We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real nice hotel for enjoying both stay and wild life !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
261 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Real nice hotel for enjoying both stay and wild life !”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel is located right inside the park and with a water-pool which attracts wild-life. We could sight an Elephant, Giraffe, Zebra, Rhino- all with family etc. from restaurant of the hotel, Rooms are tented , large, well maintained with total privacy. You might have to take a walk to reach your room specially room no 45-51 etc. But it is quite acceptable. Wi-Fi is not available in the rooms and you need to be at the lobby and during our stay it didn't work for long hours even at the lobby. But wild-life and Wi-Fi may not go together !
Food is O.K. Service is excellent.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. But if walking is a problem ask for a room close to lobby/dining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Royadip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    188
    30
    1
    4
See reviews for
201
172
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
162 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

The Sweetwaters Serena Camp was an excellent stop on our Kenyan holiday. First of all the camp in located just across a waterhole where there is a constant flow of animals such as warthogs, zebras, gazelles, rhinos....
There are waterbucks freely moving with the camp which gives one a great feeling of being amongst the wild.
The park itself is small but we had a great night safari game drive wherein we saw 2 lionesses on a prowl and a lion and lioness up close.
The night safari is a must and highly recommended.
The vegetarian food was good
The chimpanzee and rhino sanctuary are strictly just ok. Nothing major
Please ask for the front tents whilst booking directly across the waterhole and not the tents on stilts at the back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DimpleAgrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

A very interesting set up. Nice tented rooms( some had been upgraded), not mine though. Rooms are cantered around a watering hole that the animals come to. In between you and the animals is a ditch with an electric fence in it. Not very effective at keeping out some animals, like the bushbuck that was sleeping beside my tent! Kind go get a strange sense that the animal movement is all staged (which of course it isn't) like a tv show. Kind of an unnatural feeling.

Tents were very clean and spacious, with ensuite bathroom. There was a very good variety of food in the dining room and excellent service. Got to see a herd of rhinos at the watering hole which you don't usually see at home while eating your dinner!

All in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iheartvacations34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My family and I enjoyed our stay very much. The staff are so courteous and cater to your every need regardless of how weird (for mother's travelling with toddlers you can relate) it is. Ol pejeta is ooh so beautiful!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saroya m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We got a little lost finding this place - and really that's the only negative thing I can say about it! Driving from Nairobi, the sign is on the right side of the road, and there are many signs for different hotels on both sides - something a bit bolder that stood out a bit more would be great, or clearer directions on the website about where to turn off the main road.

After reading reviews on here, I had already requested one of the newer tents (which did come at a higher cost), and it was completely worth it. Once inside you would never think you were in a tent - this is glamping at it's best! We got unpacked, asked for some Tuskers to be sent to the room, sat on our verandah, and watched an elephant wandering around. It was fabulous to not have to move. After doing the drive from Nairobi, our baby girl really didn't want to spend more time in the car driving round the park, and we didn't have to. We sat outside our tent the next morning and saw three rhino and three more elephants! Why bother moving?!

The camp provided us with a babysitter free of charge each evening so my husband and I could enjoy our dinner at a leisurely pace after our daughter had gone to bed. There was a great selection of food and the restaurant has a lovely glass wall so you can watch the animals at the waterhole whilst you eat. The staff were very accommodating and friendly towards our little girl.

We'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank migratingbird76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

If you've been to the Masai Mara then this would feel like a waste of money. The hotel and the tents are good. The food has ample choice for vegetarians. The Safari is nowhere close to the Masai Mara. A good choice if you have not been to the Masai Mara.

Room Tip: Opt for rooms facing the water hole. The rooms at the back have no view at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unbiasedreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed here on our second night in Kenya and it was our first experience in a "tented Camp." The tent was beautiful, we had a newly renovated tent and we were in pure luxury! We had a hot water bottle put in our beds at night and woke up to the sunrise in the morning. There was a great selection of delicious different foods during meal times and the staff used our names to greet us. We saw a number of different animals during our stay and the bush drives round Ol Pejeta were great! We loved the visit to the blind rhino called Barack who we fed and stroked, the Chimp sanctuary was very eye opening at the pure cruelty humans subject these creatures to! All in all it was a great camp and the game was great too! I would recommend this camp!

Room Tip: There are 2 sections to the camp. There is a section of rooms that are on ground level which have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigerlilly1199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
13.0 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
22.7 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 7 in Mount Kenya National Park
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Porini Rhino Camp
Porini Rhino Camp
#2 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
206 reviews
8.6 mi away
Lions Court Lodge
Lions Court Lodge
#16 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lewa Safari Camp
Lewa Safari Camp
#2 of 56 in Laikipia County
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetwaters Serena Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwaters Serena Camp

Property: Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Address: Central Kenya near Nanyuki, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Nanyuki Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sheltered oasis, clustered around a waterhole and set in the pristine calm of its own private reserve, Sweetwaters Tented Camp is in a class of its own. Abounding with wildlife, unfettered by the more rigorous strictures of the Kenyan National Parks and designed to offer a charming blend of under canvas ambiance and uncompromising luxury. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sweetwaters Tented Camp Hotel Nanyuki
Sweetwaters Serena Camp Kenya/Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing