We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why haven't I been here before?! Amazing family vacation.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanyuki Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here during the holidays. 3 different families; 11 people and 2 babies. Each of us loved this hotel, and we had an amazing time as a family.

The lobby is nicely laid out with the lounge area facing where the animals gather. The wifi didn't always work but it didn't really matter. The restaurant staff were great. The babies didn't sit still and each one of them was so friendly with the babies. They remembered their names and what they needed each time.

The rooms look like other tented camps I have been but I still loved them. They provide cribs for babies as well. Shower pressure was good. Water temp was good. Hot water bottles at night in the rooms were perfect. Fyi - no mosquito nets and there are a few mosquitoes. i was bit at night but not my husband.

The grounds were great for kids too. We had four plus the two babies. They had plenty of space to play ball and run around.

Wonderful view of Mt. Kenya. Great animal viewing. Pretty good food. Nice staff. I found this place to be a piece of heaven and I would love to return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imari96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
There are newer reviews for Sweetwaters Serena Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 598 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Sweetwater Tented Camp was simply amazing. We spent two days at this location including Christmas Eve! It was fantastic! truly a great experience. The variety of food for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner was superb. The tents were truly luxurious and very comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous. The wildlife viewing was amazing as wild animals would come to the watering hole right at the camp. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Get the tent on the second level.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

stayed here only for one night on 5 dec...wished we stayed there longer.

truly first-class resort all the way from the range of cuisine offered to personalized service offered by all from check-in to dining. The rooms were absolutely luxurious and you felt guilty not wanting to wake up early for any safari becoz everything was just so comfortable and snug.

sammy the junior waiter at the restaurant provided exceptional service throughout. we made sure the management knows about this :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eddie1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The Sweetwaters Tented Camp exceeds expectations. Each tent is arranged around a watering hole, where the wildlife come, day and night. When I say tent, forget thoughts of camping experiences and think luxury, each tent sits under a thatched shelter and has shower, toilet and very comfortable beds. The restaurant food is excellent and the service just wonderful. Well worth a few nights stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here in August 2013. It was very exciting to be on Ol Pejeta after watching "Ol Pejeta Diaries" on TV. We were greeted with fresh juice and warm towels to wipe the dust from our faces. The rooms were huge, clean and of high quality. We stayed in a "tent" facing the waterhole so we saw lots of animals. At night we could hear animal sounds quite clearly and even some creatures running between the tents all of which added to the excitement of the stay. We did a night safari but didn't see much (although the night before they'd seen lions killing a warthog). The walking safari was good, too. The staff couldn't do enough to help us.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a tent that faces the waterhole.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fidgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed for only 2 nights end of October 2013 enroute to our eclipse site. There were 30+ international travellers & we got a lovely tent for 2 facing the salt lick. You can just sit on your porch every evening with your sundowner and watch all the different types of animals pop by for a drink to! We had giraffes drinking, visits by a variety of birds from the ibis to the spendid starling to the crested cranes. There were also waterbucks and warthogs.....Very exciting - at your doorstep. Our tent was cosy and really comfy with mosquito nets and a thoughtful inside door zip to keep out the light and mossies from the bathroom area. Hot water was running, toilets were running, no problems at all. Meals were generally buffet style with a hot cooking station which was excellent. A nice fireplace at the bar which was warm and inviting.
A bit spooky walking down the path late at night cos you had the tree hyraxes screaming at you from every tree - probably the same hyrax following you around but they had staff patrolling who assured me that i was safe along the pathway. Although I did hear from someone that some waterbucks did manage to find their way across the ditch onto the premises.....Staff were helpful even though they ran out of umbrellas during the rainy arrival.....

Room Tip: Ask for the tents facing the salt lick - we felt safe enough but if you want to be above the ground...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayTee369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

i had always had of the place but never got to visit...took my lovely wife to book the place for my birthday and i was so jazzed. the place needs a four by for or a tour van to get to, we travelled with the latter but make sure its a 4WD coz wen it rains the terrain might be tricky for some cars..The camp lies at the centre of the 110,000-acre Ol Pejeta Conservancy, which lies on the Laikipia plains 17 kilometres from Nanyuki and 217 kilometres from Nairobi.....the road is tarmacked all the way until the last 10 or so kilometres where a murram road begins...... on arrival the reception was great and we were taken to our tent or should i say room which was beautiful as it offers a direct view of the watering hole.meals are served at the main tent though they were at the time building a bigger dining hall. we took a game drive in the evening and we were opleasant suprised to see all but the lion in the big five...i was so jazzed i saw a leop[ard during the game drive that i didnt really mind not seeing the lion. all in all the stay was amazing and would do it again for a longer period.

Room Tip: get the moran tents...they are more private and offer a home away from home feel.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiakaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
13.0 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
22.7 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 8 in Mount Kenya National Park
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
#1 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
80 reviews
8.6 mi away
Lions Court Lodge
Lions Court Lodge
#15 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
20 reviews
5.5 mi away
Kicheche Laikipia Camp
Kicheche Laikipia Camp
#4 of 56 in Laikipia County
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetwaters Serena Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwaters Serena Camp

Address: Central Kenya near Nanyuki, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Nanyuki Town
Price Range: $215 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sheltered oasis, clustered around a waterhole and set in the pristine calm of its own private reserve, Sweetwaters Tented Camp is in a class of its own. Abounding with wildlife, unfettered by the more rigorous strictures of the Kenyan National Parks and designed to offer a charming blend of under canvas ambiance and uncompromising luxury. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sweetwaters Tented Camp Hotel Nanyuki
Sweetwaters Serena Camp Kenya/Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing