We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Golf and chill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just returned from Heritage Awali having stayed there for 6 nights, the hotel and facilities are great and would certainly stay there again. The location on the south west coast is probably one of the remotist if looking to explore the whole island but if you want to chill and play golf its a great place to be. The AI package is worth paying as the dinning and drinks could come in expensive, the golf fees are free on the AI package but it costs £40 approx to rent clubs for 18 holes and £30 to hire a buggy, so if you can take your own clubs do !
The AI advertises that up to 6 restaurants to eat in though our experience is there are limited tables in each restaurant for AI guests and we did not manage to use all 6 restaurants, the food was good, just wish they could learn to not overcook their "Fish" dishes.
The package also includes a free massage for each guest as well a 4x4 safari around the Nature reserve which is worth a visit.
The service was normally excellent though getting a coffee or refil at breakfast was sometimes lacking !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OIT Hotels
5  Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,979 - 1,985 of 3,865 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

First time in the Indian Ocean as we always did the Caribbean and it was worth the wait probably one of the most relaxing stress free holidays I have ever had....there were some minor grumbles reference bar service etc on the forums and here however regardless of where you go there are some staff faster than others and more talkative than others remember its a hard job in a hot environment personally we had a great time with the staff including bar & restaurant...special mention to Oliver,Kel and Vanessa who knew my drink order by day 2 also the management were great Ramana and Bernard restaurant managers Infinity Blue and Balafon.

Food - My favourite was the Infinity Blue I practically lived on deep fried crab cakes for 10 days...plenty of choice at lunch and dinner with a view to the ocean. Annabelle's is also very nice as is the Sea beach the biggest disappointment for me was probably La Chateau really can't understand the hype and Ginga was very limited in terms of choice ...the other criticism regarding most of the restaurants was very limited choice when on the AI package out with that nice diverse food.

Room - Probably one of the largest and nicest rooms we have stayed in..nice decor,plenty space,very large comfy firm bed and brilliant black out blinds ( sometimes you sleep in ) lol nice bathroom with a great shower kept clean daily and coffee an mini bar restocked daily as well.

Beach - Nice and clean with plenty of comfy beds and umbrella's drink service on the beach as well sometimes takes a while but to be expected given the hotel is full,plenty of free water sports and trips to be booked...wild dolphin trip,snorkelling and lunch is a must we booked with Paulo who was great.

Staff are very helpful always welcoming and will sort out any problems...the spa is nice use your free spa session 50 mins of bliss and you can upgrade your safari jeep tour to quad bikes for a little extra rupees....

We flew with Emirates first time and they were brilliant the service,food and entertainment on board is second to none I honestly don't think I would choose any other airline now to be honest we arrived home this morning Friday 12th already looking to book for next year.

If you want a simply relaxing stress free holiday with the choice of either kicking back drinking free champagne or being a bit of a explorer then Mauritius and the Heritage is for you...stunning scenery,weather ,people and food you won't be disappointed...my only advice would be if you can get a couple nights stop over in Dubai then do it as it can be very tiring and also Dubai looks very nice if not a little hot lol.

Room Tip: Block 6 top floor ocean view close to everything including Telfair restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Scottish_Gaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We visited the Heritage Awali in September/October 2012. Part of the family were staying in the adjoining Le Telfair, and we stayed in the Awali.

I have travelled extensively in my life, and have stayed in some of the top hotels in the places I have visited. The Awali manages to give the 5 Star experience without all of the pomp and circumstance that is no longer required when you are away on Holiday.

Your trip to the Awali starts with the light beat of the welcome drum that the Concierge plays for you when you first get out of the car. This is a very nice touch that welcomes you to the hotel. The complimentary lemon grass drink you receive and the hot towel on arrival really refreshes you after your flight (Which for us was 12 1/2 Hours)

From the moment you meet the guest relations team, (We were expertly led around the amenities by Milana who was the most pleasant lady we have met) your mind is set at ease. As we travelled to get married, there was quite a bit of paperwork to get through. We were assisted by the hotel and the rep to get the paperwork done in the most efficient way possible. We were quite surprised however that after being asked to take all original documents, (Decree absolute, birth certificates etc...) no one needed to see them at any time.

We booked the all inclusive package and were very pleased that we did as a glass of champagne in the hotel can cost up to 800 rupee's (£20) and to be honest it's not all that special champagne for £20 a glass. However, it was quite palatable and pleasant to drink.

Our travel agent told us before we went that we were able to use the same facilities at both the Awali and the Telfair (We now think this was a ploy to get the family to book the Telfair as the Awali was fully booked at that point) Our only period of disappointment was after walking over to the Telfair to have a drink with family in the Telfair's bar, 'The Cavendish'

After a couple of hours in the bar we were presented with a bill for £103 which we were utterly disgusted about and were also disgusted by the lack of effort on behalf of the hotel manager at the Awali in his attempt to sort the issue out. To me All inclusive is just that. I would definitely not recommend if you go as a group to split the party across the two hotels as you are treat in two different ways. the guests at the Telfair can have almost everything free at both hotels, where the Awali Guests only get included items in the Awali. This should have been made aware to us before we travelled.

We dined at the Chateau, but were not overly impressed. 2 choices of both starter, main course and desert leaving 'Beef & Lentil Stew' as the only palatable choice on the menu. If you wanted a steak, you would pay a 'Supplement' (A word you will get very used to) of about £40

The best restaurant by far was 'C Beach' followed closely by 'Le Balafon' where a weekly rotation of food was very palatable and at a pleasant pace.

Vanessa in the Zanzibar is very helpful and her gratitude is not false; she is a very kind young lady. This is a trait that stretches throughout all of the locals, they are all very pleasant indeed.

The Quad bike trip is a must, but the short trip is far better than the all day trip. The trip to Coconut island is good, but AVOID EDDY ON THE BEACH he offers a very second class service and we were left stranded with a boat with no engine on the way back from the trip. Find the wonderful lady on the beach who sells Sarongs called ' Florina' or similar. You can't miss her she wears a wide brimmed hat and has a wonderful smile. Although her wares aren't the cheapest, she is very nice and can offer a far better quality trip and is properly licensed to sell goods. If you listen to anything in this review listen to the part saying 'Avoid Eddy'

We were in block 4; perfect location equidistant between the bar, beach, pool, spa and restaurant. Very quiet on a night. Ask for a ground floor room, far better, The rooms can smell damp if you switch the air con off; this is due to the nightly rain that clears the air. However this is not unpleasant.

Wherever you go there is a wonderful lemon grass fragrance emitting from various oil burners and aromatics, A week after returning I can still sense it...

Wifi signal is very weak and limited to the Zanzibar through to the beach near the two small wedding kiosks. However this is another good thing as it encourages you to switch off and leave the ipod/pad alone!

In a morning you are surrounded by some of the most beautiful birds in the breakfast restaurant; some people find it distressing, we personally found it very peaceful and pleasant.

The pools are refreshingly cool and the beach is amazingly clean. The sand crabs are very cute. Our favourite beach area was table 38, perfect position!

Although we had a few small gripes, they did not detract from the holiday.

Definitely a place to return to, 10/10 on nearly all accounts, just whatever you do avoid the Telfair and Eddy!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for Ground floor, Blocks 3,4 or 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

A wonderful hotel full of wonderful people could not find a single fault. five star treatment with five star food and service. we were on an all inclusive holiday that really was all inclusive. beach was beautiful and cleaned every day, comfy sun beds and very good waiter service (yes even on the beach) As a seasoned traveller we have to say we have not had better.

Room Tip: you do not have to worry about any of the rooms they are all five star.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank colleen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were a party of 4 - 3 playing golf. We had a deluxe bedroom (5004 and 5003). The situaiton was perfect - looking out over the gardens and having a glimpse of the sea. September in Mauritius is called "peek-a-bo" month - the sun is in and out. We have no complaints we came back with a sun tan but it was not wall to wall sunshine. The free massage at the Spa was very welcoming especially after the long flight. Breakfast buffet was everything you would wish for and expect. The evening buffet was very good to start with but did definitely go down hill. Infinity Restaurant absolutely superb - lunch and dinner. The snack bar was again excellent at the start of the holiday but was very poor on the last few days. The young lads serving were doing all that they could but it would appear they were not being given support from the senior staff or from the kitchens. The other restaurants were all superb - C Beach, Ginja's, Annabella's, The Chateau. They could not be faulted on any aspect. It would appear we were lucky as our bookings for these restaurants were made before we arrived and we were also able to book extra times at the Infinity while we were there. But it would seem that some of our fellow holiday makers were not this lucky - some only managed one booking the whole fortnight. The complimentary trips were brilliant - 4x4, bicycle tour, snorkelling, shopping, etc. The only slight negative was the bikes - no gears and only one brake .....! The sports centre was good - plenty of weight lifting gear for those who are so minded, tennis, archery (we were given our own tuition time as we could not fit in with the schedule ....!) The Golf Club is second to none (so I am told by the rest of my party...!) Golf Clubs can be stored at the Club and are ready fully cleaned (including your shoes) when you arrive for your round. The Caddy Master greats each and every player by name - a very friendly yet professional service. We had a superb trip with Baboo. We had to pay for this trip but it was excellent value for money. He picked us up at the beach at 8.30am and we returned at 4pm. We had three swims with Dolphins, two snorkelling dives (accompanied by him and his mate, Steve), a superb lunch of barbecued Marlin steaks (think of Dinosaur steaks!) and lobster with enough drink (water, fruit juices, alcohol) as you could manage. We then had a water board session for those who were brave enough ......a day that we will never forget! There were a few negatives with this holiday but overall the positives won over. I would have no hesitation in recommending this holiday. Just a final note to say thank you very much to the residents of Mauritius - we have never experienced such wonderful, helpful, friendly and sincere people - well done!

Room Tip: Block 5000 seemed to be ideal, very close to all amenities yet twenty paces from the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Angie360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Have just returned from the awali after a family wedding,read many reviews before leaving,and found many miss leading.Yes sometimes the service in the main bar can be a little slow,but the service at all of the other bars was great,also the mixing of the drinks can be differant at the main bar from other bars so we drank away from the main bar as often as poss.The food was good at all the resturants we ate at.The sea and beach are clean and safe for all ( had one 2 year old and one 1 year old as well as a 72 year old with us),the tide can run a bit fast at times but as the sea only comes up to your knees,if you use common sense this is not a problem and only lasts about a hour a day.The sea is mainly sand but has alot of coral mixed with it so take a pair of water shoes and this overcomes this problem.Rooms are great in size and cleaned to a good standard, i always judge a place on not the fact you sometimes have a problem,but how this is sorted and at the awali any problems where soon sorted.Have been to many places and this is in my top 3 best places i have stayed at and would be very happy to return.The boats that take out on the free trips i,e .glass bottom boat get booked up quick,so get yours in quick ( 3 days in advance while we where there).All in all a brillant time and a great place for a wedding,5 stars.

Room Tip: Had a ground floor room with sea view and just walked 50 meters to the beach(brillant) room 6005 so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have read many reviews of this Hotel and could accept that a few people could rate it as 4 star rather than 5 star.What I find hard to understand is the odd few people who give it a poor rating. I really do think these people are serial complainers who will never be satisfied with anything. I found the staff to be excellent especially Mike Paris, Oliver and Michael (Head of entertainment). The Buffet restaurant was good at all times and the other restaurants we tried were all good. We especially liked the C club, Infinity Blue The Golf Club and The Chateau. What impressed us was the level of cleanliness of the whole hotel. I have rarely encounted toilet areas as clean as at this hotel. I would say that tipping helps with extra good service but this is someting we have always done and with the wages these guys are on, it is well received. The beach area is superb but with a strongish current probably not ideal for young children. Entertainment for me was very good. I like live music and found all the musicians and most of the singers to be very good. Overall this was an excellent holiday and I would urge people not to be put off by the odd negative comment because believe me this place is very very good and I would certainly return.
Get to know the staff and involve them in conversation and your holiday will be much more rewarding. Unfortunately some guests are just plain rude and cannot expect to get the service that polite guests get in return. Visit this Hotel and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have morning or evening sun and this is something that we would have like but we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walpole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
0.1 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
7.3 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,097 reviews
30.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tamassa Resort
Tamassa Resort
#1 of 6 in Bel Ombre
5,416 reviews
32.2 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5,710 reviews
33 mi away
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Constance Belle Mare Plage
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
3,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort

Address: B9, Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 61002
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range: $364 - $845 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the unspoiled wild south of the island, Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort is the ideal place to experience authentic Mauritius and relax in harmony with nature either for just the two of you, or with the whole family. This luxury hotel combines elegance with the magic of Africa and offers high-end accommodations and an exceptional range of facilities: 18 hole golf course overlooking the ocean, two of the most beautiful well being centres of the Indian Ocean area with the Seven Colours Spa and the Umuzi Fitness Centre, a unique concept in kids' clubs and privileged access to a colonial manor house and a nature reserve. A variety of unique delights to leave you with unforgettable holidays in Mauritius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Awali Golf Hotel Bel Ombre
Heritage Awali Golf And Spa Resort
Heritage Hotel Bel Ombre
Heritage Resort Bel Ombre
Heritage Mauritius
Heritage Golf Spa Mauritius
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing