We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A peaceful oasis among animals” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sweetwaters Serena Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A peaceful oasis among animals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

This camp was amazing. The food was gourmet. Watching animals come to the watering hole right by the 24 hour lounge. The tents were lovely (I especially loved the hot water bottle in my bed at night). I wish I had more time here to appreciate the animals and conservancy. Be sure to visit the Chimpanzee and Rhino Sanctuaries.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    185
    29
    1
    4
See reviews for
196
172
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in July 2013. We got upgraded to one of the new tents in front of the waterhole. The tent is beautiful and it is also a plus to be near the waterhole because you can see different animals such as giraffe, warthogs, antelope, zebras, etc.

At night, don't be surprised of animals jumping over the "barrier", it is fun to watch them from your tent!

The food was plentiful with a large variety of foods for all three meals. We are vegetarians and we did not go hungry. My favorite dinner was an eggplant dish that was out of this world!

WiFi was great. We were able to get it in our tent but it is best in the lobby. The connection is much better here.

As other said, this is a private reserve, so you will see a lot of animals. It is a different experience because it is enclosed, although it is very large.

Go the the chimpanzee sanctuary!

Room Tip: The new rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adriana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

For those who are strapped for time and would like to view the big five, Sweetwaters Tented camp in the Ol Pejeta conservatory is the place to visit. Located conveniently about 250 kms from Nairobi; Ol Pajeta is spread across 90,000 acres of pristine land. One can find the big five here, though leopard sightings are very rare and difficult.
The tented camp is luxurious. the staff are very efficient and caring. On the way to the camp we decided to go around the conservatory before we check in. Unfortunately, our safari van had a flat and to compound the agony, the jack would not work. we had just arrived that morning after a night flight from Mumbai and were quite tired and hungry. Finally, we managed to reach the camp at about 2.30 pm; tired and hungry; expecting lunch to be over by then. we were pleasantly surprised to see lunch laid out and the staff ensuring that our vegetarian requirements were met.
The highlight of this conservatory is supposed to the "ark" from where one could view the animals coming in to drink water at the water hole situated alongside. However, we were quite disappointed with the ark- for two reasons: one, it was foggy in the night and hence we could not view any animals after 9 pm and secondly- this was the main reason for our disappointment- the ark was over loaded with people from a big group. They were very noisy, had scampering and yelling children ( the ark is supposed to be off limits for children under 7 years. Wonder what happened?) and we were quite annoyed along with the elephants and buffalo.
All in all, this conservatory is a must see for people who are strapped for time.

Room Tip: In the ark ask for rooms near the watering hole. There are four floors and all have viewing windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank earthian2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
287 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Firstly on the tent itself, nice and comfortable. Right in front of the water hole. We saw a big group of Impala on our day of arrive at noon, a lot of wrathog. We also saw a giraffe drinking water. At one night, we saw two White Rhion, monther and baby; and also a group of waterbuck who jumped over the fence and entered the camp site then run away at the other side. Also a lot of different birds around here. The bed is comfortable. It has 24/7 electricity and water supply, which is a sigficiant advantage over other camp site, and the water supply is running water meanign you can take your shower anytime in the day without being restrainted by the timing of the bucket shower or safari shower whatever you name them as in ohter camps. However the water pressure is still weak here and you have to bear with it.

Food served in the restaurant, no matter for breakfast, lunch or dinner are very similar from meal to meal with average food only. Don't expect too much in this aspects.

Game drive was great as it is a private reserve, you have a high chance of seeing all animals. They also do night safari (which is something only the private reserve can do nowadays) and you can see lion hunting during the night if you are lucky.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HKA_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed here with a GAdventures safari and it was the best hotel on our itinerary. The tented cabins were amazing, the food was delectable, the staff was friendly and the gift shop was great too. The watering hole was a huge attraction and it was great to sit and watch the animals come close to the outdoor living room. I would definitely recommend staying here, it was a real treat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hounslow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our 1st night on a Kenya Safari in June 2013. After crossing the centre of the earth, EQUATOR, the drive into Ol Pajeta is extremely scenic, with Mt. Kenya always in the background. Ol Pajeta, being one of Kenya's premier wildlife conservancy is also home to Serena Sweetwaters Tented Camp, one of Serena's top hotels worldwide. We loved to see a huge variety of wildlife at the camp's watering hole (salt lick), as soon as we arrived, including a white rhino. The tents are very cleverly built on platforms with excellent gardens & breath taking views. The whole camp is very clean & well maintained, with all lawns nicely trimmed. THE NIGHT SAFARI HERE IS A MUST for everyone. You get a KWS Ranger accompanying you on a NIGHT GAME DRIVE with an infra red search light! You get a chance to see the wildlife in their own habitat at Night! Awesome! The welcome drink is a nice touch - specially when you have a couple of Reticulated Giraffes also having a drink at the watering hole!

Room Tip: No special tips required. All rooms are well positioned & clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KaribuniSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

What an amazing experience this was. I stayed in one of the "tents" on the water front with my 3 year old son. It was truly spectacular within 2 hours of arriving 5 white rhino we're drinking at the watering hole! The wildlife you can see here is breathtaking, giraffe, lions, rhino (black and white), zebra, antelope, bats, birds, owls............. the list goes on and on! The accommodation is very comfortable. I've done a lot of camping and believe me this is nothing like staying in a tent, more like a tidy hotel room. Dinner starts at 7 but the staff were extremely helpful and they suggested we bring our son at 6 so he could go to bed at his usual bed time. On the subject of food I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by the quality and QUANTITY, there was so much to choose from (unfortunately for my waist that included several puddings).

We are going again over Christmas and we are truly looking forward to it. I wholly recommend Sweetwaters.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickytom82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
13.0 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
22.8 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 9 in Mount Kenya National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Lions Court Lodge
Lions Court Lodge
#16 of 35 in Nanyuki Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
13.1 mi away
Porini Rhino Camp
Porini Rhino Camp
#2 of 35 in Nanyuki Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
9.0 mi away
Laikipia Wilderness Camp
Laikipia Wilderness Camp
#6 of 35 in Nanyuki Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetwaters Serena Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwaters Serena Camp

Property: Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Address: Central Kenya near Nanyuki, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Nanyuki Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sheltered oasis, clustered around a waterhole and set in the pristine calm of its own private reserve, Sweetwaters Tented Camp is in a class of its own. Abounding with wildlife, unfettered by the more rigorous strictures of the Kenyan National Parks and designed to offer a charming blend of under canvas ambiance and uncompromising luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Sweetwaters Serena Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwaters Tented Camp Hotel Nanyuki
Sweetwaters Serena Camp Kenya/Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing