We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,057)
Filter reviews
1,057 results
Traveler rating
705
288
51
6
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
705
288
51
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water hole watering hole front row morani wing game drives ol pejeta conservancy electric fence night safari chimp sanctuary drink water small pool bathroom area buffet style sweet waters animals coming luxury tents blind rhino
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,057 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at the camp from Amboseli in the afternoon where we stayed for only one day. It’s a well built camp inside the Ol Pejeta conservancy. There is a water hole facing the camp and the restaurant and lot of animals and birds come there. So we can see all types of animals including elephants, Zebras, Deers, Birds etc. from our tent itself.
If you want a night game safari, the camp will arrange that at 80 dollars per person. We went for the night drive and saw Cheetahs, Lions with cubs, Rhinos and various other animals. It’s a two hour trip and we selected from 9 pm to 11 pm. The food is really good. Even though my wife was vegetarian we didn’t find it difficult as there was a wide variety of food items including desserts & salads.
The camp is very neat and clean and also has hot water. Wifi is available in the tent also. The camp is providing anti mosquito swipes in the room and please ensure that you use that in the night as there is slight trouble with mosquitoes. They are providing good mosquito nets also so please keep the bed covered with it.

Date of stay: September 2019
1  Thank sureshsusanthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Unzip the flaps of your tent to look out onto a waterhole visited by elephants, zebras, rhinos, among others. There are animals wandering the grounds. Hot water showers with strong pressure. The internet ranges from excellent to decent, probably depending on how many people are around using it (it slowed to an unusable crawl around dinner, but was peppy enough for me during the day). Very friendly service. A+

Date of stay: September 2019
1  Thank Adrienne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is an ideal place to stay with a waterhole in just front of your room where elephants, zebras, gazelles & diff birds come to drink water. its just a small electric fence & ridge that separates you from them. Game drives in their conservancy and visit to see Rhinos is amazing.

Room tip: All rooms are located in front of Waterhole.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lubainacol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location of this camp is unbeatable. View from spacious Morani tent is amazing: elepants passing by at a few metres of distance, zebra's, buffalos,... you can almost touch them, yet all is very safe due to the wire that keeps them away from tents. We loved it and it would we our first choice to go back to.

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank Always_be_aware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, Manager at Sweetwaters Serena Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Jambo Greetings from Sweetwaters Serena Camp, We say thank you for taking your valuable time to review us on trip advisor.

We were grateful and happy that you had a great time with us in Sweetwaters Serena just some days gone and we long again in the near future to host you with your family and friends as well.

Thank you for staying with us.

Regards,

Gilbert Toroitich-Assistant Camp Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in Sweetwaters for four nights. It was marvelous to say the least. Each tent looks out on a waterhole, surrounded by a big Savannah. All kinds of animals come to the waterhole, and graze on the grass plains. First day there were two Rhinos grazing our in front of our tent.

Tents are used loosely here, as they are really luxurious bungalows with canvas walls. Conveniently, electricity and hot water was available around the clock.

The restaurant and main lodge are beautifully decorated, with an all glass front facing out towards the waterhole. Many times a big Malibu Stork staked out the front windows, looking in.

The food was wonderful, and I have to give a big THANK YOU to Harrison, our waiter at our table. He was truly first rate, and he was right there for anything we needed or wanted. A true Gentleman!

The game drives were so memorable. To see all the big magnificent Rhinos is worth the trip alone. Our driver was Sam, or so they said that was his name, as we couldn't remember his real name. He was a master at finding us hidden away Lions.

The chimpanzee refuge was a pleasure to visit.Thank goodness the chimps are safe and have a future.

We visited the black Rhino who is now blind from a fight with another Rhino. He is very tame, and we hand fed him. What a magical experience, to visit one that close up! How could anyone want to harm one of these magnificent animals?

The camp is surrounded by fine electric wires. But at night some of the antelope manage to jump it and you can find them around the tents. I loved that, as I adore seeing the wildlife up close and personal. Keeping a respectful distance of course!

I highly recommend Sweetwaters to anyone who wants sweet dreams of Africa!

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank OregonAngelwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, Manager at Sweetwaters Serena Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Jambo Greetings from Sweetwaters Serena Camp, We say thank you for taking your valuable time to review us on trip advisor in very detailed way.

We were grateful and privileged for your super comment phrased by your words ''LIKE AN AFRICAN DREAM COME TRUE'' and to host you in Sweetwaters Serena just some days gone and we long again in the near future to host you with your family and friends as well.

Thank you for staying with us.

Regards,

Gilbert Toroitich-Assistant Camp Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews