We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic with views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Rustic with views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We spent one night at this camp. The tents are rustic, but comfortable. The highlight is a watering hole right outside the dining area, where animals come. The night we were there, a large herd of elephants came in to the hole. It was really a highlight of our 8 day safari trip.
The place is apparently pretty elevated, so nights can be quite cold. The camp puts some sort of hot container in the beds to provide some heat, since the tents are not heated at all.

Room Tip: Rooms near watering hole give good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edward19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    186
    30
    1
    4
See reviews for
197
172
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

The game watching here was enhanced by the waterhole, which was in full view of our tent. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the game drives fabulous. Couldn't wish for better. We would return to sweetwaters if we visit Kenya again and thoroughly recommend it. The tents are immaculate and the food very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The camp was very nice and it had a less touristy feel to it than other such camps, which was great. The adjacent waterhole harbored many interesting species such as warthogs, gazelle, zebras and black buck. The night game drives offered were also great and I highly recommend them, although it is hit or miss in regards to what animals you see, in my case I saw 8 lions and a leopard! The tents were very spacious and just in general the place was easily my favourite accommodation during my trip to Kenya.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zamalek123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I've stayed at Sweetwaters many times and always loved the place. This trip was no exception. I didn't think they could get better but the new lodges and dining/bar area are superb. Service was excellent and food really very good. Add in the amazing wildlife at the watering hole and you really couldn't get a better safari experience.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new lodges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khiva2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Sweetwaters Tented Camp was a wondrous place and we enjoyed every monet of our stay there. The wildlife roaming around the conservancy made each moment very special - we would walk to the lounge or restaurant and always be met by grazing animals, elephants and even rhinos! It was truly magical. The Sweetwaters tented camp is on a conservancy where wildlife is protected and still able to live freely in vast territory. We were lucky to see many animals there and even to feed a rhino by hand! We also visited the chimpanzee sanctuary which was truly wonderful - despite the electric fence. We highly recommend these accommodations and salute the good work of all those in Kenya who are working to preserve and restore the wildlife in Kenya.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dutcherin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
367 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed 1 night in one of the new tents which was very comfortable.
The food was probably the best selection & quality of all the safari accomodations we visited.
Reception was friendly, efficient & most helpful.
Somebody else mentioned the gift shop. We found the prices more than competitive.
I was not very impressed by the chimp conservatory but accept that it has a function. The rino conservatory provided us with a good guide who was a wealth of information. Our grand daughters loved hand feeding the enormous rino.
Overall the safari here was not in the same class as Samburo or Masi Mara but we enjoyed the overall experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in one of the luxury tents recently added at Sweetwaters for two nights. It was spacious and very comfortable. Very. Hot shower with great pressure. Good wifi.
The private deck made for very relaxing wildlife viewing in the evening - what a great place for a sundowner! Rhinos, eles, giraffes and many others right in front of our tent. Meals in the dining hall were enjoyable and the buffet had plenty of vegetarian options. The chef walked us through the first night to show us which items contained dairy and prepared a special boxed lunch for us both days. Table service was great, as usual for a Serena property.

Room Tip: Opt for one of the new luxury tents that they have offered to make your stay even more comfortable a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
13.0 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
22.7 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 9 in Mount Kenya National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Porini Rhino Camp
Porini Rhino Camp
#2 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
11.3 mi away
Lions Court Lodge
Lions Court Lodge
#16 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
9.0 mi away
Laikipia Wilderness Camp
Laikipia Wilderness Camp
#6 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetwaters Serena Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwaters Serena Camp

Property: Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Address: Central Kenya near Nanyuki, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Nanyuki Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sheltered oasis, clustered around a waterhole and set in the pristine calm of its own private reserve, Sweetwaters Tented Camp is in a class of its own. Abounding with wildlife, unfettered by the more rigorous strictures of the Kenyan National Parks and designed to offer a charming blend of under canvas ambiance and uncompromising luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Sweetwaters Serena Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwaters Tented Camp Hotel Nanyuki
Sweetwaters Serena Camp Kenya/Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing