We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morani burger, please.”

Morani's Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 27 Restaurants in Nanyuki Town
Price range: $7 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Service a little slow if it's busy, but decent drinks and a tasty burger in a really nice, remote location.

1  Thank OdysseanTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair M, Manager at Morani's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time share your experience at Morani's. Our Morani burger is a firm favourite of all who taste it! We agree with your sentiment that our location, with views of Ol Pejeta's plains, Mt. Kenya and the Aberdare range, is spectacular.

We apologise for the slightly slower service you received when you visited. The team at Morani's strives to provide excellent, personalised service at all times, and we regret that we fell below the high standards we set ourselves when you dined with us. I hope that we can exceed your expectations the next time you visit!

Thanks again for your generous review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Morani's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 52 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

While visiting ol pejeta a safari park outside nanyuki in kenya i had lunch at morani's restaurant. The staff were really friendly from the outset greeting me on arrival and helping me to find my table. The service was fast and efficient throughout. What added to this 5 star service was the extra touches the waiter looked to give. Whilst waiting for my food he pointed out a rhino in the distance and also answered my questions about the many birds playing around the grounds. The food was of real quality and was more than enough to satisfy my hunger. In terms of price i was pleasantly surprised by how reasonable it was. I've visted other restaurants in the area and paid 50% more. Overall the grounds set in an eyewateringly beautiful location, outstanding, personalised service and top notch food at very good prices all ensure a 5* rating from someone who has never bothered to rate before.

Thank Jude W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair M, Manager at Morani's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Many thanks for your very generous review of Morani's, and also for taking the time to write your first review. We constantly strive to provide food and service to match our fantastic location, and we are delighted to hear that we did exactly this for you!

Our staff here are always keen to share their knowledge of the wildlife in and around our grounds, which we hope adds to the dining experience.

Once again, we are very grateful for such a kind review, and hope to see you back at Morani's soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

As someone that lives in Nanyuki, we tend to fall short of things to do at the weekend... but trips to Morani's in Ol Pejeta are certainly a treat! My boyfriend and I have been there a couple of times since it first opened... and have only seen it improve with age! Not only is it located in the park, so one can spend the morning out in the bush and game-viewing (a nice retreat from the town) but the food is delicious!! I am vegetarian and try to avoid wheat - and the chef went to extra lengths to provide my [scrumptious] chick-pea veggie burger with a gluten free bun! The presentation is also amazing. We always get a good glimpse of the blind rhino Baraka from the verandah... and who knows what other game might decide to pass by whilst we're having lunch! We also love the 'themed' days at the restaurant... like Easter and Valentines... Morani's is definitely our favourite place on these days as we know the effort and length they will go to, to make the day even more memorable!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kiki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair M, Manager at Morani's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you so much for such a great review of Morani's. We are pleased to hear that we have improved with age - long may this continue! As you say, Morani's is the perfect spot for lunch while on a day's safari in Ol Pejeta - a fantastic getaway from the increasing hustle and bustle of Nanyuki, yet just a 20 minute drive down the road!

We are delighted to hear that the specially-made gluten free bun was a hit - I will pass on your compliments to the chef.

Thanks once again for taking the time to give such positive feedback from your visits to Morani's, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stopped here after visiting the Chimp Sanctuary and just loved the place. The setting is exquisite with great views of the Ol Pejeta Conservancy. They had a modest menu but the selection included several vegetarian and meat options. My husband had a burger, my son had the bruschetta and I had a delicious chickpea burger. We were all licking our lips after the meal. The staff was really lovely and cooed over our son, always a plus, for a proud mama. They are located right next to the Ol Pejeta Visitor's center, which is a perfect place to visit while you wait for the meal to be prepared. They also have a small gift store with a nice selection of curios. It's definitely worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank saf97b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair M, Manager at Morani's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you very much for such a generous review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your meal with us - I will pass on your kind comments to our kitchen team, who are always so pleased to hear that their food goes down well!

Thank you once more for your feedback with regards to the setting. With over 40 bird species and many animal species observed from our grounds, we aim to continue the safari and wilderness experience even when not in the vehicle!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Morani's in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The restaurant is within Ol Pjeta conservancy, you may have to pay for park fees to get in but check before booking. However if you are already in the conservancy after a safari drive then a good place to eat with a good menu. There is a watering hole within view of tables.

Thank rmackenzie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair M, Manager at Morani's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you very much for the positive feedback about your visit to Morani's. We're glad you liked the menu, and we hope that the watering hole allowed you to continue your game-viewing while you enjoyed lunch!

All visitors to the Ol Pejeta Conservancy are required to pay the Conservancy fee - but, as you say, a day's safari in the Conservancy can easily be combined with lunch at Morani's.

Thanks again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, and we hope to welcome you to Morani's again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morani's Restaurant also viewed

Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality
Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality
 
Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality
Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality
 
Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality
 

Been to Morani's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing