We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Not 5!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Having just returned on Friday 8th March from a 10 night stay at the Awali We would have to say that the hotel is a good 4* not 5*....... Having read so many comments on trip advisor before we went I must say that we wondered what we would find but I would have to say that like any 7 or 8 year old resort it is starting to look a little tied around the edges.....but we could not complain about the level of service we received or the quality of the food and drink.....breakfast was very good and the food was fine but there I expected a greater choice of free salad and fruit, yogurts etc.....the service on the beach for food and drink was very good and the staff were excellent.....there is a booking system for the evening restaurants that could be improved as there is a 48 hour limit to when you can book, guest services say that the restaurants are full up but when you speak with other guest and walk by there appeared to be very few people in them......each restaurant hold a 3rd of the seats for Le Telfair hotel next door which is a sister hotel on half or full board so there is money to be made.....the golf course is excellent and has some great holes and views the buggies are around £20 per person even if there is one occupant....the food at the course is also good but the all inclusive is between 12 and 2:30 each day....I would advise booking a boat trip from the beach to see the dolphins and coconut island with BBQ drinks around £60 pp ask for Nadine of White Pearl trips she is very helpful and her staff are very good......if you want a very chilled out holiday with good for and some sport then this is a great destination and we would consider a return.

Stayed: February 2013
1  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageResorts_Mgmt, Resident Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share a review on our hotel.

We are truly happy to read that you have enjoyed your holiday experience at the Heritage Awali and we hope that you went back home with wonderful memories of our beautiful island and hotel.

The whole team at Heritage Awali looks forward to welcoming you back again at our hotel.

Truthfully,
Christophe Ramdiane
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,750 - 1,756 of 3,712 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed at Awali for 7 nights recently, room 6002.

All and all a fantastic stay without any major complaints, which I will get to later.

I read a lot of people complaining about the dress code for dinner, or that there's less restaurants on the resort than advertised or that you have to take a shuttle to the surrounding restaurants.

Let me clarify: It's really not rocket science: There's 3 hotels on the Heritage Resort. Every hotel features around 3 restaurants, 9 in total. When you stay on the resort, you can visit any of the restaurants on the entire resort's hotels, provided you've booked. Upon arrival we were provided with brochures that outlined this very well.

The furthest walk is to the C Beach Club. If I have to guess, around 300-400 meters along the beach. No shuttle required really.

No major complaints, except for a picnic basket we ordered for an excursion that was not ready at our time of departure which we then subsequently had to make other meal arrangements for, but not that that's the end of the world.
The dress code for "after 18:30" is not well communicated to visitors, but luckily we knew about it beforehand. The dress code also adds a bit of flair to the evening dining experiences. We enjoyed it.

The service at Zenzibar was great and you build relationships with the staff over your stay. I would like to especially thank Akash, Ayjay and Michael for their always-friendly bar-and-poolside service.

We really enjoyed our stay at Awali and are already planning our next trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WilhelmBarnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageResorts_Mgmt, Resident Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share a review on our hotel to the travel community of TripAdvisor.

We are truly delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the Heritage Awali and that you are already planning to come back.

In fact, to be exact Heritage Resorts consists of two luxury Hotels and luxury villas, a beach club and a golf spread over a vast domaine of 2500 hectares. Altogether the Domaine has 11 restaurants which offers various culinary experiences which you had been able to experiment while on holiday at Heritage Awali.

The whole team at Heritage Awali looks forward to welcoming you back again.

Truthfully,
Christophe Ramdiane
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks end oct/nov we were drawn to this hotel because of its all inclusive package as we were getting married here and had 10 guests coming out with us so we wanted to get the best package for everyone. The grounds and surroundings are beautiful I really loved the African vibe here. Our wedding coordinatior was Ingrid she was brilliant and made the preperations for our special day so relaxed we didnt have to worry about a thing she took care of it all. We got married in the gardens, it was such an amazing day we had a bbq on the beach for our reception this was superb the food was fab we got to construct a menu that suited all of our guests.
We had a beachfront room with a lovely view of the ocean and a great place to watch the stunning sunsets.
The food in the buffet restaurant was good plenty of choice however the service we were not really impressed with, the drink service was slow and the majority of staff didnt engage in any kind of conversation with you, saying that some members of our group said the lady that was serving them was fab and looked after them really well so I guess it depends who you got we just felt the service in this restaurant could of been a lot better seeing as everywhere else and on our wedding meal the service was brilliant.
The a la carte restaurants were excellent and the service in these ones were definitely 5* very welcoming. Lunch at the blue infinity is fabulous with a lovely location looking out to the indian ocean. The Zenzi bar is great a really chilled atmosphere and good service for drinks it is a
great place to unwind in the evening.
The pools are lovely so is the beach we spent a lot of days chilling on our sun lounger. Would recommend doing one of the boat trips we went on "The pearl" via nadine other than our wedding day this was the best day of our stay there were 10 of us and we went out and got to snorkel with wild dolphins and had an amazing bbq on an island over looking le morne Denni and his assistant that took us were great the food was delicious it was a really special day. Also did a trip out to casella nature park and did the walking with lions which was a once in a lifetime experience that I would recommend. We also did the trip round the nature reserve on the quads which was so much fun definitley a must!
The reason I havent given this hotel a 5 is that we personally felt that the service in the main restaurant could of been better and also that there should of been adult only areas especially a pool and restaurant as it is a popular honeymoon destination there were times when kids would be running round the restaurant screaming and taking over the pool which is a bit disappointing, however we all had a fantastic time and a wedding day that was perfect in every way!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coxythefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageResorts_Mgmt, Resident Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share a review on our hotel.

We are truly delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay wedding vacation at the Heritage Awali. Ingrid had a great pleasure to make your wedding day one of the most memorable day of your lifetime. we are happy to note also that you have enjoyed our hotel and that you had a fantastic time at the Heritage Awali. we also take good note of you suggestions and remarks regarding the service at the restaurants and the aldult only area.

The whole team at Heritage Awali looks forward to welcoming you and your friends back again.

Truthfully,
Christophe Ramdiane
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great welcome with the drums announcing your arrival and met by lovely ladies dressed in beautiful costumes.
Travelled with another couple and we were both given great sea-view rooms which is always a great start to your holiday!
The bar areas are a great place to relax in the evenings and during the day there was always a sun-bed available, even with the hotel full there was never the feeling the place was crowded.
The beach was clean and sandy and the water always warm.
The choice of free water sports was pretty impressive with us lads using the pedalo, double canoe and water-skiing.
We booked a day-trip on a speedboat on the beach outside the hotel and had a wonderful day.
Dived with the wild dolphins, snorkelled and had a first-class barbeque on the nearby Coconut Island. The two lads on the boat, The Pearl, cooked up a brilliant feast of grilled marlin,chicken and lobster and finished with grilled bananas in coconut and rum!
There was always a good choice of food throughout the day and evening.
We did find it hard to get a reservation in the Chateau as you can only book three days in advance so after two attempts finding it fully booked we asked if reception could help us before our holiday ended. Within 30 mins we got a call to our room saying they had managed to get us a reservation!
When we got to the Chateau were were welcomed at the door and shown to our table on the veranda of this very impressive property. Very grand indeed, although when the food arrived it was all a bit pretentious with more emphasis on the appearance than the taste! Maybe we are not used to this type of food! We were even joined by a little mouse on the veranda, but this just added to the experience! The staff were very pleasant and when the waiter noticed I was wearing the same designer shirt and trousers as me, he offered me to stand in for him the next night!
We used the Heritage Golf Course six times and had very enjoyable rounds. Beware the rough though as you will need a sherpa guide with a machete to get to your ball in only a couple of inches of grass!
The guys at the clubhouse keep your clubs for the duration of your hols and when you next turn up to play you will find your cleaned shoes and clubs waiting for you already attached to your golf buggy which has an ice box with bottles of water! Topped up with the free bottles of beer from your room mini-bar we were ready for the off!
We hired a taxi one day for just over five hours and were taken to some amazing places with incredible views of the island. The array of spectacular waterfalls was a great sight.

Would thoroughly recommend this place to stay for a great relaxing holiday.
The staff were all very friendly.
One slight downside, but not major, was the lack of premium drinks which were available as part of the all-inclusive package.Pretty basic whisky and when you asked for the Smirnoff vodka, we found we got the cheaper brand unless you were sitting at the bar watching them pour it!
All in all, we considered this to be a 4 star plus hotel and don,t understand when people say such negative things about the place on other reviews.
Well done Heritage Awali, Mauritius.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dontag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageResorts_Mgmt, Resident Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this comprehensive review of your experience at our hotel with us.
We are delighted to read that you had a "relaxing" holiday while staying at Heritage Awali. Indeed we have an impressive variety of watersports, the majority of which is offered free of charge. we are also glad to note that you have enjoyed your golfing experience at our Heritage Golf Club, which is said to be one of the best in Mauritius.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at the Domaine de Bel Ombre.


Warmest Regards,

Christophe Ramdiane,
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Fantastic place to stay . I can't find fault with anything the room was lovely and the lady who cleaned our room daily was so friendly . bar staff were so down to earth but very professional and helpful ,the food was lovely and as for the views well they were stunning . i didn't manage my spa treatment but it looked great.
would by far say its the best holiday I've been on and would love to go back with my family sometime if i could afford it .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shivymcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageResorts_Mgmt, Resident Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for taking time to share a review on our hotel on TripAdvisor. We would like to express our sincere gratitude for your encouraging comments on our hotel and friendliness and professionalism of our staff ,we are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort.

The whole team looks forward to welcoming you and your family again at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort.

Warmest Regards,

Christophe Ramdiane
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The fact that I have twice previously stayed at the Shandrani makes it difficult to be totally objective about this review however I will try to make relevant comments and them draw some direct conclusions at the end of this review

We arrive to the sound of drums and a nice cocktail which was nice and checking was easy, we did arrive at 8am following an hours transfer from the airport and although the rooms were not ready but they did provide us with towels and came to find us when the rooms were read

The hotel is lovely with 3 pools and a reasonable size stretch of beach; however the thing that surprised me was that it was a small hotel, not that if feels at all cramped but it was full when we arrived with only 192 guests, so you do see a lot of the same faces. However the saving grace is the fact you can use the C-Beach club if you like so there is no need to ever fell crowded and indeed we did not.

Rooms: We were in block 5000 with a garden terrace and direct access to the beach, there were 4 of us in the room and 2 people in the adjoining room. The rooms themselves were nice but there was a strange damp like smell that I put down to the humidity and the aircon filter, however at the end of the holiday we got a room to change in on the top floor that did not have this smell. The one thing that did let the room down was the pillows; they were thin and useless to me as I like a firm pillow, though that is personal preference.

All inclusive: At the hotel it is really simple everything is included EXCEPT some premium spirits such as Jim Beam, also there are charges for room service which I think is fair enough. Once you are out of the hotel it gets more complicated. The C-Beach club does have certain items that are included at lunch in the AI and while you eat you can drinks as well (12:30 – 2pm) however although it is not complicated I still got stung for two kids pizzas and it turns out the Sunday Lunch Buffet (which is nothing special) is also not included and that was £60 for 2 adults and 2 children. We ate in the restaurants almost every night and had no issues booking them in the 48hr beforehand time frame, there were no queues in the morning and no issues with attending more than one. However at the Chateau you do need to pay for drink including water and to be honest it was nothing special. I much preferred the Infinity Blue or Beach Club for dinner, the latter having the best atmosphere.

There are plenty of water sports to keep you entertained and I cannot recommend BABOO who does boat trips to see the dolphins enough. We hired him for a day trip for my little girl’s birthday and it was fantastic. He also brought a cake and children’s champagne. To be honest I could written another equally long review on this excellent trip. However I would just say book it, you will find his boat (also called BABOO) moored on the beach.

In summary, as one highly annoying man on holiday kept pointing out this is not a 5 star hotel but it is an excellent 4 star and for those who think it is going to be I would point out one simple measure..the price. 6 of us stayed at the Awali for 12 days for less than it cost 4 of us to stay 11 day at the Shandrani. My advice to him would be stop complaining enjoy the beauty and excellent food. If you can afford it go to the Shandrani, its bigger has more beaches and food options in the restaurants and buffet, if you don’t want to spend the extra go here you will have a great time

Tips:
Change your money at the airport it is the best rate
There are taxis and shops just outside and to the left of the hotel (about 5 mins away)
Always at least half what the beach hawkers ask for
Take a change of beach clothes in your hand luggage if you are arriving in the morning

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
13  Thank bilk2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageResorts_Mgmt, Resident Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

We would like to express our sincere gratitude for your comments which will truly help us for our continuous improvement.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the Domaine de Bel Ombre .

Truthfully,

Christophe Ramdiane
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was our first time to Awali and on most points everything was perfect. We had the "Old all inclusive package" which gave us the opportunity to try every restaurant at no additional charge. These are my thoughts:
Grounds/Beach:
The hotel is about a 4 to +4* hotel, not 5*. The grounds are large and very well kept. 3 poolareas and a nice beach with lot of sunbeds and beach service. The water is shallow even during high tide and the current is very strong. Lots of corals.
Room:
Good in size but they don´t provide any hair conditioner or body lotion which I think is a minimum for a 5/4 * hotel. They clean the room once a day and refill the minibar late afternoon.
Food:
Very good, even excellent most of the times, but we had dinner at Balafon twice and that was a disaster on both occasions. We asked for champagne and got sparkling wine when I told the girl, she just said no it´s champagne I just opened the bottle...I KNOW it was sparkling ...We ordered rose wine and got red wine. The only thing that I think was excellent was the pasta, tasty, al dente, well done! All other restaurants were greate. We tried the buffé at Cyan, at the C beach club, during Saturday evening and it was very delicious. The big negative is the breakfast, we love the exotic fruits but they had only grapefruit, pineapple and melon almost every morning. Just white bread and "danish or croissant". You can get omelette and eggs any style but with only one person making them it took about 10 minutes to get them.
Golf:
Very nice course and difficult.You must take an extra shot on some of the par 4 or you end up in trouble..Hole 17 is a real challange! They have some problems with the course when it rains a lot. The back 9 is their problem, with hole 14 as the main problem. During our stay, 14 days, we could only have the cart on the entire course, 18 holes, at 4 occations. The first 9 were open for carts everyday except one, when you only were alowed to go with trolleys. This wasn't a big problem for us but they had other customer that were very dissappointed over this. But..you can't do anything about the weather..
Spa:
Very nice and relaxing. Try the hamman and the cold dip! You will feel like a new person afterwards.

We would love to go back this was a very relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carpediemgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageResorts_Mgmt, Resident Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for taking time to post a review about your stay at our hotel - Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort on Tripadvisor. Allow me also to express my sincere gratitude for your comments which will truly help us in our quest for continuous improvement.

We are disappointed to note that the breakfasts and your dinners at the Balafon was not up to your liking, however we are happy to read that you have enjoyed the food at the other restaurants of the Domaine and that on overall you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon at the Domaine de Bel Ombre.

Yours Truly,

Christophe Ramdiane
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
0.1 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
7.3 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,865 reviews
30.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tamassa Resort
Tamassa Resort
#1 of 6 in Bel Ombre
5,242 reviews
32.2 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort

Address: B9, Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 61002
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range: $404 - $918 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the unspoiled wild south of the island, Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort is the ideal place to experience authentic Mauritius and relax in harmony with nature either for just the two of you, or with the whole family. This luxury hotel combines elegance with the magic of Africa and offers high-end accommodations and an exceptional range of facilities: 18 hole golf course overlooking the ocean, two of the most beautiful well being centres of the Indian Ocean area with the Seven Colours Spa and the Umuzi Fitness Centre, a unique concept in kids' clubs and privileged access to a colonial manor house and a nature reserve. A variety of unique delights to leave you with unforgettable holidays in Mauritius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Awali Golf Hotel Bel Ombre
Heritage Awali Golf And Spa Resort
Heritage Hotel Bel Ombre
Heritage Resort Bel Ombre
Heritage Mauritius
Heritage Golf Spa Mauritius
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing