We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
Nearby Hotels
Maiyan(Nanyuki Town)
$175
$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Hotel(Nanyuki Town)
$41
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$21
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Joskaki Hotel(Nanyuki Town)
$27
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Maxoil Hotel(Nanyuki Town)
$52
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Booking.com
View Deal
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aberdare Country Club(Aberdare National Park)(Great Value!)
$327
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Treetops Lodge(Aberdare National Park)
$240
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,018)
Filter reviews
1,018 results
Traveler rating
631
261
79
29
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
631
261
79
29
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimal orphanagehorse ridingwilliam holdenbeautiful hotelsouthern hemispherehole golf coursethe hotel offersmain buildingbreakfast and lunchlog firemount kenyamanicured lawnscolobus monkeysthe cottagesstunning viewsbush dinnerturn down service
Filter
Updating list...
801 - 806 of 1,018 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were at Fairmont to celebrate our 22nd marriage anniversary. After a tiring air and road journey when we reached to Fairmont, we saw beautiful peacocks on our very first sight at the hotel, and a warm welcome by hotel staff made us feel completely relaxed. Its a beautiful hotel, with superb view of Mount Kenya from all over the hotel. The resort is very well maintained and has beautiful landscapes. It has a fishing pond, a golf course and an animal orphanage. Rooms are large and very comfortable. The food quality was very good. On my request they provided us an anniversary cake as well, and I could surprise my wife at the dinner table, with hotel staff coming with the cake, all singing and dancing. It was a very romantic experience. Next day we visited Ol Pejeta conservancy which is very nearby. Overall, a paradise in Kenya.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AwesomeAnand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club!
We are so happy that you chose to enjoy your 22nd Anniversary with us (Congratulations once again!) and thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are most appreciative for your fantastic feedback especially your thoughts on our warm, sincere and engaging service offered by our staff to our guests.
Please take the time to enroll in our Fairmont Presidents Club before your next visit – this will allow us to offer you the highest level of personalized service with an array of benefits through the membership program.
I will of course share your feedback with the team – who I know will be delighted to hear your feedback on their service delivery and product.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club - thank you for allowing us to turn your moments into memories.
Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan MIH
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have been going to Mount Kenya Safari for many years and my stay there over Easter proved as awesome, relaxing as ever. I recommend MKSC for couples that want to relax and take it easy. The walks , the clear views of the majestic Mt Kenya make this place a haven of peace . Great service and beautiful spacious rooms and the comfortable beds make it my hotel of choice in the Mt Kenya region

Room Tip: My favorite rooms are The William Holden Cottages or the Executive Suites above the Zbar .
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eunice k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

We are so happy that you and enjoyed your stay with us once again and thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback. Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding our facilities, rooms, grounds and staff. I will most certainly pass on your kind comments to all our team here and until we meet again, we look forward to welcoming you back once again.

Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan MIH
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

While our tour stayed at several safari camps, offering tent accommodations, two nights, we stayed in the lap of luxury at Mount Kenya. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed, with views of Mount Kenya. The grounds were extensive, perfect for leisurely strolls, especially nice when the birds near the pond were being fed. We walked through the gardens and straddled the equator line. Both nights, different tribes put on mini musical presentations after high tea, and the meals were well-prepared and satisfying. We thought the animal orphanage would be a waste of time (a type of petting zoo), but we had a great time interacting with the animals for about 90 minutes. Monkeys came right on top of guests (be aware, though, they are wild animals; one member of our tour was nipped), and the various animals could be fed while they posed for pictures. There were also some unique animals, including a zebra-horse mix and a mix of a baboon and a golden mangaby (a mangaboon).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback with regards to your stay.
Guest feedback is so important to our operation and it is always gratifying to know that we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. We are most appreciative for your fantastic comments especially your thoughts on our engaging service and great cuisine. Your kind comments regarding our team and hotel is greatly appreciated and will be eagerly passed on.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the animal orphanage; funding from the orphanage assists in their greater objectives of Breeding Mountain Bongo for return to Mount Kenya, returning White Zebras to The Lerogi Plateau and rearing and returning wild orphans to their natural habitat. For more information on the animal orphanage and their objectives please visit www.animalorphanagekenya.org
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club - thank you for allowing us to turn your moments into memories.
Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan MIH
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Located at the foot of Mount Kenya, this popular resort sits right on the equator! It was founded by actor, William Holden and has been frequented by many famous people. 100 acres of manicured lawns, spectacular views, great food, bird watching, hiking, safari drives, living rooms in cottages with fireplaces, and wonderful customer service makes for a vacation in Paradise! No complaints! It is 5 star Fairmont at it's finest!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsWitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club.
We really do appreciate your feedback, and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is always wonderful to hear from our guests that the best part of everything was the service and our team - we pride ourselves on offering true Kenyan Hospitality.
Your kind words regarding our colleagues and hotel are greatly appreciated and will be eagerly passed on.
We look forward to welcome you back, once again, to Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club in the near future.
Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Am exclusive place to spend a weekend but should be ready to pay the general place is excelent place around the space you can seat anywhere in the garden facing my Kenya as you have your drinks. The cottages are oooh excellent you can stay indoor and have everything there a phone call away the food and especially dinner cool and off course not forgetting the sunrise over the mountain Kenya all this for a price above normal

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otsyula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your valued review of the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, received on the 20th April 2013.
It is always gratifying to hear from our guests that they enjoyed the service & product - we pride ourselves on turning moments into memories for our guests.
Once again thank you for your very valued feedback.
We look forward to welcome you back, once again, to Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club in the very near future.
Kind Regards,

Niall P. Cowan
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews