We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden Eden on Mauritius”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel So Mauritius
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Garden Eden on Mauritius”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Flying for more than 9 hrs, I finally touched down on this remote island in the Indian Ocean to enjoy a week of relaxation and indulgence. Well, a personal buttler will ensure you'll get all what you asked for and even the more.... rooms are well equipped with the latest gadgetry Philipps and Bose has on offer, WLAN and wired Internet connection is available (and hey, for those who have been forbidden to bring anything electronic - the TV Set works as an Internet Screen, hihihi). A private outside shower in the back, with a second shower inside will allow you to skinny dip or just wash your hair without been seen from anybody. Through the wardrobe and next to the huge wash bassin comes the living & bedroom with a "your Bed concept", well truly I slept perfectly well... in the front garden is another sort of water splashing device, a whirlpool - unfortunately sometimes from lesser travelled and educated guests from a certain Middle Kingdom in Asia mistaken as a communal washing tub, so be aware, you could be woken up at 6 am by a rather loud and pestering Zhejiang dialect "old sista com over washing".... well, your buttler will arrange for the necessary (moving you into another remote room far from the cloth washing crowd. It was a quite fun experience, though I hope management will think twice as to which tourist group from China they would like to welcome as guests, as otherwise full-fare paying guests will certainly not frequent any longer.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the beach. It prevents you from continously waiting for the colf carts (c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldchina_tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Bonjour !

Thank you SO much for your feedback about your recent stay at SO Mauritius. We are SO pleased to read that you have appreciated the design of our villas and its modern and contemporary equipment. You are SO right at SO Mauritius you have 3 different ways to be connected to Internet even through your TV - great opportunity to browse your favorite websites on big TV screen using wireless keyboard in the comfort of your bed, and the best of all, it is complementary all over the resort as you experienced.

Our suites and villas provide guests with absolute privacy thanks to the unique architect decision of famous Tai architect Lek Bunnag enhanced by unique interior design by Kenzo Takada.

Our bed concept - My Bed - designed specifically for Sofitel Luxury hotels, we are very delighted to hear that you have enjoyed good night sleep at SO.

We apologize that you have been disturbed by the noise from neighbor suites in the morning. We are striving to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible, please advise us during your next stay about any challenge and we will certainly ensure you can fully enjoy your stay without any disturbance.

It will be great a pleasure for us to welcome you back for another wonderful experience !

Bastien Blanc,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    186
    75
    33
    19
See reviews for
237
676
25
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

was expecting a hotel like in Maldives, well actually Mauritius has far more activities to propose. the level of service of the hotel was good, and people nice. weather was ok but not as hot as i thought. hotel is very much modern, with design of kenzo. i like very much. great bed so i could sleep a lot. beach side very nice with little breeze so never too hot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Boris,

Добрый день !

Thank you SO much for your positive feedback about your recent stay at SO Mauritius. We are SO pleased to read that you appreciated good level of service and kindness of team - what is the core of Mauritian hospitality !

You are absolutely right, Mauritius has SO much to offer for its guests ! At SO Mauritius you can choose from more than 60 activities tailor made specially for you to discover the best of the Island.

We are very delighted that you liked the modern design of Kenzo Takada for the hotel. Our hotel looks very unique compare to other hotels on the Island, we are very proud to be different !
Our bed concept - My Bed - designed specifically for Sofitel Luxury hotels, incredibly comfortable that sometimes our guests prefer to stay a bit longer in their suites and villas in the morning :)

It will be great pleasure for us to welcome you back for another wonderful experience !

Have a great Holidays season ! Хороших Вам Новогодних праздников !

Bastien Blanc,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Fantastic Place and most great Experiance was the beach bar with molecular cocktails, butlers and attentive service. I feel myself like in heaven. Highly recommended to who is looking for quality time and service...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Bonjour !

We are SO delighted to know that you had such a great time with us .

SO Mauritius bar is the only one on the Island (we heard even one in Indian Ocean :)) where you can try unique Molecular cocktails. Our skilful Takamaka bar Ambassadors serves more than 9 varieties including the most exotic ones or you can even get your own cocktail based on your preferences named after the most valuable person for us, YOU.

Our SO Special butler team is indeed a treat, you truly can feel that everything is taken care of.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again for another Heaven time !

Have a great Holidays season !
Best regards,

Bastien Blanc

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

really fantastic vacation ! we wanted to relax and we found this new property. i came on tripadvisor to check the comments and was quite intrigued... now i am addicted !
now i know, that this butler has really nothing to do with the English version you can see in movies but he is a young guy dressed in white taking care of all. it is like having your personal concierge, always at your disposal, reflecting Mauritian hospitality.
food was excellent, but what made the difference was the staff. all very young, well trained and always willing to help.
many activities available which kept us busy on days we didn't want to laze around. I tried hand painting... they packed the frame and gave it to me the day before departure ! nice touch !
harry tried the tai chi, facing the ocean... i have never seen him so relax, even if he couldn't stand properly.
i also discovered the acupuncture at the spa (i had never tried), and tried the golden needles treatment which is to look younger... well i am convinced, just worried how often i will need to return to Mauritius to keep it up.... the acupuncture master is on the quiet side, he does a pulse check and is able to tell you everything you need to work on. really interesting.
to sum up, great location for a vacation on a relaxing side.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat85Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Bonjour !

We are SO happy to hear that you had an intense time among us. Our So special butler team is indeed the difference and key element for the most personalized service that you can’t find elsewhere.
All our ambassadors take pride in giving each guest the true Mauritian well known hospitality.

SO Mauritius is the only 5*Deluxe giving the opportunity to experience acupuncture on the Island. Our Master of Acupuncture has been studying Chinese medicine for more than 10 years and he is especially famous for performing acupuncture anti-ageing treatment, The Claret-Coquet Method.

All the treatments like you have experienced are based on nature just like our resort which is a jewel within a luxuriant garden. Every effort was made by our So Spa team to give you the most relaxing feeling as we know you deserve it.

We hope to see you soon for more intense emotions

Best regards,

Bastien Blanc

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Simply no words to describe it!
I was not sure about this new hotel and didnt want to be screwing up my vacation but my partner wanted to try... He was so right !
This hotel to start doesnt look at all like a hotel. I got lost few times in this garden, couldnt even find the reception... Fyi there is none !
All works smoothly through a personal butler assigned to you on arrival. Anything i needed, wanted, or didnt even know could make my holidays better, he made it happen. Reaz the butler manager was a jewel ! The spa team was also very professional and attentive. I think i will celebrate our next anniversary there too.
Definitely a place to stay to fully unwind and feel pampered.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaYS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Bonjour Madame, Bonjour Monsieur

Simply So Mauritius! We are a unique hotel and you made the right choice to visit us. Our major difference at So is to be fully integrated in the nature. Our gardens is indeed a beautiful set up for walks and discoveries, with over 200 species of endemic plants and flowers; all giving the feeling of a trip to Eden !

Our experienced and dedicated SO Special butler team makes all the difference through tailor made service that is designed especially to exceed guest expectations. The SO Spa team also ensures that you have the most relaxing time with us.

Looking forward to meeting you at your anniversary for another memorable stay

Bastien Blanc

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

recently returned from this very unusual, "garden". all villas are one storey with huge private garden, really luxurious on the contemporary side. if you are looking for the usual wooden structures this hotel is really not for you as there are barely any buidlings, the whole place is like a huge garden, and everything is white, very white. their butler service is quite unsettling to start with, though once you understand there is no reception, no concierge, but that the butler (or actually the couple of butlers) assigned to you make it all happen for you then you start enjoying the place and feel at ease or SO special as they say. i am used to starwood hotels but got directed to that french hotel by a friend of mine who had been few months ago, and i have to say i dont regret it. My butler kanem made the whole stay effortless. i played golf at the bel ombre golf club to which the hotel provided complimentary transfer, discovered the wild side of the island (the south being really peaceful) as well as accupuncture a specialty of their spa. definitely a place to try.

Room Tip: beach villa, are actually large suites right by the ocean, with very large private garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Bonjour Monsieur,

We are trilled to hear that after much thought you tried our resort and experienced a truly remarkable So Moment. SO Mauritius is indeed a place of peace and full relaxation. Our SO special butlers like kannen who took care of you make each moment an unforgetable one, ensuring a taylor made approach.

See you soon for more discoveries , activities and intense moments at So Mauritius!

Cordially,

Bastien Blanc

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Best experience ever! So relaxing with also many activities to do and amazing places to visit. The bed is hilarious, starting for the Kenzo designer colors, private garden, delicious breakfast with a dreamed view. Every single detail is perfect. So Spa is just unforgettable, enjoy the Butler bath in the Villa with private pool. Ask for a Seakart tour, tons of adrenaline. The management is always around to give you the best tips.Cocktails at the bar are unique and taste refined menu for dinner! Best fish for lunch at the beach. Whether you go in couple or with friends the So Mauritius is an awesome experience that I could never forget, I just love it!

Room Tip: The Villa with private pool is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mykrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Bonjour Madame, Bonjour Monsieur,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at So Mauritius! Glad you had a SO amazing time. I have to admit it is the first time we are being told about Hilarious bed and are more used to be told about the comfort of our MyBed concept, though we understand what you mean. Green touch can be surprising .

We thank you for all your positive feelings and will share it with our ambassadors who make all the difference !

We are So waiting for your next stay

Cordially,

Bastien Blanc
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
8.8 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,563 reviews
14.4 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
15.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Shanti Maurice - A Nira Resort
30.0 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,430 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tamassa
Tamassa
#1 of 6 in Bel Ombre
4,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel So Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel So Mauritius

Property: Sofitel So Mauritius
Address: Royal Road, Beau Champ, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 61008
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#5 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel So Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel So Mauritius Bel Ombre is located on the southern tip of the island in the most naturally beautiful place. The resort has 92 rooms, suites and villas, 2 restaurants, 2 bars, So Spa, So Fit. The resort also has a tennis court, kids club, outdoor swimming pool, 520 mts of beach, natural lagoon and corals, boat house with water activities and 24 hr personal butler service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel So Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel So Mauritius Bel Ombre Hotel Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing