We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Nanyuki Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the Mount Kenya safari club for one nights in February 2013. It is at an amazing location with an amazing view of the mountain. Whilst we were there we saw the mountain all day which was a treat. The rooms are very comfortable and nice. The setting for lunch was really nice but our experience at breakfast and in particular dinner was not good. The place were the buffet dinner waylaid out was not very nice and the food was not great. We felt that a number of things from lunch were served again at dinner. We would go again as it is one of my favourite parts of Kenya.

Room Tip: The William Holden cottages are very nice
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback with regards to your stay, we are delighted to hear that you consider Mount Kenya as one of your favorite locations in Kenya!
Your kind words regarding our hotel are greatly appreciated and will be eagerly passed on.
I have read your comments regarding your experience during our dinner service and am saddened we didn't meet your expectations.
I certainly take your comments positively and will definitely review this element of our food & beverage offering. We normally offer an ‘a-la-carte’ service during our evening dinner service – however on the evening in question we hosted a buffet and appreciate that this was not your expectation as far as product or service was concerned – my most sincere apologies for this shortfall.
We hope that you may in the future give us a chance to serve you again; as we are confident we can do much better.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club - thank you for allowing us to turn your moments into memories.
Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (919)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

722 - 728 of 919 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

The property is very nice with many options of things to do. The rooms are spread out and the hotel has the feel of no planning and things were just added on. The animal orphanage is the highlight of the area.

The food at breakfast and lunch is passable, but not up to what one might expect at a Fairmont. The service over all is terrible. One must ask a minimum of 3 different waiters for a cup of coffee and even then it is if iffy if a cup will show up. Much of this is self service and even the people manning the buffet line are in "lala" land. ( I stayed 3 days so it was not a freak occurrence). Turn down service was at 9 pm - a little late for people getting up early the next day and it turned out that turn down service was non-existent. Dinner service is much better and the food is better.

The place is living on it's reputation and one can surely do better.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohnTuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

I are so sorry to hear of your disappointing visit to The Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club. This is certainly not typical of the level of service we provide.
Please be assured that I have reviewed your comments with the team in great detail to ensure that the service & food in our restaurant is monitored and improved.

We are deeply sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations during your recent visit to our hotel, all of which attributed to your negative feedback.

I do hope you will give us another opportunity to get this right for you in the future.

Niall P. Cowan
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Mt Kenya Safari Club is no longer special. The place has been ruined by on large hotel after another and the Fairmont group tops the list. A manager who does not like people, he ought to run a fairmont hotel in a large city like Toronto where guests do not see the managers. In Kenya, hospitalitiy is completely different. People smile all the time. The food leaves everything to be desired. Gone are those long and delicious dinners now reduced to dirty buffets where food is recycled. THe rice literally came out of the fridge into the microwave with icicles in them

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NixshaSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for taking time to submit your review of our property.
We do take note of your personal comments and these are respected.
Once again thank you for taking time to give us feedback.

Niall P. Cowan
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Set in the perfect view of Mt Kenya the club has beautiful grounds, friendly and polite staff and good food. There's not a single meal I didn't enjoy. The rooms are clean and there's a fire lit every night. But, once the fire dies out in the middle of the night it gets fairly chilly. The evenings were quite chilly too so there's no choice but to be indoors. The drive from Nairobi took about 4hrs, rest stop included, but the road is smooth all the way. I would not recommend it for budget holidaying though! It is fairly pricey.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anyil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for your review dated 17th February 2013.

I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write your review and share your personal experiences at the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club.
We strive to ensure the every guest is provided with the very best personalised, quality standards of service within our most unique location.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club - thank you for allowing us to turn your moments into memories.
Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here in February and was extremely impressed with the location and the stunning views of Mount Kenya. Facilities are also impressive, but this comes with the price.

The food however leaves a lot to be desired and is both horrendously priced and sub standard. Cheese and biscuits for example with stale biscuits and greasy, sweaty cheese that looked like it had been swept off the lunch buffet onto the dinner buffet. Slightly absent minded service too, given that the restaurant is massively over-staffed.

Great if you love the setting, but have stayed in better places in Kenya with a better all round experience and value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank RM1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write your review and share your experiences at the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club.
We strive to ensure the every guest is provided with the very best quality and standards of service within our most unique location.
I sincerely appreciate the compliments on our facilities and location; it is of course our goal to ensure that the service matches the product.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the food & beverage shortfalls and inconveniences you experienced during your recent stay with us.
Please be assured that I have discussed your feedback in detail with the culinary & F&B service team and I will continue to monitor the issues you have raised. Thank you once again for your feedback that you have provided, it is indeed valuable information that will assist our efforts in improving our level of service to valued guests like your good self.

We will continue to strive to turn your future moments with us, should you allow us the privilege sometime soon, into positive and outstanding memories.

Thank you once again for choosing Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club.

Niall P. Cowan
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I last visited Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club in 2010. It was an absolutely amazing experience and our small group on retreat had a really good time. I purposed to return some day either for work or pleasure. I recently moved back to Kenya and was able to organize a retreat for my (significantly) larger group of Senior Management at the Fairmont. All I can say is that my colleagues who may not have a previous experience to compare with are more or less happy. I, on the other hand, am absolutely shocked at the drop in standards especially when it comes to the rooms. I am in a "suite" by the river and from creased linen, shabby carpets, untidy housekeeping, deteriorating fixtures and plumbing, I might as well have checked into some motel in the nearby Nanyuki. What is most disappointing is the lack of consistency in messaging from the reception staff who were full of excuses and no action - in terms of moving me to another room. If it wasn't for the courteous Duty Manager, I would be half way to Nanyuki town. If only the Fairmont management paid better attention to detail and customer service. However, the food remains consistently good, the F&B staff cheerful and the spectacular backdrop that is Mt. Kenya never fails to lift ones spirits.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JS H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for taking time to submit your review of our property. We do take note of your comments and these are most respected. We take all comments seriously and use these as a basis for improvements and training. We therefore assure you that the team is already working on all the points you raised.
We look forward to hosting you soon so you can see that indeed all the points you raised have been worked on.
Once again thank you for taking time to give us feedback.

Niall P. Cowan
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

There is no doubt about it, the Mount Kenya Safari Club is alluring for its history (William Holden and all that), and appealing for many, but my wife and I and another couple were in the middle of a 15 day safari in Kenya and Tanzania. I fell in love with the tented bush camps and personally had no desire to return to "civilization," and the MK Safari Club is very civilized, but not what I came to see in Africa. The MKSC is beautiful, and our two bedroom "cottage" was lovely, but in a "is this Africa or Northern California?" way? I found there were too many people, too many corporate meetings, and too much of a "conference" atmosphere. There is also an abundance of marginal food served from groaning buffet tables. After being up close and personal with the magnificent animals in their habitat (Amboseli, Masai Mara, Serengeti, and Ngorongoro), looking out from your tent at night observing a canopy of stars from the sky to the horizon, and surrounded by bush night sounds, the MKSC minimizes that entire experience. There are thousands of resorts around the world with the MKSC "ambience," but why would you come all the way to Africa to experience it when there's probably one of these within a few hundred miles of your house? Each to their own.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
24.3 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
308 reviews
6.1 mi away
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
#1 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
80 reviews
13.0 mi away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 8 in Mount Kenya National Park
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Serena Mountain Lodge
Serena Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Mount Kenya National Park
359 reviews
4.0 mi away
Le Rustique
Le Rustique
#6 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
5 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sere Enkang House
Sere Enkang House
#3 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club

Address: | Mount Kenya, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality 10400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Nanyuki Town
Price Range: $250 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent views of majestic Mount Kenya, the Fairmont Safari Club's 120 luxuriously appointed guest rooms, set in over 100 acres of landscaped gardens, offer a unique blend of comfort, relaxation and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club Hotel Nanyuki
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Hotel
Mount Safari Club Kenya
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing