We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Beyond Words”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel So Mauritius
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Had an amazing stay in Jan 2013.
Check in was very quick and the staff went to great lengths to explain the concept and layout of the room and hotel grounds.
The design of the rooms is very unique. Each are very private and allow a great sense of spaciousness.
Service was remarkable and the staff go to great lengths to impress guests with gestures that surprise / wow you.

Even though occupancy was a bit high, it still felt quiet and intimate due to the way the hotel is designed. If you want a quiet and relaxing and romantic experience, this is the place. There are no screaming kids or loud sea sport activities as the hotel tries to encourage a zen like wellness feeling.

One small negative point:
Buffet dinner at La Plage restaurant was not as good as the ala carte restaurant - gave constructive feedback to hotel manager about some drawbacks in the concept. If changes are made there is a big potential for the food to be great as they use very fresh produce.


I've spent about 200+ nights in hotels in 2012 - this is one of a handful that I truly felt sad to leave!

Room Tip: Stayed at 320 which is close to the spa and walking distance to main restaurant. But you can always...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lsed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Bonjour

We are So delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at So Mauritius. It was nice to hear that our Ambassador exceeded your expectations.
Our experienced and dedicated SO Special butler team makes all the difference through tailor made service that is designed especially to make our guests stay SO much better.
We will be looking at the buffet from La Plage restaurant, and give it a kick to ensure your next visit will leave nothing but SO delightful memories.

Thank you so much for staying with us.
We hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Bastien Blanc
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,160)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel So Mauritius
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 1,160 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed there in January 2013, for 10 days holiday. The location îs absolutelly fantastic, in the south of the Mauritius island where the nature is more wild. Hotel rooms are actualy one room vila with a terrace heading to the ocean. Impressive room! Also a marble and mosaic bath tube is waiting on the terrace, which was great. Hotel curtosy was good as tea, cofee and a bit of water to drink was delivered each day in the room. a bit of water (2 botles of 1/2 l)... Good to add that we were really impressed that freshly manufactured sweets were brought in the room daily. The beach is superb, top. To mind the green parts underwater where it is in fact a lot of vegetation where I have found some marine creatures, not at all offensive but if you step on them they can really hurt your leg with their sharp "hair". The swimming pool is very exotic and special as well, with warm water... The SPA, as my dear wife told me, is very good and treatments and procedures inlighted her a lot as they include ingredients from local fruits, coco nut, papaya...
Apart from all amaizing beauties around and the room itself, one should mind that the restaurants inside the venue are expensive somehow. For the same price many restaurants on the island gives You more food and a much wider offer as alternatives to choose from. For drinks... The cheapest glass of wine is 11 EUR in the SO restaurant. Water botle of 0.75 L costs 5.15 eur...A good idea is to rent a car and pay a visit to other atractive places on the island and maybe buy some water from the regular stores. However the food in the hotel restaurants was very very good and one can recognize the "gourmand" Style of the Chef.
Staff are fine, friendly and well intended. However, even so, we could not figure it out why it takes them 3-4 visits in the room each day? Cleaning comes to make the room during the day and again around 7-8 pm to check if you need new towels... Daily... Other staff also gets in for other reasons but I cannot tell why. Suggestion: press the " not to disturb" button in the room.
The speed of reaction of all staff should be improved.
All in all, we appreciated a lot the So Sofitel hotel in Bel Ombre! It was a dream holiday and thank the butlers for their assistance.

Room Tip: Rooms numbers starting with 2 and 1 seem to be closer (walking) to restaurants and the pool. Howeve...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CARGO2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Bonjour,
Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post about your stay @ SO Mauritius. Our pool is shapes as a Panga knife the traditional tool to cut the sugar cane. Our 500m long beach side has been kept as natural as possible in line with our eco chic concept. It gives great opportunity for snorkeling which I hope you tried.

In regards to our restaurant, we do propose half board option which can be enjoyed from Le Flamboyant restaurant (with a tasteful A La Carte Menu), and we also proposed themed evening from La Plage restaurant to give your mood a fresh twist. All our butlers and waiters are ready to listen to any of your requests and get taylor made dishes to your liking.

All our cocktails are done with premium brands, as we always want the experience provided to our guest to be intense, and prices are comparable to the 5* deluxe properties in Mauritius.

We do indeed provide a daily cleaning as well as a daily turndown to ensure the total comfort of our guests during their stay. The whole service being complemented by daily made fresh pastries to satisfy your sweet tooth while on vacation. Indeed shall you wish not to receive service you can press the Do not disturb button and we will remain available to you in case of future needs. We do recommend not to place it in the evening as you might miss the sweets.

Our SO Spa treatments as your wife has experienced are all SO natural just like our resort which is a jewel within a luxuriant garden. We constantly create new treatment in order to surprise and enhance this exquisite moment of rest.

It will be great a pleasure for us to welcome you back for another SO experience !

Cordially,

Bastien Blanc
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Thank you so much to all the staff. My trip was really nice thanks to the kindness of the people. High quality of service and careness of the guest !
The spa was excellent and massage were peaceful and permit me and my girlfriend to relax and forgot about the daily stress life.

Thanks again and see you soon

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felix31000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Bonjour
Every guest take different things away from Mauritius, though everybody agrees that the kindness of Mauritians is what make the experience so special.
At SO Mauritius, we constantly emphasize our Mauritian roots and we are glad you felt it.
From the spa treatment to the garden, through our molecular cocktails, we are glad to help our guests to discover the uniqueness of our beautiful island.

So looking forward to seeing you agin in near future to SO Mauritius for another SO Intense experience.

Cordially,

Bastien Blanc
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have just spent a fantastic week in Mauritius. We took the helicopter ride from the airport which was a great idea and gave us the opportunity to see Mauritius very well from the start. Riad, our butler, met us at the landing pad and onwards was constantly paying attention to our needs. Service in the restaurant was not as efficient but riad was never far making sure our dietary requirements were met.
The NYE was just fabulous, it was the first time for both of us we were celebrating dancing on a beach with over 30c!
Spa was good too. I tried the coco treatment and my other half did accupuncture. Both of us found the staff to be very kind and professional.
We visited a few things on the island and all went smoothly through our butler. The boat house offers lots of complimentary activities, so i went water skiing !
I read recent comments and was quite surprised as i was not experiencing the same. I asked the staff and was told that many employees just disappeared at year end which put the team under duress. We didnt real feel it but were told that some large families were disappointed.
I would definitely recommend the sofitel for couples but not at all for families.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Bonjour
Thank you for choosing So Mauritius We are SO happy to know that you had an intense experience while being in paradise. Thank you for the positive review of our ambassadors (the name given to our team members) who from your comment represented very well our property spirit.
SO Mauritius gives indeed the only property of its kind given the chance to experience acupuncture on the Island. Our Master of Acupuncture has been studying Chinese medicine for more than 10 years and he is especially famous for performing acupuncture anti-ageing treatment, but also treatment more traditional like muscular pains or specifically adapted to jet lag or stress. Whatever one you choose you will always feel like a new born baby afterwards.

The communication you were given is right, though we are back on track and apologize again to our guest who got impacted by this end of year challenge.
So looking forward to welcoming you again in Mauritius !

Cordially,

Bastien Blanc
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The stay at So sofitel was very much substandard and not in keeping with that of a 5 star hotel. We had a reservation for 4 rooms. There was a five hour delay in the delivery of the rooms, when we did get the rooms, one of the rooms had dirty linen, the garbage had not been emptied, the airconditioning was not functioning and there was no toilet paper.

The hotel food was substandard, (not the quality of a 5 star hotel). The buffet did not cater for special requests such as food allergies and vegetarian menus. The chef was informed however did not adjust the menus to cater for special dietary needs. The buffet dishes had no labels during lunches and dinner.

The butlers assigned to the rooms tried to smoothe things over by bringing over champagne to the rooms to apologize. It was apparent that they were understaffed and working on a skeleton staff. Clearly they were unable to meet the guests' needs. The general manager was very incompetent, and took no action to remedy any our concerns even though we voiced them to him in a constructive fashion. Following our conversation with the general manager, he avoided our group. One recommendation would be for the general manager to get some more training in conflict resolution.

From speaking to the other residents of the hotel, it was clear that our poor experience was not isolated. Other guests were also checking out prematurely from this supposedly top of the line/ flagship status of the So Sofitel hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Shal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Bonjour Monsieur,

I would like to apologise for the issues you encountered. Though I did indeed meet myself with many members of your family, including yourself, and especially your Mother in law I believe on regular basis. We also proposed to prepare your request on a taylor made basis as we always do though you preferences remained for the buffet. I will pass on your comment to your butler which you mention above.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Sofitel SO Mauritius in order to demonstrate what Sofitel SO Mauritius is about with a nice weather and the usual A La Carte menu.

Cordially,

Bastien Blanc
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Flying for more than 9 hrs, I finally touched down on this remote island in the Indian Ocean to enjoy a week of relaxation and indulgence. Well, a personal buttler will ensure you'll get all what you asked for and even the more.... rooms are well equipped with the latest gadgetry Philipps and Bose has on offer, WLAN and wired Internet connection is available (and hey, for those who have been forbidden to bring anything electronic - the TV Set works as an Internet Screen, hihihi). A private outside shower in the back, with a second shower inside will allow you to skinny dip or just wash your hair without been seen from anybody. Through the wardrobe and next to the huge wash bassin comes the living & bedroom with a "your Bed concept", well truly I slept perfectly well... in the front garden is another sort of water splashing device, a whirlpool - unfortunately sometimes from lesser travelled and educated guests from a certain Middle Kingdom in Asia mistaken as a communal washing tub, so be aware, you could be woken up at 6 am by a rather loud and pestering Zhejiang dialect "old sista com over washing".... well, your buttler will arrange for the necessary (moving you into another remote room far from the cloth washing crowd. It was a quite fun experience, though I hope management will think twice as to which tourist group from China they would like to welcome as guests, as otherwise full-fare paying guests will certainly not frequent any longer.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the beach. It prevents you from continously waiting for the colf carts (c...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oldchina_tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Bonjour !

Thank you SO much for your feedback about your recent stay at SO Mauritius. We are SO pleased to read that you have appreciated the design of our villas and its modern and contemporary equipment. You are SO right at SO Mauritius you have 3 different ways to be connected to Internet even through your TV - great opportunity to browse your favorite websites on big TV screen using wireless keyboard in the comfort of your bed, and the best of all, it is complementary all over the resort as you experienced.

Our suites and villas provide guests with absolute privacy thanks to the unique architect decision of famous Tai architect Lek Bunnag enhanced by unique interior design by Kenzo Takada.

Our bed concept - My Bed - designed specifically for Sofitel Luxury hotels, we are very delighted to hear that you have enjoyed good night sleep at SO.

We apologize that you have been disturbed by the noise from neighbor suites in the morning. We are striving to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible, please advise us during your next stay about any challenge and we will certainly ensure you can fully enjoy your stay without any disturbance.

It will be great a pleasure for us to welcome you back for another wonderful experience !

Bastien Blanc,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

was expecting a hotel like in Maldives, well actually Mauritius has far more activities to propose. the level of service of the hotel was good, and people nice. weather was ok but not as hot as i thought. hotel is very much modern, with design of kenzo. i like very much. great bed so i could sleep a lot. beach side very nice with little breeze so never too hot.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Boris,

Добрый день !

Thank you SO much for your positive feedback about your recent stay at SO Mauritius. We are SO pleased to read that you appreciated good level of service and kindness of team - what is the core of Mauritian hospitality !

You are absolutely right, Mauritius has SO much to offer for its guests ! At SO Mauritius you can choose from more than 60 activities tailor made specially for you to discover the best of the Island.

We are very delighted that you liked the modern design of Kenzo Takada for the hotel. Our hotel looks very unique compare to other hotels on the Island, we are very proud to be different !
Our bed concept - My Bed - designed specifically for Sofitel Luxury hotels, incredibly comfortable that sometimes our guests prefer to stay a bit longer in their suites and villas in the morning :)

It will be great pleasure for us to welcome you back for another wonderful experience !

Have a great Holidays season ! Хороших Вам Новогодних праздников !

Bastien Blanc,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
8.8 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,796 reviews
14.4 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
15.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Shanti Maurice - A Nira Resort
1.7 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
1.3 mi away
Tamassa Resort
Tamassa Resort
#1 of 6 in Bel Ombre
5,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel So Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel So Mauritius

Address: Royal Road, Beau Champ, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 61008
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#5 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range: $301 - $1,079 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel So Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel So Mauritius Bel Ombre is located on the southern tip of the island in the most naturally beautiful place. The resort has 92 rooms, suites and villas, 2 restaurants, 2 bars, So Spa, So Fit. The resort also has a tennis court, kids club, outdoor swimming pool, 520 mts of beach, natural lagoon and corals, boat house with water activities and 24 hr personal butler service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel So Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel So Mauritius Bel Ombre Hotel Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing