We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort
Nearby Hotels
Sofitel So Mauritius(Bel Ombre)(Great Value!)
$423
$308
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort(Bel Ombre)(Great Value!)
$209
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tamassa Resort(Bel Ombre)(Great Value!)
$349
$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort(Bel Ombre)(Great Value!)
$321
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$292
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$201
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,087)
Filter reviews
4,087 results
Traveler rating
2,934
800
244
75
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,934
800
244
75
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity blueall inclusive packageindian restaurantour honeymoonzenzi barbalafon restaurantc beach clubafrican drumsfree massageseven coloursa la carte restaurantsjean mariewalk in wardrobeboat tripnature reserveswimming with dolphinsmain bar
Filter
Updating list...
1,984 - 1,989 of 4,087 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Having just returned on Friday 8th March from a 10 night stay at the Awali We would have to say that the hotel is a good 4* not 5*....... Having read so many comments on trip advisor before we went I must say that we wondered what we would find but I would have to say that like any 7 or 8 year old resort it is starting to look a little tied around the edges.....but we could not complain about the level of service we received or the quality of the food and drink.....breakfast was very good and the food was fine but there I expected a greater choice of free salad and fruit, yogurts etc.....the service on the beach for food and drink was very good and the staff were excellent.....there is a booking system for the evening restaurants that could be improved as there is a 48 hour limit to when you can book, guest services say that the restaurants are full up but when you speak with other guest and walk by there appeared to be very few people in them......each restaurant hold a 3rd of the seats for Le Telfair hotel next door which is a sister hotel on half or full board so there is money to be made.....the golf course is excellent and has some great holes and views the buggies are around £20 per person even if there is one occupant....the food at the course is also good but the all inclusive is between 12 and 2:30 each day....I would advise booking a boat trip from the beach to see the dolphins and coconut island with BBQ drinks around £60 pp ask for Nadine of White Pearl trips she is very helpful and her staff are very good......if you want a very chilled out holiday with good for and some sport then this is a great destination and we would consider a return.

Stayed: February 2013
1  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageResorts_Mgmt, Resident Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share a review on our hotel.

We are truly happy to read that you have enjoyed your holiday experience at the Heritage Awali and we hope that you went back home with wonderful memories of our beautiful island and hotel.

The whole team at Heritage Awali looks forward to welcoming you back again at our hotel.

Truthfully,
Christophe Ramdiane
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed at Awali for 7 nights recently, room 6002.

All and all a fantastic stay without any major complaints, which I will get to later.

I read a lot of people complaining about the dress code for dinner, or that there's less restaurants on the resort than advertised or that you have to take a shuttle to the surrounding restaurants.

Let me clarify: It's really not rocket science: There's 3 hotels on the Heritage Resort. Every hotel features around 3 restaurants, 9 in total. When you stay on the resort, you can visit any of the restaurants on the entire resort's hotels, provided you've booked. Upon arrival we were provided with brochures that outlined this very well.

The furthest walk is to the C Beach Club. If I have to guess, around 300-400 meters along the beach. No shuttle required really.

No major complaints, except for a picnic basket we ordered for an excursion that was not ready at our time of departure which we then subsequently had to make other meal arrangements for, but not that that's the end of the world.
The dress code for "after 18:30" is not well communicated to visitors, but luckily we knew about it beforehand. The dress code also adds a bit of flair to the evening dining experiences. We enjoyed it.

The service at Zenzibar was great and you build relationships with the staff over your stay. I would like to especially thank Akash, Ayjay and Michael for their always-friendly bar-and-poolside service.

We really enjoyed our stay at Awali and are already planning our next trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WilhelmBarnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageResorts_Mgmt, Resident Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share a review on our hotel to the travel community of TripAdvisor.

We are truly delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the Heritage Awali and that you are already planning to come back.

In fact, to be exact Heritage Resorts consists of two luxury Hotels and luxury villas, a beach club and a golf spread over a vast domaine of 2500 hectares. Altogether the Domaine has 11 restaurants which offers various culinary experiences which you had been able to experiment while on holiday at Heritage Awali.

The whole team at Heritage Awali looks forward to welcoming you back again.

Truthfully,
Christophe Ramdiane
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks end oct/nov we were drawn to this hotel because of its all inclusive package as we were getting married here and had 10 guests coming out with us so we wanted to get the best package for everyone. The grounds and surroundings are beautiful I really loved the African vibe here. Our wedding coordinatior was Ingrid she was brilliant and made the preperations for our special day so relaxed we didnt have to worry about a thing she took care of it all. We got married in the gardens, it was such an amazing day we had a bbq on the beach for our reception this was superb the food was fab we got to construct a menu that suited all of our guests.
We had a beachfront room with a lovely view of the ocean and a great place to watch the stunning sunsets.
The food in the buffet restaurant was good plenty of choice however the service we were not really impressed with, the drink service was slow and the majority of staff didnt engage in any kind of conversation with you, saying that some members of our group said the lady that was serving them was fab and looked after them really well so I guess it depends who you got we just felt the service in this restaurant could of been a lot better seeing as everywhere else and on our wedding meal the service was brilliant.
The a la carte restaurants were excellent and the service in these ones were definitely 5* very welcoming. Lunch at the blue infinity is fabulous with a lovely location looking out to the indian ocean. The Zenzi bar is great a really chilled atmosphere and good service for drinks it is a
great place to unwind in the evening.
The pools are lovely so is the beach we spent a lot of days chilling on our sun lounger. Would recommend doing one of the boat trips we went on "The pearl" via nadine other than our wedding day this was the best day of our stay there were 10 of us and we went out and got to snorkel with wild dolphins and had an amazing bbq on an island over looking le morne Denni and his assistant that took us were great the food was delicious it was a really special day. Also did a trip out to casella nature park and did the walking with lions which was a once in a lifetime experience that I would recommend. We also did the trip round the nature reserve on the quads which was so much fun definitley a must!
The reason I havent given this hotel a 5 is that we personally felt that the service in the main restaurant could of been better and also that there should of been adult only areas especially a pool and restaurant as it is a popular honeymoon destination there were times when kids would be running round the restaurant screaming and taking over the pool which is a bit disappointing, however we all had a fantastic time and a wedding day that was perfect in every way!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coxythefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageResorts_Mgmt, Resident Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share a review on our hotel.

We are truly delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay wedding vacation at the Heritage Awali. Ingrid had a great pleasure to make your wedding day one of the most memorable day of your lifetime. we are happy to note also that you have enjoyed our hotel and that you had a fantastic time at the Heritage Awali. we also take good note of you suggestions and remarks regarding the service at the restaurants and the aldult only area.

The whole team at Heritage Awali looks forward to welcoming you and your friends back again.

Truthfully,
Christophe Ramdiane
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great welcome with the drums announcing your arrival and met by lovely ladies dressed in beautiful costumes.
Travelled with another couple and we were both given great sea-view rooms which is always a great start to your holiday!
The bar areas are a great place to relax in the evenings and during the day there was always a sun-bed available, even with the hotel full there was never the feeling the place was crowded.
The beach was clean and sandy and the water always warm.
The choice of free water sports was pretty impressive with us lads using the pedalo, double canoe and water-skiing.
We booked a day-trip on a speedboat on the beach outside the hotel and had a wonderful day.
Dived with the wild dolphins, snorkelled and had a first-class barbeque on the nearby Coconut Island. The two lads on the boat, The Pearl, cooked up a brilliant feast of grilled marlin,chicken and lobster and finished with grilled bananas in coconut and rum!
There was always a good choice of food throughout the day and evening.
We did find it hard to get a reservation in the Chateau as you can only book three days in advance so after two attempts finding it fully booked we asked if reception could help us before our holiday ended. Within 30 mins we got a call to our room saying they had managed to get us a reservation!
When we got to the Chateau were were welcomed at the door and shown to our table on the veranda of this very impressive property. Very grand indeed, although when the food arrived it was all a bit pretentious with more emphasis on the appearance than the taste! Maybe we are not used to this type of food! We were even joined by a little mouse on the veranda, but this just added to the experience! The staff were very pleasant and when the waiter noticed I was wearing the same designer shirt and trousers as me, he offered me to stand in for him the next night!
We used the Heritage Golf Course six times and had very enjoyable rounds. Beware the rough though as you will need a sherpa guide with a machete to get to your ball in only a couple of inches of grass!
The guys at the clubhouse keep your clubs for the duration of your hols and when you next turn up to play you will find your cleaned shoes and clubs waiting for you already attached to your golf buggy which has an ice box with bottles of water! Topped up with the free bottles of beer from your room mini-bar we were ready for the off!
We hired a taxi one day for just over five hours and were taken to some amazing places with incredible views of the island. The array of spectacular waterfalls was a great sight.

Would thoroughly recommend this place to stay for a great relaxing holiday.
The staff were all very friendly.
One slight downside, but not major, was the lack of premium drinks which were available as part of the all-inclusive package.Pretty basic whisky and when you asked for the Smirnoff vodka, we found we got the cheaper brand unless you were sitting at the bar watching them pour it!
All in all, we considered this to be a 4 star plus hotel and don,t understand when people say such negative things about the place on other reviews.
Well done Heritage Awali, Mauritius.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dontag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageResorts_Mgmt, Resident Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this comprehensive review of your experience at our hotel with us.
We are delighted to read that you had a "relaxing" holiday while staying at Heritage Awali. Indeed we have an impressive variety of watersports, the majority of which is offered free of charge. we are also glad to note that you have enjoyed your golfing experience at our Heritage Golf Club, which is said to be one of the best in Mauritius.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at the Domaine de Bel Ombre.


Warmest Regards,

Christophe Ramdiane,
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Fantastic place to stay . I can't find fault with anything the room was lovely and the lady who cleaned our room daily was so friendly . bar staff were so down to earth but very professional and helpful ,the food was lovely and as for the views well they were stunning . i didn't manage my spa treatment but it looked great.
would by far say its the best holiday I've been on and would love to go back with my family sometime if i could afford it .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shivymcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageResorts_Mgmt, Resident Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for taking time to share a review on our hotel on TripAdvisor. We would like to express our sincere gratitude for your encouraging comments on our hotel and friendliness and professionalism of our staff ,we are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort.

The whole team looks forward to welcoming you and your family again at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort.

Warmest Regards,

Christophe Ramdiane
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews