We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family visit”
Review of Mukima House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mukima House
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family visit”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Our 3 day getaway was just too perfect for words. Our vegetarian family of 12 were catered for and pampered through and through. It's a beautiful place to visit and the staff is just too amazing. They did not mind our taking over the kitchen for certain dishes which they were only too willing to learn. We would recommend it as a 5 star place for anyone who wants to visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwatiMalde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MukimaHouse, Public Relations Manager at Mukima House, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Mukima House. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, and we are delighted to hear that our chefs are expanding their skills, it is something we are always keen for!

We hope to welcome you again soon for another wonderful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

This place is serene with Quite surrounding, nice accommodation,I slept like a Dush***, the placeis wow,I highly recommend it.
The double-storey house, set in vivid tropical flowerbeds with expansive lawns, features seven en-suite bedrooms, a games room, house office with a broadband satellite connection, a large kitchen with store room and laundry room, a cloakroom, drawing room, dining room, a generous entrance hall, and an upstairs gallery.
Cheers.

Room Tip: The double-storey house-Luxury Room by the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mwarango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MukimaHouse, Public Relations Manager at Mukima House, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we are so happy you enjoyed yourself at Mukima House; we hope to welcome you to us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is a really great place to stay - a beautiful location and house with access to all the top game and mountain locations as well as being near to Nanyuki town for shopping and access to good shopping , bank and health facilities if needed.
Very good food and kind support from discreet staff who really are there to help but not intrude in any way
Lovely walks and good bird watching with some game on the small conservancy

Room Tip: Rooms at front give spectacular views of Mount Kenya early in the morning especially
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MukimaHouse, Public Relations Manager at Mukima House, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful response, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Mukima House - we agree the bird watching is amazing! We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This house is a fantastic place to go for a weekend or more with friends or family or to hold an event.

When you book the place, your group gets the entire house, and it is staffed and catered and everything is taken care of. The staff were superb and made the stay both relaxing and enjoyable. A special mention of Elizabeth, who was our main interface to the staff - she was friendly and professional and ensured we never lacked anything and our requests were handled quickly and even out of the ordinary requests were handled without issue. She knew everyone's names within the first few minutes, and we were made to feel at home by all the staff. We had a vegan with us, and the chef and staff did not miss a beat to ensure these special needs were handled in satisfactory and tasty way.

You can bring your own wine with no "corkage" fee, and the extras such as drinks and massages are charged at extremely reasonable rates (most reasonable we've seen in Kenya).

Everything was easy, from the booking and payment, to the stay and activities. One of the best places in Kenya to go as a group. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are great - choose based on whether you want a big tub or a shower... but since the whole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven_Rosalind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MukimaHouse, Public Relations Manager at Mukima House, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review of Mukima House, we are so glad you had a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had such a wonderful time at Mukima House. The staff were very warm and friendly and also very helpful. The house itself is beautiful and the rooms are spacious and comfortable with the most incredible views. The food was also delicious and we really enjoyed every aspect of our trip. It is a great place to take children and an amazing experience for them. I highly recommend it and thank you to all the staff that looked after us!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MukimaHouse, Public Relations Manager at Mukima House, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review of Mukima House - we agree, it is a great place for kids as there are so many activities to be done! We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
2 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Staying at Mukima House is like living in a very large beautiful private home, with spacious rooms in a very special setting
There is an incrediable staff, discrete and efficent, friendly and with a top kitchen.
The bedrooms are charming with amazing large comfortable beds and bathrooms.
All rooms have windows bringing in light and views of the open planned gardens filled with bird life and magnificent views of Mount Kenya.
The food available is fresh, locally prduced and a kaleidoscope of choice. Breakfast is just the best.
The pool, the sauna, the walks, runs, horse riding, game viewing, table tennis provide enough activity for a lifetime.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful, and there is a choice at ground level for those who do not want to cope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MukimaHouse, Public Relations Manager at Mukima House, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind and wonderful review of your stay at Mukima House, we are so glad you enjoyed yourself so much - it sounds like you had a wonderful time! We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

When we arrived the staff was waiting to greet us and assisted us with all our needs. The rooms were large and very comfortable, a number of rooms had picture perfect views of Mt. Kenya. The meals were delicious and the chef catered to my various food allergies, without compromising on variety and quality. The management was very helpful, and requests were handled immediately. I would recommend this place to anyone without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveAtheni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MukimaHouse, Public Relations Manager at Mukima House, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of Mukima House, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
8.1 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
4.4 mi away
Le Rustique
Le Rustique
#5 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
2 reviews
22.0 mi away
Porini Rhino Camp
Porini Rhino Camp
#2 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kirimara Springs Hotel
Kirimara Springs Hotel
#9 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
16 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sere Enkang House
Sere Enkang House
#7 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
19 reviews
10.6 mi away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 7 in Mount Kenya National Park
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mukima House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mukima House

Property: Mukima House
Address: Mukima Ridge, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality 215-00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Nanyuki Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mukima house was built on a grand scale in the 40's and has been recently rebuilt and refurbished. Handmade cedar floors, cedar windows and some immense cedar beams make this house one of Kenya's most exceptional surviving examples of a past era. Here you can unpack your bags and spend your holiday relaxing in the luxury and privacy of your own magnificent home, visiting the many local parks and amenities as and when you please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mukima House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mukima House Kenya/Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing