We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic safari property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Western North Carolina
Level Contributor
146 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fantastic safari property”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our second visit to Sweetwaters, but first in the tented camp. Eight years ago, we stayed in the big Kashogi mansion also on the property. Tenting is a great adventure. The rooms were spacious, well lighted. The bath facilities were very nice. Lots of space to put luggage and other travel parcels. We had a front row seat at the waterhole and spectacular sunrise. Food was excellent as was the reception and bar experience. Serena has recently taken over and remodeled many of the facilities and their attention to detail is evident. We took advantage of the night game drive ( even if it is freezing cold) which many of the public preserves will not allow. They provided warm, woolen blankets and when we returned, our beds had a hot water bottle.

Room Tip: Ask for a front row seat at the water hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    187
    30
    1
    4
See reviews for
200
172
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We drove up to Serena Sweetwaters Tented Camp at Ol Pajeta Conservancy for an overnight getaway from Nairobi. What a lovely destination it was! We stayed in the new Moriani tents which were quite luxurious with private verandas overlooking a watering hole where one can sit back in safari chairs to watch giraffes, antelopes and the occasional elephant come to drink. The tents are huge and furnished in British colonial style with en suite bathrooms of tile and porcelain. The older tents have more a camping feel and less luxury, but the front row of older tents also have verandas that overlook the watering hole and the older tents in the second row are elevated to give you a fine view from each of their private balconies.

We went on a night time game drive and saw four lions stalking a herd of antelope a very short distance from our tent. We also saw jackals, hyenas, elephant and a Serval, one of Kenya's small cats.

After the game drive we had dinner and drinks in the tented bar and the tented restaurant. On our way back to our sleeping tent we found a herd of waterbuck blocking the path. No worries, they were easy to shoo away and they had no problem jumping the electric fence!

The next day we visited Jane Goodall's Sweetwaters Chimpanzee Sanctuary and the Sweetwaters Rhino Sanctuary, both located nearby within the conservancy.

Room Tip: Ask for a tent beside the watering hole. All of the tents in the new Moriani section are right by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlynTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and another couple stayed at Sweetwaters Tented Camp at Sweetwaters Game Reserve. We spent two wonderful day at the camp . Our tents faced a water hole where tons of animals came to get a drink including a Rhino, Thomson gazelle , warthogs, Impala just to name a few. There is a electric fence between you and the water hole but it isn't something that ruins the view. The room was just plan beautiful with a great bathroom. We had a nice patio on which I saw a Honey Badger crossing one night when I happened to wake up around 2:00 a.m.. All our meals were at the restaurant which really reminded me of animal kingdom hotel in Disney world. The meals were all buffet style with plenty to choose from. The gift shop their had the best prices of any of the placed we stayed and the best selection of items .I would stay again given the chance it wasn,t just vey good it was very very good!.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bianca1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2013

One of three tented camps we visited in Kenya. Outstanding food and service. Accommodations were very clean and comfortable. The hot water bags in our beds at night were GREAT!
The watering hole and view of Mt. Kenya at sunrise added to the magic of this destination. We would recommend this very highly!

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the watering hole for best views of wildlife (but the common areas, bar, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KermitTFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
112 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The check in and out were good, The rooms provided were a good walk from the reception and you could see the exhaustion on the faces of the porters. The rooms are really large and spacious and very well appointed. Since this is a tented camp, it can get very chilly at night, but the hot water bags provided during the turndown service do a good job of keeping you warm. Decent choice of food for vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiddharthVasudevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Four years ago we visited Sweetwaters and decided to return based on its unique characteristics and great staff. The camp was under renovations but we thoroughly enjoyed our meals in the tent and felt the service was great too. The accommodations are nice, clean and comfortable. They have option for night safari which we did again though it was not as exciting as the first time but then the cooler weather was probably a factor in that. We saw the Big 5 while there including a lion kill! We got up close and personal with a blind Rhino as well as seeing a mother and baby in the wild. Our wild life experience was fabulous!

Room Tip: If you are looking for something a bit nicer, they are currently building new tents that look great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This property being last destination before departing Kenya, was great and unique. The cottages have no doors or lock rather having just zips. Temperature falls significantly in the evening and the hot water bag provided inside the bedding was very helpful. Vegetarian food was very good and had Dosa for the breakfast (something unthinkable in Kenya safari holidays). Very helpful staff, chef. The view was great with water stream outside the tent and animals including Rhinos just away from the water stream. Great experience for all of us in the group.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerADBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
13.0 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
22.7 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 8 in Mount Kenya National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Porini Rhino Camp
Porini Rhino Camp
#2 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
8.6 mi away
Lions Court Lodge
Lions Court Lodge
#16 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lewa Safari Camp
Lewa Safari Camp
#2 of 57 in Laikipia County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetwaters Serena Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwaters Serena Camp

Property: Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Address: Central Kenya near Nanyuki, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Nanyuki Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sheltered oasis, clustered around a waterhole and set in the pristine calm of its own private reserve, Sweetwaters Tented Camp is in a class of its own. Abounding with wildlife, unfettered by the more rigorous strictures of the Kenyan National Parks and designed to offer a charming blend of under canvas ambiance and uncompromising luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Sweetwaters Serena Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwaters Tented Camp Hotel Nanyuki
Sweetwaters Serena Camp Kenya/Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing