We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer Indulgence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sheer Indulgence”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was our first visit to Mauritius and our 10 night stay at Le Telfair was absolutely outstanding in every respect. While the beautiful location is memorable, it was the exceptional level of genuine and sincere service you receive from everyone involved that was most striking. The tone clearly comes from the top because when running late for a golf tee time one morning, the General Manager of the hotel happened to be outside the main door in his car and whisked us to the golf club in time !

The rooms were extremely comfortable (how often can you find a Nespresso machine in your room to make proper coffee in the morning ?) and while we did not have a sea view, our room was very quiet and private. The hotel and grounds are immaculately maintained and beautifully set out.

The choice of food at the various restaurants ensured you never tired of the menus and was generally of high quality. Our favourite place to eat was the Chateau and do try and sit outside on the terrace to enjoy this wonderful old residence. Gin'ja and Cyan were also outstanding with the latter being better for lunch than dinner.

The Cavendish bar for drinks in the evening is a must and the snooker room is a wonderful touch of tradition.

The spa is one of the best we have ever used and the facilities outstanding. Lying in the open air spa pool at night and looking up at the stars was all part of the experience.

Every conceivable water sport is on offer but often the low tide will preclude certain activities such as windsurfing during certain parts of the day. Not a major problem though as still plenty to do. We also had great fun going out deep sea fishing with Damian on one of the boats available to charter.

On arrival we were assigned the hugely helpful Vikesh who looked after us for our whole stay so any question or request was dealt with promptly.

Le Telfair was luxury and quality in every sense and while the food at times didn’t quite come up to the high standards of everything else in the resort, it is certainly somewhere we would have no hesitation in returning for another holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank APM100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,458
    260
    85
    33
    23
See reviews for
573
950
33
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

There are many very good things about Le Telfair, most importantly the extremely friendly and attentive staff. The level of friendliness and helpfulness from the staff is really the strong point of this hotel. At no time did we feel that this hospitality was forced or anything but genuine. In some hotels staff can be snooty, aloof or simply indifferent to guests but not at Le Telfair.

The resort is set on pretty stretch of beach and does tick the box for a tropical beach destination. The facilities are good with a nice kids club (with lovely staff working therein), numerous swimming pools (we spent most of the time at the new-ish beach club), a reasonable gym and some free water sports. The hotel is build in french colonial style with large and well tended grounds.

That said, this is definitely not a 5 star deluxe resort - there are a number of missing ingredients that one would expect at a really top end resort, so while there is has lots going for it, we rate Le Telfair as a 4.5 star resort as opposed to anything higher.

In no particular order we would highlight the following:

The price of optional extras - while the packages offered by the hotel are attractive, optional extras are expensive and do not always seem value for money. For example, the BBQ dinner came at a supplement of £40 per person for an average meal. I would have no issue with high extra costs if the quality was exceptional - sadly it wasn't.

Limited WiFi - how can there not be WiFi in the rooms? While there is WiFi in certain spots around the resort, I would suggest free and fast WiFi in the room is a minimum requirement for a 5-star resort these days. ( - we understand from management that this is being introduced shortly).

Rooms felt slightly tired - the rooms are large and spacious with large TV's including satellite channels, however we felt there were slightly tired, particularly the bathrooms.

Bath towels - there is nothing more disappointing than old and small bath towels - this definitely added to our impression of the rooms being slightly tired.

Beach towels - the hotel has an odd policy of giving guests a card which they exchange for a beach towel. This means that towels are signed out and then back in again - and only one towel per guest. I guess they are concerned about guests stealing towels (?) or something but this hardly gives the impression of being a high end resort?

Breakfast - while certainly adequate and in no way unacceptable, the breakfast was only ok. The choice was not as wide as in some other hotels and the quality of produce good as opposed to outstanding.

Ingredient X - the difference between good and great is the small things - a cold towel given to guests sitting around the pool a couple of times a day, a small selection of fruit in the room at the end of the afternoon etc, etc. - these are the little touches that set great hotels apart from good ones. Unfortunately we saw none of these touches at Le Telfair.


To conclude - this is a very nice hotel and a lovely spot for a break. The staff could not have been more attentive and helpful and the facilities were adequate. However, it is all about expectations and if you arrive expecting a really top class 5* Deluxe resort then I think it may disappoint. At the end of the day, the hotel offers great value for money (but do budget for the extras) and as such we would certainly recommend it accordingly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reuters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

How anyone can ever find anything negative about this hotel is beyond me. It was fantastic in every way. The food, location, service, bedrooms, beach, pool, gardens were all faultless.

We were there on honeymoon and we had a junior suite which was gorgeous. Our butler was so helpful as were all of the staff.

This resort is quite simply PERFECT.

Room Tip: From what I saw all the rooms were lovely but our Junior Suite was amazing with an outdoor shower wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

A very clean resort on the South Coast of Mauritius. It was close to being idyllic but fell annoyingly short on several counts. The All Inclusive Gourmet Bliss had more excluded than included and in some restaurants it all depended on the time of day, or who was on duty. Restaurants booked centrally in the hotel failed to know we were coming on 3 out of 7 occasions, and when we did get in there were gaps of over an hour between courses on three other occasions.Meanwhile the snorkelling boat broke down en-route and we were 'rescued' by a back up boat but told that once in the water we'd have to swim back to shore afterwards! A bit over zealous on the trip sales side too. None of this was too bad we must say, it's just that this was supposed to be a top quality, all inclusive, package and there were glimpses of what might/should have been, the Cavendish Bar being a great example of exactly the service and standards we would have expected to have been widespread. So a nice place, a great time, but annoyingly falling short of the best standards a bit too often.

Room Tip: Rooms were universally top quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Well we arrived after a long journey from the UK and were met be a lovely welcome a cool towel and a refreshing fruit drink, we were taken to our room which was amazing- a few steps away and we were on the beach. The room was beautiful and within 24 hours we were so relaxed. The pool area was calm, no boom boom boom music just people relaxing and receiving great service. the beach was lovely and the waiter service continued here. We usually ate in the Palmier on the beach, smashing food. Meals in the evening were at Le Chateau, Gin'ja or Annabella's. we preferred Le Chateau and Annabella's as insects were a problem as Gin'ja is on the beach. Lovely hotel, great staff and worth the effort of getting there for sure.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view they are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mangomargarita_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Welcome to hotel was very warm, decor and ambience was second to none. They upgraded our room the day before our wedding from a deluxe room to a senior suite where we stayed for our honeymoon which was fabulous. Our wedding arrangements where very well organised and prepared by Amar and our butler Vikash who was so helpful and always pleasent and kind.We had the ceremony on the gazebo overlooking the pool and the ocean. Truly beautiful. Staff and service was mostly excellent except for the odd few unhappy faces. The more outstanding members of staff we got to know where Amar,Vikash,karine,Jennifer,Paz,kevin,and Arkvesh from housekeeping was a star. Overall we would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, it will stay in our hearts forever.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We spent our honeymoon here and were impressed the minute we arrived at the hotel. the staff couldnt have done more for us and really made our stay one to remember. We had an ocean view junior suite which came with a fantastic butler on call - Sevilan. He was always on hand to check everything was ok, but yet not intrusive at the same time. The food was fantastic and our gourmet bliss package meant we could pick from great choices at Annabellas, Ginjas and Chateau de Bell Ombre. Our honeymoon treats were also fantastic, candlelight dinners on the beach and at the Chateau in beautiful surroundings.

The golf course is kept in fantastic condition and a real challenge that you want to play again and again.

In summary, it really is the staff at the Heritage tha make your stay, everyone smiles and cant do enough for you. Would definately recommend getting an all inc package so that you can relax and eat and drink all you want :-)

We really hope to return one day...but for the time being we have some amazing memories for our first 2 weeks as a married couple. Thank you to everyone at the Heritage Telfair for making it so special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
7.2 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,717 reviews
33.0 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,292 reviews
4.0 mi away
Shanti Maurice - A Nira Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tamassa Resort
Tamassa Resort
#1 of 6 in Bel Ombre
5,065 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
Address: B9 Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 61002
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Wellness Resort offers a variety of luxury accommodation in a discrete village design with 20 different villas of 6 or 8 rooms. 158 rooms and suites have beautiful sea views or river views with floor to ceiling French windows, private balconies or verandas. Heritage Le Telfair is a member of Small & Luxury Hotels of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Le Telfair Golf And Spa Resort
Heritage Le Telfair Golf Hotel Bel Ombre
Le Telfair Hotel
Hotel Le Telfair
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing