We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel So Mauritius
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamassa Resort(Bel Ombre)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bubble Lodge(Bois Cheri)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,363)
Filter reviews
1,364 results
Traveler rating
985
234
87
37
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
985
234
87
37
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla plageoutdoor bathanne lisebeach villabuggy serviceprivate gardenspecial thankskids clubspa teamdirect access to the beachcustomer experiencehalf boardplunge poolhuge bedbreakfast and dinnerhead chefevery request
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
400 - 405 of 1,364 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Made to feel welcome right from the start. Was met at my room by my butler with a welcoming cocktail. Everyone remembered my name - very nice to be walking around the hotel and everyone says "Bonjour M. Hunter!" The best part was the complete service provided when booking excursions outside the hotel. Mauritius has SO many activities that the hotel can organize it is amazing. You can walk with lions, go quad biking and underwater scooter, even personalized trips to the surrounding villages. They even let me drive the golf carts!!(mode of transportation on the resort!!). Being a very active vacation, it was amazing to work out in the SO Fit facility with my personal trainer Jameel. He will work you hard enough to see results but not to hard to give up! Most of all, I appreciated that the sunny island nature was reflected in the disposition of EVERYONE who works at Sofitel SO Mauritius. Thank you to you all!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcazador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Bonjour Madame, Bonjour monsieur,

We are So Happy to hear from your excellent stay among us. Glad to read our dedicated team succeeded in giving you the best service as well as make you discover the best of local traditions. The island is full of extraordinary sceneries and a lot of activities can be practiced as you have mentioned, all your whims possible at the touch of your phone through your So special butler... Zero stress and zero worries, only pure relaxation and enjoyment …

Jameel, with his personalized training, is ready to get you to the next level, hence keep on exercising and the detox program will have been very successful !

See you soon !

Wishing you a SO intense week,

Bastien Blanc
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

we would like to thankall the staff foe a wonderful holiday,the suites where perfect every thing you could wish for,the staff that cleaned the suite were very polite and courtius and did an exellent job keeping the suits cleaned.
the pool and beach areas were kept imaculate,the staff around that area were als exellent,we would also like to thank micheal the chef for some wonderful mealswhich were very well presented and tasted wonderful.
we would also like to thank all the staff that served us breakfast and evening meal they were exceptional and they all gave 110%.
advise to go half board as no place to eat and drink out side the hotel,and when we went out for the day did not see many places to eat,you would need to hire a car for the time you are there so you can find places to eat,drinks are very expensive, but overall 110% out of 100, if you want piece and quite, holiday

Room Tip: we were in room 320 opposit the spa we were happy with our room and garden
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Bonjour Madame, Bonjour Monsieur

We are So happy to hear that you had a wonderful holiday at So Mauritius. Our team is indeed attentive and ensures that your stay is both relaxing and enjoyable.

The chef’s creations, a mix of Mauritian & European cuisines gives you the opportunity to experience moments of gastronomic richness in our beautiful restaurants.

We hope that you will come back soon for more good memories.

Warmest regards,

Bastien Blanc

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Incredible concept and design for a luxury hotel in Mauritius. One of a kind. Modern as luxury should be. Incomparable service with extreme attention to detail. Memorable experience and truly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lheddar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Bonjour Madame, Bonjour Monsieur,


Thank you for your valuable comments about your fantastic stay at the So Mauritius. At So, we are proud of the natural settings of our suites & villas designed by Lek Bunnag and decorated by Kenzo Takada, and the benefits of the private garden for an in-room outside shower.

The spa and restaurants are indeed so relaxing and enjoyable that you can only be So enchanted!

Thanks to our So Special Butler dedicated to your suites and villas, attention to detailed is key for us in order to ensure all your wishes came true. We are pleased to see that it has made your experience memorable.

We hope that this memorable stay with us will bring you back to our shores.

Warmest regards,

Bastien Blanc

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Being the low season, we had a ratio of 4 staff per guest, which gave us that pampering feeling someone needs after flying Air Mauritius. Forget the trendy look of the whole place (So Mauritius definitely the most elegant and classiest hotel on the South of the island, we've checked the others), what really made this hotel memorable will be the Chef; Michael Li has an incredible magical touch with his imaginative deconstruction food and profusion of exotic taste from all over the world; the rest of the restaurant staff were answering our every need and gave us the full 5 star service without being too stuffy. If you love being away from it all, in a personable boutique hotel, with fabulous food and are not too bothered about being on the best beach with thousands of other tourists, then we strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: it is a small hotel so all the rooms are in fact individual mini villas and have all their positive points
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NattyLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Bonjour Madame, Bonjour Monsieur,

We are so pleased to read you had a fabulous stay with us at So Mauritius. Thank you for taking your valuable time for sharing with us your stay.

The entire team is dedicated to ensure that our guests at SO Mauritius enjoy their stay and beneficiate from unique and unforgettable moments. Personalized service and relaxed atmosphere we strive to make each and every moments you spend at So Mauritius.


We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon to our southern natural setting, your perfect hideaway.

Warmest regards,

Bastien Blanc

Area Manager Indian Ocean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our initial booking at Sofitel So Mauritius was from June 27 - July 07. However, because we were so impressed due to everything that we experienced in the hotel that really exceeded all our expectations, we extended our stay two more nights up to July 09. Our rate was bed and breakfast which was quite reasonable. The breakfast is fantastic and served outdoor in a very nice environment overlooking the ocean and the endless pool. The rooms are nicely designed in a simple, modern and relaxing fashion. Each room has an access to the hotel's private beach. But what's extremely so exceptional is The Butler Team, we had our special butler "Riad" who added an additional dimension not only to our stay in the hotel but to the entire trip. The butler team's theme is "share your dreams with your butler" and we believe that "Riad" had made this true! All what we needed is to share our wishes with him at the beginning of every day and all our wishes turned to be true at the end of the day!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Khaled G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Bonjour Madame, Bonjour Monsieur,

We are pleased that your experience among us was really exceeding your expectations.

Having breakfast in your relaxed private garden or in Le Flamboyant overlooking the Indian Ocean is an amazing experience.

We are also happy that you appreciated the interior design. All our spacious suites and villas with their private garden have been decorated by Kenzo Takada giving you the comfort and relaxation you really look forward in our resort.

The entire team and specially the So butlers are dedicated to ensure that our guests at SO Mauritius enjoy their stay and beneficiate from unique and unforgettable moments.

Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon at SO Mauritius to share more of your dreams.

Warmest regards,

Bastien Blanc

Area Manager Indian Ocean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews