We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nanyuki Sportsmans”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nanyuki Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sportsman's Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Nanyuki Town
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nanyuki Sportsmans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

The hotel is pretty basic, has a pool and restaurant area, pub and night life. I liked the fact that the night life was right there at the hotel. The rooms could do with an upgrade they are really old school and overall are average. Service is good. Food was average, as well the variety is nothing spectacular. The retaurant has a beautiful sitting area outside, which is reccently done and was nice. Available within is a small shop which was helpful in getting some toothpaaste :) Its within the town so very close to the Nanyuki mall where you can get all the stuff you need plus ATM services.

Room Tip: Obviously book in advance and state your requirements especially when it comes to the meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    25
    19
    11
See reviews for
10
9
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

This was booked on a buisness trip as our initial accommodation couldn't take us for 2 nights, so the last 5 nights of ourstay were to be in 'Sporties'. As soon as we could we booked accommodation back at the other place so were only here for 2 nights.

The rooms are in need of a complete makeover, or at the very least a deep clean. They smelt of smoke and were grimy, the bathroom had broken units, cracked tiles and was barely functional. The window and door locks were poor.

We ate in once it was OK, so OK I didn't bother with breakfast for the next two days and we ate out the next night.

There is internet access in the Cyber shop which was reasonable and reliable - about the best think in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamborock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nanyuki Town hotels

Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

I spent only one night at the Sportsman's Arms Hotel. I was participating in a conference and needed to arrive three days later than the other conference participants. For some unknown reason was given the cottage rather than a single room. The cottage was great - lots of space, two bedrooms and a fire place. The hotel staff assisted in making the fire and the rooms were warm and comfortable. The bathroom had a shower and it was very clean. My colleagues were not so well satisfied with their single rooms. They described it as "dingy", "not clean" and "very cold". The grounds were lovely and the food served in the restaurant was fine. The meals were all buffet style. All in all my experiences were good and I would return provided I could get the "cottage" again. The hotel could really benefit from an upgrade and more emphasis on housekeeping standards, especially in the single rooms.

Room Tip: Cottages are roomy and clean. If there is a choice select a cottage. Review from colleagues about t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adrienne999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

The first bar I visited on arriving in Kenya and a long trip up from Nairobi, I handed over a 500 for a bottle of tusker and a lemonade and asked if it was enough. Barman said yes and gave no change. It was only on visiting other bars, I realised the local price of beer was around 150ksh. And lemonade less. Not impressed. Either he pocketed the change, or they charge a lot more than other local bars. Thankfully never had this happen anywhere else, as most places give receipts. Note - this review isn't about the hotel as I wasn't a guest. The bar itself was nothing special, dark wood and limited selection of beers. So I doubt it was the official price. Ok it's only a couple of pounds - but its the priciple!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SloowBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
133 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

The grounds of this hotel are quite nice, but the rooms are horrible, smell of smoke and generally give the impression of being grimy.

The water in the taps runs brown and the bathrooms are pretty poor.

The beds and pillows are rock hard and the covers are stained. Taking the pillow case of the pillows is a revelation and one would think twice about using them.

In all, the stay was less than comfortable but it was locat where we needed to be.

Our party didn't try any of the food because of the standard of cleanliness elsewhere in the hotel.

Staff are pleasant enough but not at all efficient, as one of our group discovered when the lock to his room broke and he was locked out for more than an hour after midnight.

Beware of the bar, especially the first floor disco, which is little more than a brothel.

All in all, it's pretty horrible.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eggbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

This place is a dump even by Kenya standards.The rooms are dirty the food is rotten recommend you give this place a miss and head over to sweet waters hotel just 20 minutes up the road.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arnie321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Nanyuki is a dusty town whose draw is that it's the gateway to Mt Kenya. If you need to stop in a night or two, Sportsmans Arms is a decent choice, although I would probably only stay there again if I had to.

The room was poorly lit and the bedcovers were the kind you find at cheap roadside motels. The bathroom was pretty grimy, I decided not to shower there and waited until I returned to nairobi.

The dinner buffet and breakfast buffet were decent and the hotel grounds were quite nice. But overall, I would perhaps try the Nanyuki Sportsclub next time.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citymusiclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanyuki Town hotels
4.7 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
19.3 mi away
Lions Court Lodge
Lions Court Lodge
#16 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
5.1 mi away
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
#2 of 14 in Nanyuki Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sere Enkang House
Sere Enkang House
#4 of 14 in Nanyuki Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
8.1 mi away
Anka Resort
Anka Resort
#25 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kirimara Springs Hotel
Kirimara Springs Hotel
#10 of 14 in Nanyuki Town
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sportsman's Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sportsman's Arms Hotel

Property: The Sportsman's Arms Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 3, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality 10400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Nanyuki Town
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
The Sportsman's Arms Hotel Kenya/Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing