome you back here again in a close future.

My best personal regards to you,

Lindley Thomen
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel was lovely. It was a treat from the moment we got there until we left. Helpful ,friendly staff at the hotel made for a very memorable stay. We loved the Cavendish Bar, it has a wonderful ambience. C Beach Club was a hit with our kids and I loved the little shop. the food was really good. we booked dinner on the beach one evening and it was superb. We will definitely return!!!

Room Tip: Room 505 on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Venessa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We have just returned from our 12th visit!!!! from the above. Once again we were bowled over by the standard of the:
1) Fine dining experience in all the restaurants
2) Service and dedication of alll the staff members, from housekeeping to waiters to our excellent Butler, who excelled in his service to us.
3) The finest treatment from the gof club staff, allways being ready with our cleaned shoes and bags, buggy packed with cold water and the tee off times managed to perfection. NO where is this type of servcice equalled!
4) Abeautiful Matkovich course in excellent condition
Excellent value for a 5 star hotel in a perfect private setting away from the hustle and bustle of the normal Mauritian resorts. We cannot go anywhere else.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms at Telfair are good, we prefer the suites overlooking the heated pool, more privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_LindleyThomen, General Manager at Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear ,

Allow me to thank you for having chosen The Heritage Le Telfair for your holidays again. You know that you are counted amongst our most regular guests and I would like to thank you for your trust in our Resort.

The whole family of Le Telfair does joins me to express our pleasure in having you around and we all look forward to welcome you back again soon...your home away from home as you use to say.

Please do enjoy the rest of the year and see you very soon.

My best personal regards to you both.
Lindley Thomen
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
7.2 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,094 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,636 reviews
34.1 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
30.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,566 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tamassa Resort
Tamassa Resort
#1 of 6 in Bel Ombre
5,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort

Address: B9 Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 61002
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range: $233 - $714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Wellness Resort offers a variety of luxury accommodation in a discrete village design with 20 different villas of 6 or 8 rooms. 158 rooms and suites have beautiful sea views or river views with floor to ceiling French windows, private balconies or verandas. Heritage Le Telfair is a member of Small & Luxury Hotels of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Le Telfair Golf And Spa Resort
Heritage Le Telfair Golf Hotel Bel Ombre
Le Telfair Hotel
Hotel Le Telfair
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing