We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rhinos right across the bank from our tent!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanyuki Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Sweetwaters Tented Camp was a wondrous place and we enjoyed every monet of our stay there. The wildlife roaming around the conservancy made each moment very special - we would walk to the lounge or restaurant and always be met by grazing animals, elephants and even rhinos! It was truly magical. The Sweetwaters tented camp is on a conservancy where wildlife is protected and still able to live freely in vast territory. We were lucky to see many animals there and even to feed a rhino by hand! We also visited the chimpanzee sanctuary which was truly wonderful - despite the electric fence. We highly recommend these accommodations and salute the good work of all those in Kenya who are working to preserve and restore the wildlife in Kenya.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dutcherin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
There are newer reviews for Sweetwaters Serena Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 598 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed 1 night in one of the new tents which was very comfortable.
The food was probably the best selection & quality of all the safari accomodations we visited.
Reception was friendly, efficient & most helpful.
Somebody else mentioned the gift shop. We found the prices more than competitive.
I was not very impressed by the chimp conservatory but accept that it has a function. The rino conservatory provided us with a good guide who was a wealth of information. Our grand daughters loved hand feeding the enormous rino.
Overall the safari here was not in the same class as Samburo or Masi Mara but we enjoyed the overall experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in one of the luxury tents recently added at Sweetwaters for two nights. It was spacious and very comfortable. Very. Hot shower with great pressure. Good wifi.
The private deck made for very relaxing wildlife viewing in the evening - what a great place for a sundowner! Rhinos, eles, giraffes and many others right in front of our tent. Meals in the dining hall were enjoyable and the buffet had plenty of vegetarian options. The chef walked us through the first night to show us which items contained dairy and prepared a special boxed lunch for us both days. Table service was great, as usual for a Serena property.

Room Tip: Opt for one of the new luxury tents that they have offered to make your stay even more comfortable a...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkeymaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Service and the food was okay. The location was really nice, and there were quite a few conservatories there. The one for Chimpanzees and Rhinos were both good. Even though the temperature was not too cold, the staff did a lot of measures to help keep us warm.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buckeyebrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Just about four hours drive out of Nairobi makes Ol Pejeta Sweetwaters Tented Camp a great Getaway destination out of Nairobi. We were able to relax and enjoy the tent camp life while on Safari at both Governors' Camp and Sweetwaters Tented Camp. The game drives out of Governors' Camp at the Masai Mara were superior to the game drives out of Sweetwaters but in both settings, we were able to see the Big Five and much much more. Accommodations at Sweetwaters were excellent. Food was outstanding and service was first rate. Sitting outside of the tents or in the lounge in front of a water hole watching the animals was very relaxing. Every afternoon and evening before dinner, we'd sit out watch and sip on an ice cold Tusker. Life couldn't be better. If this was your only exposure to a Kenyan Safari, you'd be happy. There's more to see but at Sweetwaters, you get to see a lot. We saw lions chasing a warthog, devouring a kill and baby sitting cubs. We saw elephants, rhinos, bucks, antelope, gazelles, and much more.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is our third stay at Sweetwaters/Ole Pejeta. It was not a disappointment the previous two and with a front row tent overlooking a plethora of wildlife,it is not again. The food is more than adequate; the service has always been excellent; and the game drives are never a disappointment. The Chimp Sanctuary is close by; and there are many activities for those who want to stay close to the resort.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

nice place ! sit in front of water hole and enjoy the animals come to you.

watch out for hot water.....it is actually....just a bit warmer than the body temp. I mean, it is not chilli, but not hot either. Hot water bottle is really a life saver !!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 33kvfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
13.0 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
22.7 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 8 in Mount Kenya National Park
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
#1 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
80 reviews
5.5 mi away
Kicheche Laikipia Camp
Kicheche Laikipia Camp
#5 of 56 in Laikipia County
237 reviews
8.6 mi away
Lions Court Lodge
Lions Court Lodge
#15 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetwaters Serena Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwaters Serena Camp

Address: Central Kenya near Nanyuki, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Nanyuki Town
Price Range: $215 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sheltered oasis, clustered around a waterhole and set in the pristine calm of its own private reserve, Sweetwaters Tented Camp is in a class of its own. Abounding with wildlife, unfettered by the more rigorous strictures of the Kenyan National Parks and designed to offer a charming blend of under canvas ambiance and uncompromising luxury. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sweetwaters Tented Camp Hotel Nanyuki
Sweetwaters Serena Camp Kenya/Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing