We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for lunch while on the road” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barneys

Barneys
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Nanyuki Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in one of the buildings next to the airstrip, but still open to non flying visitors.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch while on the road”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

A good stop on the way from Nairobi to the Mount Kenya area to break up the trip and stretch your legs, get a cappuccino and watch the small planes come and go.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steven_Rosalind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    68
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Good Lunch Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Set next to a fully operating airfield Barneys is a brilliant place to go for a spot of lunch in the sun, everything on the menu sounds wonderful and everything that I have tried has tasted excellent. I fully recommend the Feta Samosas and a Coffee Shake to wash them down.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChiptheChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Disapointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Coming from Rhino Charge on the 2nd June, we made a stop-over at Barneys for lunch. The place was pack and had very poor service. We sat on the lawn having drinks as we waited for a waitress to find us a table. Net to us were some tourist who had given up waiting for a table and ended up having their lunch on the same lawn.

Moments later, the waiter return with a bill of our drinks and told us that she has been ordered not to server us since we had no table. We questioned why the tourist had been severed and what was different with us (Kenyans).
We got the Hint and left. Never to return back there again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

The best break before tackling the arid Kenyan north. Refreshing meals in a calm atmosphere. My family's favorite along Nairobi-Nanyuki route.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
184 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“My favourite coffee stop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is the best place to stop if you are on a road trip up to Samburu from Nairobi. A friendly coffee shop/restaurant located at the airstrip so there is always something going on. They do good takeaway coffee if you are in a rush (or your driver is!). Bathrooms are always clean and well presented. There is also a lovely gift shop. All makes for a very civilised break in your journey. I wish we had something half as good in Uganda!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hmf5863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barneys also viewed

Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality
Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality
 
Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality
 
Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality
Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality
 

Been to Barneys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing