We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Nanyuki Town
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveler rating
84
40
2
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
84
40
2
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chilli prawns red snapper mt kenya local artists great place to chill beautiful view of mt the cottages place to stay home away from home comfortable rooms the main house the food is great ol pejeta nanyuki meals vincent bungalow
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 131 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2019

I was there for two nights and they were the best.
My check-in experience was somewhat subpar though. I assume because i checked in at 7pm and the reception staff had already finished their shift.
As i entered, i was unattended to until i went to the bar and that is when the barman checked me in and then directed me to the rooms whose path was poorly lit.

But overall my stay ended up better in the consequent days. The rest of the staff were super friendly, the waiters are very attentive and the service was fast and food delicious to say the least.
And Vincent, the hotel manager.... Oh my, he was the best. He was Super friendly, helpful and so pleasant to be around; Our banter never ended.

The hotel is also very beautiful with art & artefacts well displayed around the main hotel and the majestic view of Mt. Kenya was a sight to behold and wakeup to!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Krisprimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2019

We only went for lunch, but we were shown around and saw the cottages. The hotel is just idyllic with a lovely verandah that has a view of the mountain. The food and service was excellent. The art in and around the reception area is very interesting too.

Room tip: All rooms face Mt. Kenya
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Service
Thank _shivona_tavares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2019

We stayed a night at the Soames again this year after our Wildmedix Mountain Medicine trip on Mt Kenya with African Ascents. After nearly two weeks on the mountain camping it was such a good way to finish up the trip with comfy beds, hot showers, and great food at the Soames.

Somehow they always welcome us with a smile despite our arrival from the mountain in muddy boots and dirty hiking gear! This year we arrived a bit earlier and so were able to enjoy a delicious lunch and glass of wine while lounging in the sun enjoying the views of the mountain. Their restaurant is always good, and the bar service is excellent.

They kindly put aside a private room for our group for dinner in the evening so that we could give out awards and screen a short film we'd made. The dinner was a really good 3 course meal, and the bar staff kept us well stocked with white caps, wine and G&Ts!

Despite our early start the next morning the kitchen staff managed to make us all cappucinos and cooked breakfasts before the group headed back to the airport in Nairobi.

Thanks again to all the staff at the Soames for your hospitality and warm welcome. We look forward to coming back again next year!

Room tip: All rooms have lovely views out to Mt Kenya. A really peaceful spot to spend a few nights.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2019 via mobile

Close to Nanyuki town and airport. Very nice relaxed bijou hotel with fantastic view of Mount Kenya. Looking for off beat place to stay in peaceful surrounds look no further. Rooms tastefully decorated and comfortable. Food very good with great breakfasts. Cold tusker available! Say no more...
Enjoy

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank WWSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2019 via mobile


First there was no one at the reception when we arrived and we were referred to the barman for the check in. Unlike any other hotel in Kenya, no one helped us with the luggage, and the barman (and who seemed to be also the manager) gave us the keys with very rude manners.

At dinner time is when the worst began. First, we had pre-paid the dinner through the travel agency, and we had to discuss this three times until they confirmed it.

Second, we ordered two starters and two main dishes (for two people included in the prepaid menu) and it wasn't until they brought one of the mains that the waiter told us the other dish was not available... so we had to order a different one and wait for another 30min.

Third, the wine. We order a red wine. The waiter brought a sparkling wine (which we could easily tell by seeing the cork). But the waiter insisted to open it saying that it was not sparkling. We had to point to the label, where it clearly said it was sparkling... We decided to go to the bar to select the wine seeing the bottles, thinking this would make it easier... there the barman/manager recommended a wine that was not included in the menu, telling us the price was 25 USD (cheaper than other wines on the menu).

So the last but not least: the bill. After a way-too-long-dinner due to lengthy waiting times and poor service from all the staff at the restaurant, what is our surprise that the bill says the wine is priced 42 USD!! So we went to the barman/manager and argued this was not what he told us... After some rude answers from his side, he told us we could pay the 25 USD, and "he would pay the rest from his own pocket"... (thing that we surprisingly just saw in other reviews that this is their modus operandi). Obviously we wouldn't allow this, so we paid full price. But here we are, writing this bad review hoping the owner of the hotel makes some effort in finding well-prepared and polite staff.

To sum up, we have never felt so poorly treated and helpless in a hotel in our whole life.

Lastly, we attach some photos showing the poor status of the rooms.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Saulopablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipa B, Owner at Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2019

Many thanks for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to give us this feedback. I couldn't locate the photos that you mention, but would like to see them if possible. In the meantime I will look into the situation and get back to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews