We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Heritage Awali September 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Booking this Hotel was one of my more excellent decisions. I can hardly begin to describe this hotel and its staff. Quite literally it does what the brochure says and so much more. The staff are magnificent a credit to the hotel always on hand to answer questions or give advice and always with a smile. The room, as the rest of the hotel was immaculate. The food and service whether it was at an "on site" restaurant or at one of the sister hotels adjoining was terrific. Spoilt for choice in the Seven Colours Spa, so many different treatments to be had! Managed to play the Heritage Awali golf course on seven occasions, well maintained and quite a testing course. Taking away some fantastic memories sadly, leaving a few golf balls. An ideal location for either honeymooners or those celebrating their 60th birthday as I was. Thank you Hotel Awali

Room Tip: Try for an ocean view room, well worth the extra to wake up to that view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank retdrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,919 - 1,925 of 3,755 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had 12 nights at the heritage awali! It was pure paradise! From start to finish we loved every minute. There wasn't a part of our stay which we could pick fault about. The staff are extremely kind and courteous and really do look after you. The welcome to the bongo drums being played and a cool towel followed by a lemongrass refresing cocktail was a lovely touch! Food is excellent both at the balafon buffet restaurant and also the other restaurants which they pre book you into prior to arrival. The selection of drinks included is extensive and covers really anything you would want. When we have saved up some pounds we will definitely be returning in the future!! We travelled in September and came back with a lovely tan, there was a bit of rain/cloud most days but only for a short time. Would strongly recommend the heritage awali!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tempy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We recentley stayed at the Awali on a 10 night stay for our honeymoon. The hotel is picture perfect and imaculate. Our room had a lovely view of the ocean and you could hear the waves crashing over the reef it was cleaned everyday by Sunny who was very thorough and extremely friendly. The all Inclusive option is by far the best value for money as it includes unlimited Champagne and Cocktails, the food was of very high standard and we were pre booked into all the restaurants before we arrived. Ingrid at guest relatiions was the friendliest and most helpful person you can ever wish to meet and all the staff went out of their way to make us feel special. The only issue which let this Hotel down was the rudeness of other guests( by no means the hotels fault) staying there, some people need to learn some manners! We never had any problem with speed of service but then I remember my p's and q's just because you are being waited on it doesn't mean you are above the staff in anyway I am sure people reading this know who they are. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone who asks and definatley suggest a visit to Casela nature reserve to walk with the Lions.

Room Tip: I would advise a ground floor Ocean View very close to the Sea but a little more private than the Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We went to this resort for our honeymoon, along with nearly every other guest. I am sure it must be difficult to make every couple feel special, but this hotel achieved that. Our room was a reasonable distance from the main hotel which meant it was quiet. The rooms have a beautiful layout with a very open plan feel. We had views of the beach and the garden, located very closely to the wedding pagoda. The gardens are immaculate. The beach is clean and secure. There is constant rumble from the sea as the waves crash on the coral reef surrounding the island, beautiful. There was a great selection of restaurants especially if you made the most of them at each of the adjacent hotels and golf club. The staff can't do enough to please you, if there is something you would like to eat or arrange, if they can, they will. The only reason I didn't say this was excellent is because of the service in the spa. The facilities were great and in need of some maintenance, the showers did not work properly and the lighting kept going out in the steam rooms. There seemed to be plumbing problems and the spa staff couldn't fix it, it needed some attention. The final straw was the 'deal' we were offered, be VERY careful, if you change your massage at all, even to a massage of a higher price it cancels the offer, they DO NOT tell you and you end up paying for all your massages and not buy one get one free. I asked to speak to the manager and pointed out we had in fact paid more please could they see clear to honour the agreement, as it had not been pointed out to us and they refused. This was as we checked out and left a rather nasty taste after spending lots of money with the hotel, golf club etc, that they had to part with us on such a negative note.

Shame on you.

Perfect honeymoon destination, although no comparison to the Maldives.

Room Tip: Ground floor, beach and garden view room was lovely and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank worldtravellers97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We just just returned from two weeks in paradise, this hotel was incredible and the staff went out of their way to make this perfect for us. The Hotel itself is beautiful with a stunning beach, the food is incredible and we were especially happy to have a night pre-booked at each restaurant to guarantee that we got to visit each and every one. Saying that the buffet was lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed this as well!

Our wedding was perfect all thanks to Ingrid who arranged everything for us. Nothing was too much trouble and Ingrid went our of her way to do exactly what we wanted on our day. Such a lovely lady!

If you have booked to stay here then you will not be dissapointed....:)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sammieb1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just arrived back to a wet and cold Scotland this morning after spending two fantastic weeks at the Heritage Awali.
I just cant understand what people find to moan about as we felt that the staff the food the rooms, pools and infact the whole of the resort were all great!!!
Maybe you do have to wait for a drink for a minute or two but you must remember the bar staff are busy making up some yummy cocktails which they love doing and aim to please and always smiling and stopping for a chat to ask how your day was, you are on holiday so whats the rush, relax and enjoy, some people just like to moan and complain to the staff but remember people who are given respect give great service and respect you in return.

So anyway well done Awali we loved being there and i shed a tear when saying goodbye to the Staff and Management at the wonderful Awali.

Hope to return some day . xx

Room Tip: They are all good clean rooms no problem wherever you are located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ycarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I spent 3 weeks at this hotel and had an amazing time. It really was paradise. I have no idea why people are complaining about the hotel. The staff couldn't do enough for us during the stay. this includes the waiters/waitresses in the restaurants, the bar staff, the spa staff, and especially our wedding coordinator (Ingrid). The food was exceptional with a wide variety to choose from. The hotel pre booked tables for us at each of the restaurants prior to our arrival. We also booked additional restaurants when we got there. There was also a good variety of food at the buffet.
If you fancy a break from resting in paradise I suggest a boat trip with Paolo. You wont be disappointed. During the trip we saw lots of dolphins and also swam with some of them. The trip also included a BBQ lunch on an uninhabited island and lots of local rum.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to return for another visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Baskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
0.1 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
7.3 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,959 reviews
30.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tamassa Resort
Tamassa Resort
#3 of 6 in Bel Ombre
5,320 reviews
32.2 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,560 reviews
33.0 mi away
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Constance Belle Mare Plage
#2 of 13 in Belle Mare
3,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort

Address: B9, Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 61002
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range: $371 - $949 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the unspoiled wild south of the island, Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort is the ideal place to experience authentic Mauritius and relax in harmony with nature either for just the two of you, or with the whole family. This luxury hotel combines elegance with the magic of Africa and offers high-end accommodations and an exceptional range of facilities: 18 hole golf course overlooking the ocean, two of the most beautiful well being centres of the Indian Ocean area with the Seven Colours Spa and the Umuzi Fitness Centre, a unique concept in kids' clubs and privileged access to a colonial manor house and a nature reserve. A variety of unique delights to leave you with unforgettable holidays in Mauritius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Awali Golf Hotel Bel Ombre
Heritage Awali Golf And Spa Resort
Heritage Hotel Bel Ombre
Heritage Resort Bel Ombre
Heritage Mauritius
Heritage Golf Spa Mauritius
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing