We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a disappointment”
Review of Kongoni Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kongoni Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Accommodation was quite cramped for a family and a bit pricey. The rooms were very close together and there was no outdoor seating area unless you went to the bar/restaurant. Otherwise food was reasonable and staff were friendly. Would not recommend for people with a young family.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 64 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

if you are in nanyuki and you are looking for a nice place to stay then that place is kongoni camp. remember to try their t-borne stake!! the rooms are nice and simple and their break fast is so good. you will not regret your trip

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauricemacharia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My friends and I stopped @ Kongoni Camp for dinner after a long day road trip from Nairobi. Great food, reasonable prices, friendly staff. I loved the lamb chops, couldn't have enough! Will definitely come again.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Sallie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

A great place for all whatever you fancy, food is great and prices reasonable. Edwin the owner is a great guy and has time for all his guests. The restaurant has amazing artwork to admire and some nice secluded tables for those quiet dinner dates. Its great for groups of friends, and thats us in picture! Thanks guys will see you again many times I'm sure.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loggy_Shopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongoni, Owner at Kongoni Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thanks! we are all really happy to hear our guest enjoyed there stay at Kongoni Camp. We look forward to welcoming you again.
All the best wishes from all at Kongoni Camp.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I recently went back to Kongoni for dinner, and found the food and service much improved!

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank V0lunteeringKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I love Kongoni Camp! This is one of the hotspot in Nanyuki and Edwin serves the best pizza and even has some spicy oil just like in Italy!
If you are more a meat man, great steaks are also availabe.
So when in nanyuki and especially on Friday or Saturday night, simply go to Kongoni! and if you had one too many, no worries, rooms are also available!
Keep it up Edwin!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank WWWShopandBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I visited Kongoni Camp by sheer luck, I visit Nanyuki regularly and visit the usual loud places, when my friend invited me for lunch at this Camp, I expected the usual. When I drove into the bushy compound, my heart was blown away, quiet serene garden, we spent three hours which we did not notice. The restaurant inside has excellent decor, to cap it all, very good food and service.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kingorik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
4.8 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
5.8 mi away
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
#1 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Rustique
Le Rustique
#4 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lions Court Lodge
Lions Court Lodge
#16 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
21 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sere Enkang House
Sere Enkang House
#5 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
19 reviews
10.1 mi away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 8 in Mount Kenya National Park
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kongoni Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kongoni Camp

Address: Meru Road | Nr Nanyuki, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality 10400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Nanyuki Town
Price Range: $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated northwest of Mt Kenya, Kongoni Camp is a piece of paradise set in a cedar cypress forest glade, with Mt Kenya as an iconic backdrop. With a good range of facilities on offer, Kongoni Camp offers quality accommodation in an informal atmosphere, a grill pizzeria menu, bar and coffee shop. Kongoni Camp is an ideal jump off spot for mountain enthusiasts, those who want to tour Laikipia or those looking for a weekend getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kongoni Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kongoni Camp Kenya/Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing