We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great villas and location ruined by poor service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heritage The Villas
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Villa and location is pretty fantastic but service at adjoining Awali and Le Telfair hotels is the poorest I have ever experienced in a supposed 5 star resort! Hotel services were pretty limited with almost all everything including dinner having to be booked days in advance and given was only there for a week is not my idea of a relaxing holiday. Low point was really the service in all aspects of the resort, staff while keen just fundamentally didn't understand basics of service. Highlights included having dinner sat on dirty plates adjacent to table for 5 minutes then being served with it, ask to leave a restaurant after being seated for not having a collared shirt on, served a bottle of red wine from the fridge and being told that I didnt know about wine, waiting 30mins to be served for breakfast when there was only 4 people in the restaurant and then being harassed at breakfast to come and settle the room bill. As a result of the above we ate in the villa much more than we would do on a holiday like this. Given the choice of great resorts in Mauritius the poor service offered by Heritage means it would be unlikely I would return to this resort and wouldn't recommend it as given the choice available the service would be the discerning factor for me. If you are happy to stay in villa and aren't fussed by hotel amenities then the villa was pretty special.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crairoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with the trip advisor community, as our team at Heritage the Villas is proudly dedicated to our customers and to the service delivered to them. And we will for sure take the necessary actions, correctives measures to make sure that the unluckily points you’ve raised do not happen again.
Please note by looking at the other reviews that we are not in a habit of delivering the service you mentioned, whether for the Hotels or the villas. Anyway something went wrong and on behalf of the whole team, please accept our sincere apologies.

As professional and humans we seek for a second chance, and we sincerely hope that you will give it to us by choosing again Heritage resorts.

Best regards
Stephane dadoune

Resort Manager
HERITAGE VILLAS | C Beach Club | CHATEAU DE BEL OMBRE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 235 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

Please excuse the tardiness in submitting this review.

We visited in April and it was the first time we had ever holidayed abroad. We booked on Thursday before the Easter weekend and flew on Tuesday, the agent warned us we were starting at the top and nothing would ever compare and how true that proved to be!

We have just stayed at a high profile resort in Antigua which cost more than twice as much but it couldn't compete on any level. Not even close.

The villas are absolutely perfect for a family, the staff are welcoming and keen to look after you and the resorts at linked resorts are perfect for the family.

Mauritius was fantastic. Amazing memories and we will definitely return to see if it really was as good as we remember :) When there ask the concierge to book you a speedboat to go and swim with the dolphins and have a BBQ on a private island. So good we did it twice. Cost only a tad more than a family day out to a theme park in the UK but was absolute bliss!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ak11_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you again for choosing Heritage The Villas. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Sunny greetings from Heritage Resorts,

Best Regards

Stephane Dadoune
Resort Manager
Heritage The Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We are residents of the island and choose to take our holidays and breaks at Heritage Villas. The management of these villas has improved significantly and we find ourselves receiving an efficient, warm welcome, where everything we need to enjoy a relaxing quiet vacation is found withing these magnificent villas. We shall be recommending and visiting Heritage Villas again soon.

Room Tip: South facing villas are especially beautiful to watch the sun setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you again for choosing Heritage The Villas. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We sincerely hope to welcome you again.

Sunny greetings from Heritage Resorts,

Best Regards

Stephane Dadoune
Resort Manager
Heritage The Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had two weeks at a Heritage Villa in August – family of four with two young children. It far exceeded our expectations. The villa was stunning – plus it provided plenty of room for the children to run around in but with just about all the amenities that you would have if staying at a hotel so a really perfect combination. I can’t recommend it highly enough.

Our villa was beautiful – 4 bedrooms (we were upgraded from 3 beds) – very spacious and beautifully designed interior with every mod con we could wish for. Spotlessly clean.

The services provided were spot on. Daily maid service (emptied dishwasher, made the beds, emptied bins, tidied and generally cleaned) was an absolute treat that you wouldn’t get in an ordinary villa rental. Breakfast at Le Chateau (just for the villas) was very good and well run. The golf buggy that comes with the Villa was great (and good fun!) as you could zip around very quickly – 2-3 minutes to Le Chateau, no more than 5 mins to the beach. The C Beach Club – a private beach club – was also a great addition. Contemporary and cool but really friendly plus abundant towels and amazing sun loungers – all reserved for the Villas. From here you can also book the complementary non-motorized watersports.

We used the Timomo kid’s club every few days. It is entirely complementary, open all day and you can drop children off at any time for any length of time you wish. I haven’t used a kid’s club on holiday before but the standard seemed extremely high to me – purpose built and secure building, lovely outside space with sand pits, climbing frames etc and their own large paddling pool. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. A huge bonus for parents!

All the staff at the Villas, Beach Club and hotels were extremely good – very friendly, helpful, efficient and nothing was ever a problem. They were all very welcoming and helpful with the children making them and us feel welcome everywhere. I must also mention the Manager too, Dev Buljore, as he made us feel very well looked after – met us on arrival and was there to see us out on departure (at 5.15 in the morning!) and he was around at breakfasts in case we wanted to ask about anything.

Food shopping was easy. The day after we arrived we hired a taxi which took us to the supermarket 15 mins drive away, waited (for up to 2 hours) and returned for about £12. We topped up with trips to the resort shop when needed. The shops shut early on Saturdays and public holidays.

We had dinners out about half the time but stuck with the C Beach Club and Le Chateau as they were easiest with our young children. Food delicious and they were always happy to offer very child friendly food. We managed to arrange for pizza delivery from the C Beach Club on the day we arrived which was delicious with salad and bread etc.

We had some lovely trips around the area – including the Frederica Nature Reserve which is an area next to the Heritage Villas – very beautiful and worthwhile doing.

The weather in August is just coming to the end of their winter – average 24c. It was a mixture of sun and cloud almost every day. Beautiful and warm when the sun was out – cooler when it was cloudy. We were happy to escape the very hot weather that it can be in the Med in summer so this suited us fine.

Needless to say we very much intend to go again next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you again for choosing Heritage The Villas. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the staff and in particular to the Ti-Momo, C Beach club teams, and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.We are delighted to read that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again and we look forward to it.

Sunny greetings from Heritage Resorts,

Best Regards

Stephane Dadoune
Resort Manager
Heritage The Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We always loved Mauritius but have never stayed in a villa before. It was always in hotels and we were really spoiled because on our last four visits we stayed at the Royal Palm in Grand Bay and that is truly an enjoyable experience.

Anyway we decided to be adventurous and hire a villa on a golf course so that the family could join us and we definitely were not sorry. The Villas are five star and incredibly spacious with lovely views out over the golf course and down to the ocean.

It would be misleading to say that everything was perfect. It wasnt but when we required assistance the staff were great and in particular Dev did everything to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Rather than ramble on let me just say that we have already booked for next year and cannot wait.

The arrangement with the two five star Heritage hotels and the beach club was ideal because there was always a restaurant that we wanted to try and generally the food at all the restaurants was excellent. In particular the pizzas and other light meals at the beach club were amazing.

We did visit the north and the incredible shopping centres around Port Louis and near Grand Bay but we far preferred the south where the pace is far more relaxed and in a word more "Mauritian" All in all it was fantastic and we all cannot wait for next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knygre2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Trip advisor member,

Thank you again for choosing Heritage The Villas. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.


Sunny greetings from Heritage Resorts,

Best Regards

Stephane Dadoune
Resort Manager
Heritage The Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

What an amazing development! Our villa was spectacular. We had glorious views and real privacy. The people working there were incredibly friendly and efficient. It really is the best part of the Island. We had two great weeks weather wise although it can get pretty windy and rainy in the "winter" apparently. I would thoroughly recommend renting a villa over staying in a hotel every time. We had all the facilities available at the beach and the two associated hotels.

Room Tip: Get a villa with a good view away from the busy roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mystictraveller1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you again for choosing Heritage The Villas. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay. We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.


Sunny greetings from Heritage Resorts,

Best Regards

Stephane Dadoune
Resort Manager
Heritage The Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our unit offered excellent & spacious accommodation as well as nice views, very challenging championship gholf course in excellent condition. The beach club (C Club) was a nice bonus with good service and facilities. The staff was very friendly and alaways willing to assist. Overall we had a very relaxing and enjoyable experience with our family that joined us on the trip. The wi-fi and DSTV in every room and the use of the 4-seater gholf cart was an added bonus. We used the villa's own rimflow pool extensively as well as the gas barbeque. I will definitely return in the future with other family members.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herman v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you again for choosing Heritage The Villas. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.


Sunny greetings from Heritage Resorts,

Best Regards

Stephane Dadoune
Resort Manager
Heritage The Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
0.5 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
28.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
7.6 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Shanti Maurice Resort & Spa
33.8 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage The Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage The Villas

Address: Domaine de Bel Ombre, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 61002 (Formerly Villas Valriche Experience)
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#6 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range: $441 - $875 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritage The Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heritage The Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage The Villas Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing