We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Ibis Hotel(Nanyuki Town)
$41
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Maiyan(Nanyuki Town)
$175
$164
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maxoil Hotel(Nanyuki Town)(Great Value!)
$52
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aberdare Country Club(Aberdare National Park)
$327
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Treetops Lodge(Aberdare National Park)
$240
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,003)
Filter reviews
1,003 results
Traveler rating
625
257
75
29
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
625
257
75
29
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimal orphanagehorse ridingwilliam holdenbeautiful hotelsouthern hemispherehole golf coursethe hotel offersmain buildingbreakfast and lunchlog firemount kenyamanicured lawnscolobus monkeysthe cottagesstunning viewsbush dinnerturn down service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
825 - 830 of 1,003 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed 3 nights at this wonderful hotel. Wonderful service began at the reception where I was attended to by one lovely lady, Shisia. She immediately makes you feel welcome and at ease and is genuinely concerned about how you are. Such sincerity is long lost in the hotel industry and it was such a pleasure to be able to experience it again not just with her but every staff at the hotel.

The rooms are amazing and are cleaned to very high standards. Everything is left speak and span and cleaning is done early enough!By 11am, your room is already done up. A fire is lit in your room every night and a hot water bottle tucked in your bed while you are away at dinner making your night that much more enjoyable.

The dining experience is amazing! The welcome received at the Tusks Restaurant is quite nice and we were well taken care of the restaurant manager Leah. What I loved most about the restaurant staff was their attention to our dietary tendencies! A kind waitress brought me masala tea at breakfast before I had to ask for it because that is what I had been having for two previous mornings! It doesn't get better than Mount Kenya Safari Club.

I could go on and on and on. Overall, this is the best service I have ever experienced anywhere starting from reception to the cleaners to the gardeners! Everybody was amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tidi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our property.
We really appreciate it, and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is always great to hear from our guests that the best part of everything was the service and our people - we pride ourselves on offering true Kenyan Hospitality.
Your kind words regarding our team, (especially Shisia & Leah) and hotel are greatly appreciated and will be eagerly passed on.
We look forward to welcome you back to Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club in the near future.
Best regards,
Niall

Niall P. Cowan
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were only here one night on the beginning of our 14 day tour of Kenya and Tanzania. It's a beautiful property with the gardens and the birds being a highlight for me. I think this is a good choice for families - especially the cottages with 2 bedrooms and a central living area. We enjoyed the animal orphanage though somewhat expensive I thought. However they do take in all sorts of creatures from monkeys to leopards to crowned cranes, so it's a great learning experience for kids. I found the buffet style food to be good for breakfast and lunch, but again, I'm not a big eater at the evening meal, so didn't experience it so much. One thing I liked that most of the accomodations provided was a hot water bottle per person at night. What a nice toasty way to warm your feet.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zinniaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This property, situated directly on the equator, is very pretty and relaxing. We spent six nights here and enjoyed every minute.

The food is great. I recommend getting full board rather than a la carte only because you can then not worry about prices or what to get...just eat whatever you want and don't worry about it.

Zebar Lounge has a great view of Mt. Kenya itself and they often had a guy playing the guitar and singing in the evenings. They also have a short show at 5:45pm each night alternating between drummers and dancers.

We went golfing on their short 9-hole course which was lots of fun, but don't golf here if you are a serious golfer trying to get in a game. The greens are horrible and the course is not much better, but if you just want a bit of exercise and some great views and sounds than you will enjoy it.

We also did a game drive at nearby Sweetwaters which was great. Saw 4 of the big 5 here. A bit expensive but worth the price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielKOBrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to your provide feedback of your recent stay with us at the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us; I am pleased that you managed to enjoy the many options and activities that we have on offer to our valued guests.
Our golf course is certainly a fun way to spend part of your stay with us – I am pleased that you managed to experience golfing on the equator! Unfortunately the November rains have been challenging for our green maintenance regime, but we are top dressing at the moment and I am certain that they will be in top-top condition, once again, in no time.
I look forward to personally welcoming you back on your next stay at the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club.
We look forward to turning moments into memories for you.
Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I am a regular visitor to the Mount Kenya Safari Club, and I am glad to say that despite the various changes in management over the past 10 years the club continues to be one of the best places I have stayed. The new Fairmont management has managed to modernise the facility, yet retained the charm and traditions that the regular visitors have gotten used to. Addition of free wi-fi facilities, cycling paths and horse riding opportunities have added a bit of adventure to the leisure giant. The biggest change though has come in the cullinary experience where the use of locally grown (and I mean really locally - in the club's own farm) fresh organic vegetables in food cooked freshly in front of you, by expert chefs is an experience more akin to the luxurious Carribean resorts.

The upgrade of the rooms with new shower and bathroom facilities and more technical upgrades to cater for the Ipad generation are a welcome addition. The traditional charm of a log fire in the cottages is still a big feature, but in-line with environmental concerns, these are now available on request rather than as default.

Room Tip: Riverside cottages/villas are by far the best available facilities. Requesting cottages by Lenana Road is recommended with the balconies/verandahs facing the lush green slopes of Mt.Kenya. These villas are also very quiet for those looking to get away from the crowd, while Wifi is unavailable for those looking for blackberry breaks.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vishaals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback with regards to your stay, we are ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are most appreciative for your fantastic comments especially your thoughts on our culinary improvements. Our Organic Vegetable is just over 1.2 ac. in size and given our location, on the equator on the fertile slopes of Mount Kenya, made such good sense to implement. We now ‘fertilize’ our vegetables naturally with the aid of the ‘wormery system’, and at the same time recycle all of our organic kitchen waste. The system is amazing and the results speak for themselves. Our guests are able to harvest their own produce that our chefs cook and create bespoke vegetable options for our guest’s meals. We are very proud of the initiative and are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the fruits of our teams’ labor. Your kind words regarding our team and hotel are greatly appreciated and will be eagerly passed on.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club - thank you for allowing us to turn your moments into memories.
Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Awesome experience !! Superb cottages.. Great cuisine !! Service at its best !! The animal orphanage was an unbelievable interaction with animals. A bit pricy.. but loved it. A tip for travelers. Don't take the equator demo at the resort as its pathetically expensive. Our driver took us out to another place for the same demo and we just need to tip them and there were nice shopping local outlets there too.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samitnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback with regards to your stay.
Guest feedback is so important to our operation and it is always gratifying to know that we have exceeded the expectations of our guests. We are most appreciative for your fantastic comments especially your thoughts on our engaging service and great cuisine. Your kind comments regarding our team and hotel is greatly appreciated and will be eagerly passed on.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the animal orphanage; funding from the orphanage assists in their greater objectives of Breeding Mountain Bongo for return to Mount Kenya, returning White Zebras to The Lerogi Plateau and rearing and returning wild orphans to their natural habitat. For more information on the animal orphanage and their objectives please visit www.animalorphanagekenya.org
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club - thank you for allowing us to turn your moments into memories.
Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews