We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanyuki Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

The tent itself was really unique and luxurious with all the "Essential " mod cons (bathroom, phone chargers , lights) but you are close enough to nature that you regularly see elephants, rhinos, giraffes right outside your tent. The only issue was the food which I would have expected to be a better standard for a Serena run lodge. I presume the standard was a bit lower than what I expected as it was Easter and also the dining hall was being refurbished

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjdlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    191
    30
    1
    4
See reviews for
204
175
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We did stay here 2 nights with our 2 children , this during our safari trip with Africa Veterans Safaris. The location is really great and the set-up with all the tents ( incl. Restaurant, shop, reception and bar ) close to the watering hole...visited by numerous animals :-)
Buffets and general service were at the expected level and the game drives were very nice!
Every day we received some rain showers .. what is typical for the season. We slept in the second line tents and during the first night it was difficult to sleep... Because our closest neighbour ..a very active tree hyrax decided to sing some of his crazy songs ..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jswinnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Went during the Easter weekend with some friends and enjoyed the location very much. Nevertheless, it was too busy in the public areas, i.e., bar and restaurant during this period. It was even so bad that we avoided this places as much as possible. The tents, although we had old ones, were average but fine and added to the experience of being in the middle of the Sweetwaters park, which had excellent game driving.
We had the impression that they recently added some extra tents in the past but did not enlarge the public area which is sad, because a bar at the drinking pool should be a place to relax and not a children's playground.
When we booked for a night game drive, we were promised to get night vision binoculars. Unfortunately, we left with none and ended up, after complaining, with two for four people. Staff was very helpful although the receptionists could use some training.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koends12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Breakfasts were greAt but rest of the meals were average with very limited choice for vegetarians. Location is brilliant though and good game too. We stayed in the old rooms which were average. Bed sheets had a few stains. Heard that the tents in the new wing are much better. Would go again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neelmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, B.C.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Sweetwaters is a beautiful property with tents (think way upscale tenting!) strategically placed opposite the watering hole. As we sat reviewing photos in front of our tent, 3 rhinos came to visit the hole and stayed for a good hour. What an exciting experience. Numerous antelope, wart hogs and storks added to the fun.

Everything here, food, rooms, hot water bottles, landscaping, is well done. The only slight disappointment was a less than thrilling night drive, but, as we realize, wildlife cannot be ordered!

Room Tip: Ask for Tents 1-10 which are directly beside the watering hole, rather than a row behind. We had Te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinallyTimeToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were here on our honeymoon and this was the final camp we visited during our 5 day safari. We fell instantly in love with the camp! This is not your usual tented camp experience, with a rigidly bound periphery. This camp is bound on all but one important side, and this side opens right up to the plains of the Ol Pejeta Conservancy! From the patio of your tent, you can look out to see gazelle, waterbucks and zebras grazing. At nightfall these same animals leap across the ditch separating the wilderness from the camp and continue grazing peacefully by the tents. We were surprised to see this, in spite of the staff assuring us animals won't be able to make the leap. However, this only enhanced our experience and made it all the more memorable!

The camp is situated close to the Conservancy gates and is very well maintained. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. We were pleasantly surprised to receive a complimentary wine bottle! A special mention about the food and restaurant ambiance. Plenty of cuisine options were available and Indian travelers who cannot get enough of Indian food, worry not! You'll be sufficiently satisfied with the array of Indian dishes on offer.

The tent itself is minimal and cosy. The hotwater bottles provided in the late evenings served to keep the bed cosy and comfortable through the cold night. The camp is very eco-friendly and promotes energy conservation through minimal lighting and plug points.

The Conservancy offers a wholesome game experience. The highlight of our trip, in fact in our very last game drive in Kenya, we got to see a Cheetah attempt to hunt down a baby Zebra. The majesty of seeing over 200 zebra and gazelle flee on seeing the run of the Cheetah was exhilarating and was a fitting end to a fantastic honeymoon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was here the middle of February for two nights. I was with a travel group so I only did one night game drive through sweetwater. I did have two days og game drives with my group and the park this hotel is on has alot of animals especially rhinos both white and black. The rooms are very nice, semi rustic but with granite bathrooms. This seems a popular place for tourists. The food is all buffet except lunch and dinner come with a soup you order and then you do buffet. The staff was very accommodating but the reception desk employees could use some training and struggled with large groups. It can be chilly at night and while you are at dinner someone comes and provides turn down service by which they put a hot water bottle in your bed to keep it warm - very nice surprise! The watering hole here is pretty spectacular and has lots of animals ranging from warthogs, zebras, impalas, water bucks, elephants and cape buffalo. They also have a nice pool. One work of caution - some of the animals do jump the fence at night and are in the camp but don't worry they won't bother you.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the watering hole although the property goes all around in a circle so animal spo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravels64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
13.0 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
22.7 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#2 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
298 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 8 in Mount Kenya National Park
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lewa Safari Camp
Lewa Safari Camp
#2 of 56 in Laikipia County
226 reviews
10.2 mi away
Le Rustique
Le Rustique
#5 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
5 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Ark Lodge
The Ark Lodge
#2 of 15 in Nyeri
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetwaters Serena Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwaters Serena Camp

Property: Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Address: Central Kenya near Nanyuki, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Nanyuki Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sheltered oasis, clustered around a waterhole and set in the pristine calm of its own private reserve, Sweetwaters Tented Camp is in a class of its own. Abounding with wildlife, unfettered by the more rigorous strictures of the Kenyan National Parks and designed to offer a charming blend of under canvas ambiance and uncompromising luxury. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sweetwaters Tented Camp Hotel Nanyuki
Sweetwaters Serena Camp Kenya/Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing