We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nanyuki Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sportsman's Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Nanyuki Town
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I spent 2 nights with my family and will certainly go back. The setting is very nice for expeditions to Mt. Kenya and the nearby game reserves. It is also near the the town mall where you can shop and take delicious Dorman's coffee as you mingle with other tourists and the locals. The hotel has a swimming pool, well-equiped gym, lively disco and other activities for all ages. Very reasonable cost especially for a budget holiday. The service is exellent and the food is okay.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main block and the newer cottages are fine but the old cottages need some refurbish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 77 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

The hotel is pretty basic, has a pool and restaurant area, pub and night life. I liked the fact that the night life was right there at the hotel. The rooms could do with an upgrade they are really old school and overall are average. Service is good. Food was average, as well the variety is nothing spectacular. The retaurant has a beautiful sitting area outside, which is reccently done and was nice. Available within is a small shop which was helpful in getting some toothpaaste :) Its within the town so very close to the Nanyuki mall where you can get all the stuff you need plus ATM services.

Room Tip: Obviously book in advance and state your requirements especially when it comes to the meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naomi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

This was booked on a buisness trip as our initial accommodation couldn't take us for 2 nights, so the last 5 nights of ourstay were to be in 'Sporties'. As soon as we could we booked accommodation back at the other place so were only here for 2 nights.

The rooms are in need of a complete makeover, or at the very least a deep clean. They smelt of smoke and were grimy, the bathroom had broken units, cracked tiles and was barely functional. The window and door locks were poor.

We ate in once it was OK, so OK I didn't bother with breakfast for the next two days and we ate out the next night.

There is internet access in the Cyber shop which was reasonable and reliable - about the best think in the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamborock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

I spent only one night at the Sportsman's Arms Hotel. I was participating in a conference and needed to arrive three days later than the other conference participants. For some unknown reason was given the cottage rather than a single room. The cottage was great - lots of space, two bedrooms and a fire place. The hotel staff assisted in making the fire and the rooms were warm and comfortable. The bathroom had a shower and it was very clean. My colleagues were not so well satisfied with their single rooms. They described it as "dingy", "not clean" and "very cold". The grounds were lovely and the food served in the restaurant was fine. The meals were all buffet style. All in all my experiences were good and I would return provided I could get the "cottage" again. The hotel could really benefit from an upgrade and more emphasis on housekeeping standards, especially in the single rooms.

Room Tip: Cottages are roomy and clean. If there is a choice select a cottage. Review from colleagues about t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Adrienne999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The first bar I visited on arriving in Kenya and a long trip up from Nairobi, I handed over a 500 for a bottle of tusker and a lemonade and asked if it was enough. Barman said yes and gave no change. It was only on visiting other bars, I realised the local price of beer was around 150ksh. And lemonade less. Not impressed. Either he pocketed the change, or they charge a lot more than other local bars. Thankfully never had this happen anywhere else, as most places give receipts. Note - this review isn't about the hotel as I wasn't a guest. The bar itself was nothing special, dark wood and limited selection of beers. So I doubt it was the official price. Ok it's only a couple of pounds - but its the priciple!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SloowBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

The grounds of this hotel are quite nice, but the rooms are horrible, smell of smoke and generally give the impression of being grimy.

The water in the taps runs brown and the bathrooms are pretty poor.

The beds and pillows are rock hard and the covers are stained. Taking the pillow case of the pillows is a revelation and one would think twice about using them.

In all, the stay was less than comfortable but it was locat where we needed to be.

Our party didn't try any of the food because of the standard of cleanliness elsewhere in the hotel.

Staff are pleasant enough but not at all efficient, as one of our group discovered when the lock to his room broke and he was locked out for more than an hour after midnight.

Beware of the bar, especially the first floor disco, which is little more than a brothel.

All in all, it's pretty horrible.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eggbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This place is a dump even by Kenya standards.The rooms are dirty the food is rotten recommend you give this place a miss and head over to sweet waters hotel just 20 minutes up the road.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arnie321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanyuki Town hotels
4.7 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
0.4 mi away
Sere Enkang House
Sere Enkang House
#6 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lions Court Lodge
Lions Court Lodge
#16 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
#1 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Rustique
Le Rustique
#4 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kirimara Springs Hotel
Kirimara Springs Hotel
#9 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sportsman's Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sportsman's Arms Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 3, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality 10400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Nanyuki Town
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
The Sportsman's Arms Hotel Kenya/Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing