We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No words ...! exclusive place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Nanyuki Town
Certificate of Excellence
kenya nai
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No words ...! exclusive place”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Am exclusive place to spend a weekend but should be ready to pay the general place is excelent place around the space you can seat anywhere in the garden facing my Kenya as you have your drinks. The cottages are oooh excellent you can stay indoor and have everything there a phone call away the food and especially dinner cool and off course not forgetting the sunrise over the mountain Kenya all this for a price above normal

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otsyula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your valued review of the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, received on the 20th April 2013.
It is always gratifying to hear from our guests that they enjoyed the service & product - we pride ourselves on turning moments into memories for our guests.
Once again thank you for your very valued feedback.
We look forward to welcome you back, once again, to Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club in the very near future.
Kind Regards,

Niall P. Cowan
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    226
    68
    27
    12
See reviews for
295
252
20
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a really nice visit here over Easter. There was plenty, actually, a ton of things to do with the kids. We had just a couple of issues. 1. We were in the cabins farthest away from the main building which made it difficult to get around with two small children. We had to spend far too much time traveling back and forth to our room for my liking (it is worth noting that they had transportation available at all times but it was just inconvenient) 2. We had some room servicing issues...like waiting hours for ice and lack of upkeep of our fire.
Overall, 2 nights was not enough. The staff was great and eager to help and we would recommend 3 nights to really get time to relax. Food was amazing and the beds were very comfortable.

Room Tip: Get a cabin close to the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelingCircus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to your provide valued feedback of your recent stay with us at the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you managed to enjoy the many options that we have on offer to our valued guests.
My apologies for the delay in ice-delivery to the rooms; I will review the procedures with the In-Room dining team and reiterate our service standards with regards to delivery timing – thank you for bringing this to my attention. The fires in the rooms are normally lit on turndown – but we would be pleased to light them earlier on request.
I do appreciate the numerous positive comments that you have also made in your review – I will most certainly share all your comments with the team; who will be delighted to hear your valued feedback.
I look forward to meeting you and personally welcoming you back on your next stay at the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club. Please let me know when you plan to return, we all look forward to turning moments into memories for you.
Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan MIH
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Raves;
- Amazing customer service - reservations [Kenneth Thuo] check in [pleasant lady] & check out [Peter, Raphael], restaurant service [Carol, Faith, Simon], Orphanage [Augustine], Riverside drive [Kihara]....you guys are simply the best!
- Absolutely picturesque ; well manicured lawns. Mt. Kenya facing.
- Great food ; enjoyed all meals [B.L.D & high tea]...the lunch buffet was especially great & the healthy meal options are commendable.
- Wide variety of things to do..

Rants;
- Booked a king size bed but got to the room to find 2 twin beds. Had to wait to be moved.
- Disappointing fireplace experience - expected to have a lit fireplace at night but instead got to a room smelling lots of smoke but no fire/heat!
- The 'deluxe' room felt too small/cramped, carpet was stained & parquet floor was badly faded...quite ironical for a room with a luxurious bathroom.
- The General Manager was all over the place & the least i expected him to do was smile & find out how his guests were doing!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FearlessInfluencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write your review and share your experiences at the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club.
We strive to ensure the every guest is provided with the very best quality and standards of service within our most unique location.
I sincerely appreciate the compliments on our facilities and location; it is of course our goal to ensure that the service matches the product. I have shared your kind comments with the team – especially those members of the team who you have kindly highlighted in your review.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the miscommunication in room category and inconvenience that this caused you on check-in; I will follow-up with our reservations team and determine how this challenge transpired in the first instance. My apologies also for the issues regarding the fire place – I assume that the fire must have burnt out prior to your return to the room, our team obviously did not add sufficient wood to the fire – I will follow up with the housekeeping team to ensure that the fireplaces are adequately primed on turndown – thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.
Thank you once again for your feedback that you have provided, it is indeed valuable information that will assist our efforts in improving our level of service to valued guests like your good self.

I look forward to meeting you and personally welcoming you back on your next visit to The Fairmont Mount Kenya safari Club – my apologies for not meeting you personally during your last visit with us.

Thank you once again for choosing Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club.

Niall P. Cowan
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Sitting right on the equator, this lovely hotel is the ultimate in luxury. our 3 room suite even had a real fireplace which the staff would light on cool nights. The extensive grounds were well maintained, the staff friendly, courteous, and well trained. The meals were excellent. Nearby conservation areas had a wide variety of game and you could visit Mt. Kenya, (although we didn't). The only sour note was the last night when our drivers had a wheel stolen off the van and the van damaged overnight (which we didn't discover until almost at Nairobi),in the nearby town where they were staying.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your valued review of the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, received on the 13th April 2013.
We really appreciate you taking the time to review our property, it is always gratifying to hear from our guests that they enjoyed the service & product - we pride ourselves on turning moments into memories for our guests.
I am saddened to hear that you driver had his spare wheel stolen overnight when he was in staying in Nanyuki town (OFF-PROPERTY).
I trust that he reported the matter to the local police, since this matter did not transpire on our property it would be best to be handled by the Nanyuki police in the first instance. Incidentally, we do offer driver accommodation (on-site) for future reference; our parking facilities are extremely secure and are patrolled on a 24/7 basis.
Once again thank you for your very valued feedback.
We look forward to welcome you back, once again, to Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club in the very near future.
Kind Regards,

Niall P. Cowan
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This place felt like paradise and truly magical. My family and I visited this place over Easter and the service was excellent, food was magnificent and the ambience and landscape was beyond relaxing! The staff even organize high tea over a breathtaking view and we had our own fireplace in the room !! A magical place that I will definitely return one day!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjdlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to your provide valued feedback of your recent stay with us at the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, are that you managed to enjoy the many options that we have on offer to our valued guests.
Our mountain location can get a little cool in the evenings, but I am delighted to hear that enjoyed the toasty fire place in your room; it certainly does add to the character of the property.
I look forward to meeting you and personally welcoming you back on your next stay at the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club. Please let me know when you plan to return, we look forward to turning moments into memories for you.
Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan MIH
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club gave me the best birthday get away ever.. the hotel is situated in quiet, serene and beautiful slopes of Kenya's tallest mountain, Mount Kenya. I had the best weekend ever.. the morning view of Mt. Kenya from the room was amazing and breathtaking, the staff are very friendly, eager to assist and superbly professional... the rooms are spacious, have superb ambiance, fire place lit in the evening, bathtub and shower,.. stocked room bar with assorted drinks.. huge TV with many channels... prompt room service or assistance in less than 2 minutes upon dialing zero from anywhere(unbelievable).. eco-friendly automobile to move from one point to another whatever time of the day or night....wonderful horse riding experience under supervision of friendly professional riders, if there was something beyond 5 star that is what I would give this wonderful place... peacocks in the compound, spectacular view of wild animals along the hotel drive way.. non-discriminative and friendly staff... affordable ... this is a perfect get away or holiday destination..I would rate it 10/10.. I'll never forget this memorable experience and best birthday treat... I plan to come back here again and again and again..(pnkaranja@gmail.com)

Room Tip: ...Deluxe room.. 209.. best morning view of Mount Kenya, the pool, golf course, bar, nice hot water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkaranja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review of the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club!
We are so happy that you chose to enjoy your birthday with us (Many happy returns…!) and thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback & photos on Tripadvisor.
We are most appreciative for your fantastic feedback especially your thoughts on our warm, sincere and engaging service offered by our staff to our guests.
Please take the time to enroll in our Fairmont Presidents Club before your next visit – this will allow us to offer you the highest level of personalized service with an array of benefits through the membership program.
I will of course share your feedback with the team – who I know will be delighted to hear your feedback on their service delivery and product.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club - thank you for allowing us to turn your moments into memories.
Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan MIH
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Mount Kenya Safari Club, has stunning views, location of this lodge on the slopes of Mt Kenya is awesome.

The rooms , especially the deluxe view rooms have views of the the mountain, and worth the extra amount, compared the the river view rooms.

However, the service level for such an establishment have a long way to go, for such price levels one expects 5 star service. the staff though friendly, lacked the knowledge of what is on the menu, and would be quite slow at times.

We were impressed with the lunch buffets, but Ala carte dinner was a disappointment.

We were there over easter weekend, one point to note, it was full of families with children, while we were looking for a romantic weekend getaway.

Overall would recommend this property.

Room Tip: Select the Deluxe view rooms if you want a room of the mountain, or one of the Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabemonoshiwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback with regards to your stay, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the facilities and would recommend our property.
Your kind words regarding our hotel are greatly appreciated and will be eagerly passed on to our operations team.
I have read your comments regarding your overall experience during the Easter ‘a la carte’ dinner service and am saddened we didn't meet your expectations.
I certainly take your comments positively and will definitely review this element of our ‘Easter’ food & beverage offering.
We certainly did have many families with us over the Easter holidays, being the school holidays and the Easter long weekend – this I am sure was the case in most ‘resort’ hotels at this time of the year. As we have such an abundance of activities available for families and children of all ages; it makes our property an idyllic family destination.
Might I suggest a return visit outside of the school holidays, for a more romantic getaway - try a ‘deck dinner’ on the patio of your room under the stars on your return visit!
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club - thank you for allowing us to turn your moments into memories.
Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
24.3 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#2 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
298 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels
13.0 mi away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 8 in Mount Kenya National Park
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Serena Mountain Lodge
Serena Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Mount Kenya National Park
350 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lewa Safari Camp
Lewa Safari Camp
#2 of 56 in Laikipia County
226 reviews
4.0 mi away
Le Rustique
Le Rustique
#5 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club

Property: Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
Address: | Mount Kenya, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality 10400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Nanyuki Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent views of majestic Mount Kenya, the Fairmont Safari Club's 120 luxuriously appointed guest rooms, set in over 100 acres of landscaped gardens, offer a unique blend of comfort, relaxation and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club Hotel Nanyuki
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Hotel
Mount Safari Club Kenya
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing