We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IF IT WASN'T FOR THE WEATER WOULD HAVE BEEN THE BEST HOLIDAY EVER!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Darwin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“IF IT WASN'T FOR THE WEATER WOULD HAVE BEEN THE BEST HOLIDAY EVER!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We just came back from a fantastic holiday at Le Telfar. From the moment we walked in we realized we have done the right choice.
The resort is in Bel Ombre, a very small village, practically nothing much is available outside the resort that with another 3 covers a beautifull sandy beach (it's only few broken corals in the sand, so we didn't need shoes to walk around the beach). By the way the reef is quite colorful and the water is clear for snorkelling.
We also stayed at the Movenpick, in transfer just for one night, very nice too but the Telfar is more classy.
There are few free water activity by the CBeach Club, but you need to book as soon as you arrive they get filled up very quickly. Others are held at the activity center, and our best one was the yoga session 3 times a week, never done it before, really enjoyed.
One of the reason why we chose this resort was the kids club, open preatty much all day till late at night.............great if you want to have a nice quite dinner with your other half!
We only ate at the Annabella's most of the nights and we rated it 8/10. Dessert always perfect!
And not to forget the spa, sauna and a very hot steam room; never too many people and pleasant atmosphere.
Out of the 7 days the sunshine came only for 3 and a bit and was a bit cold every night and very windy. You get a bit of a chill at first to go in the water. I was expecting not the perfect weather but as always if you are on a tropical island, everything seems more tropical if the sun is shiny.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OIT Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank DIAMANTINA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,457
    259
    85
    33
    23
See reviews for
572
949
33
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have just returned from one of the best holidays we have ever had.

From arrival until departure we were treated like royalty.

We were greeted by our butler, Kunal, who took the time to show us around the resorts facilities whilst our rooms were being prepared.

The Rooms! Absolutely fantastic! We were in 105 & our daughters in 106. These were located on the first floor of a two storey block of eight in total directly on the beachfront. Our room had a separate shower and toilet rooms off the main bathroom. The bathroom itself having his & hers wash basins and a deep tub in the bay window overlooking the Indian Ocean. The main bedroom area has a four poster bed and sitting area with tv iPod etc and a large balcony.

The food at each meal was bordering on Michelin star quality. Anabelles, Gin Ja and Chateau are all worth a visit however the Chateau was by far our favourite (venison carpaccio for starters & fillet steak for main - bliss!).

The resort has lots of facilities for you to enjoy, watesports, golf etc.

The golf corse is situated about a 5 minute drive away (shuttle provide) and has both a 18 hole championship course and a 9 hole par 3. The club house has a caddy master who will look after your clubs rather than having to bring them back to your hotel each day. There is a shop which sells clothing, ball etc and hires clubs, trolleys and buggys. There is also an excellent bar/restaurant hosted by the a gentleman called Sanjay.

Tips - go All Inclusive - food & drink is very expensive. Take your own clubs if playing regularly as hire is about £40 a round. Dine at the Chateau as its excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank postcard_from
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplemousses District
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

we spent 1 nights there with my husband in March 2012... we have a lovely room facing the sea very private. we had a good dinner at the Ginza restaurant. Staff is very attentive. Large choice for breakfast... there are lots of restaurants since the hotel is linked to Hawali & the golf.
did not try the spa!
enjoy..

Room Tip: sea view and not close to the disco C beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancoiDfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This was our first visit to mauritius for our honeymoon, and from the moment we arrived we were treated with exceptional service. We were greated by friendly and welcoming staff, with a delicious cocktail and shown into a delightful room, whilst we were checked in. Our room was made available early and staff ensured we didn't lift a finger from that moment on. Our room was beautiful - very clean and beautifully decorated. The food in every restaurant was phenomenal, annabella's restaurant had a great selection and the service was remarkable, each staff member was very attentive and ensured we were didn't want for long. The activities available at the hotel were well organised and again all staff were very helpful, especially the beach boat house staff, weather it be waterskiing or windsurfing lessons.
We would recommend this hotel to any honeymooner's looking for paradise and wanting to be treated like gods. We had the best 10 days of our lives!!

Room Tip: Beach front room was very quiet and had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aimee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is a wonderful location and the way the hotel is laid out feels like a village. The rooms are dotted around a lush tropical garden that leads down to the lagoon. The rooms are spacious & well appointed and if you can stretch to a junior suite on the beach you are in for a treat. The resort itself offers so much to do, the food is good and the staff are friendly, attentive and there to please. The golf is picture card and there is a quick shuttle service to carry you the 2 min from hotel to golf club. You can leave your clubs there and they will be looked after during your stay.
Staying in the south of the island you get more of a sense of Mauritius and you can explore the natural surroundings on your doorstep. If you are visiting during the winter months though you should be aware of the following, The pools are not heated so the water in July was cold apart from one pool which quickly filled up with the younger visitors. The temperature is a few degrees cooler than the north and the strong winds can make it feel quite chilly.
The C club closes at 3pm in winter months which is annoying on a sunny afternoon when you are settled on the beach and the staff come round to gather up the towels. They opearate a card system for the towels which is a bit of a hassle.
If I had one minor gripe it concerns the availability of wifi in a only a few areas around the hotel. If you want internet in your room you need to purchase a TV/Internet package and it is then on a fixed cable. Most families these days have multiple devises depending on wifi so this is something they should look at.
Overall we highly recommend Le Telfair and would love to return in the summer to avail of all it has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Wow!!!!!

Hotel Le Telfair is an amazing hotel, having just returned from 3 weeks (end July-mid Aug 2012).

The service was exceptional. On arrival - wow what a view from the reception, receiving a cocktail whilst checking-in and being informed about kids club straight away through to help on the beach - carrying towels for us and laying them out on the sunbeds! They love children - chatting with our daughters and the kids club was fantastic too so many activities and the option to leave the children for dinner and the evening at the club so we could have dinner for 2! I am not normally one to leave children in kids club but they asked to go and loved it.

We had a lovely large groundfloor beachfront room (opened straight onto beach and 10ft from water edge). Had 2 single beds for our daughters (this was great as I thought they would be on a sofa bed!) and a large bathroom with separate shower and bath. However, we were upgraded to suite which was fab as we got a lounge room where the girls could sleep separately from us!

Pools are lovely and a godsend that one was heated so the children spent all day in it. The other was quite chilly!

The food was excellent but a little confusing on the All Inclusive option and was somewhat limited (and at times not consistent in different restaurants, watch out for being charged for drinks as you may be used to ordering a drink at one place and then going to another venue ordering the same drink may not be part of the package!!) The All Inclusive option was quite new to the hotel so they are learning…

The restaurants at Le Telfair (better than Awali):
Ginja - Asian, our favourite! We even paid extra twice for the Teppanyaki Bar! Madagascan Prawns were massive!
Le Chateau - good steak
Annabella's - OK (very nice curry though!), great buffet breakfast!
Le Palmier - nice beach restaurant
C Beach Club - new chill out beach bar area
Golf Club - very nice and great view

The restaurants we tried at Awali (sister hotel):
Infinity Blue - by the beach - nice food but lacks atmosphere
Balafon - If you like buffet self-service I thought this was quite nice but my husband wasn't keen!

I’ve put on half a stone from all the food – mainly from pancakes every afternoon!

We swam with dolphins, snorkelled and the children saw starfish, octopus, puffa fish...jeep ride through nature reserve and saw monkeys...trip to Port Louis - we got a driver rather going on a official tour (not much to see in Port Louis), rode on giant Tortoises at La Vanille and our daughters held baby crocodiles! Some people we met went to Casela to walk with Lions which they said was amazing...So many things to do...My husband played lots of golf saying it was a lovely course but his golf wasn't good!

Lastly the weather....it is their winter... our first 2 weeks were on the whole very nice averaging 25c (up to 28c) but the last week was more cloudy and dropped to 22-23c with rain on quite a few days, although it did tend to clear away.

I would definitely return to Mauritius and Le Telfair!

Room Tip: Ask for beachfront or seaview. Some rooms were near the back of the resort by a river or gradens st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rcgc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were lucky enough to get married there back at the end of June. Wow! We were totally spoilt, our room was amazing, actually bought a tear to my eye! Outside shower, right on the beach, butler service etc, totally spotless and pure luxury.

The wedding was amazing, we got married in the Chateau, highly recommend it, stunning and very personal. Hair, flowers all amazing!

The food....!!! Wow! Carl the chef is a star, the food was stunning, he will explain the dishes to you and adapt them if needs be, all the restaurants are amazing and varied, we didn't like the awali buffet, service wasn't as good, and I got a dodgy tummy after eating there!

Yes, it is quiet in the evenings, but the bar is a lovely place to relax with a cocktail listening to the 'bar singers' (Phil Collins and Sting are the most popular!!) plus, that is where the wifi is, (and reception and pool bar) it is basically unlimited and free, just have to re-log on after 30mins, we had no probs!

Gym was fab, we used it most days and felt like it was our private gym, clean, modern, well equipped, also very good tennis courts. We didn't really use the watersports, but seemed to be well run.

Right, only negative, it is very expensive!!!! We were recommended not to pay the extra 1k each for AI..... I would next time! The drinks add up, we were HB, so had to pay for all drinks and lunch, I would seriously consider it!!!

But I would love to thank the staff for making our wedding and honeymoon so special, it really was a beautiful holiday and during the whole holiday we were made to feel very special, even with staff knowing it was us getting married, remembering our names (day after the wedding, making a big point of calling us Mr and Mrs!!!) I highly recommend The Telfair, especially for couples looking for a quiet relaxing romantic holiday. Beautiful island, people, hotel, loved it!

Room Tip: Junior suites with sea view are amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
7.2 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,654 reviews
33.0 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,272 reviews
4.0 mi away
Shanti Maurice - A Nira Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,443 reviews
7.3 mi away
Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Tamassa Resort
Tamassa Resort
#1 of 6 in Bel Ombre
5,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
Address: B9 Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 61002
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort offers a variety of luxury accommodation in a discrete village design with 20 different villas of 6 or 8 rooms. 158 rooms and suites have beautiful sea views or river views with floor to ceiling French windows, private balconies or verandas. Heritage Le Telfair is a member of Small & Luxury Hotels of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Le Telfair Golf Hotel Bel Ombre
Heritage Le Telfair Golf And Spa Resort
Le Telfair Hotel
Hotel Le Telfair
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing