We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Sirikoi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanyuki Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sirikoi
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We recently spent 3 nights here (travelling with family) in the Sirikoi Cottage. The grounds, staff, accommodations, dining, and common areas are all wonderful. We especially enjoyed our evenings dining by candle light under the large Acacia Tree as well as our drives through Lewa with our guide John and spotter Mr.B. This was our first stop on Safari and was one of our highlights in Africa. The experience is very relaxed and the set-up is perfect. Would love to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTTraveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirikoisue, Manager at Sirikoi, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thanks so very much for your wonderful review which we very much appreciate. We are thrilled to hear that your stay here was a highlight in Africa and that you loved the candlelit evenings under the Acacia tree. I will pass on your comments to John and Mr. B who will make sure that everyone hears about this! We do hope you visit us again one day. Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
50
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We loved Sirikoi. We were there 3 nights. The tents are beautiful and comfortable the bath and especially the shower was wonderful. Each night upon returning for our early evening drive there was a fire in our tent and refreshments in our hand. The community of guests gather around a fire pit before dinner and talk about the days adventures. The staff is very welcoming but also the owners are there each night and during the day talking to you if you wish to know more about the area and history of the people.

The food was wonderful and they accommodated vegetarian and other special requirements gracefully. They have a huge garden that supplies the lodge with all it's food. It is truly farm to table here and it was delicious. We had one early drive that they surprised us with breakfast in the bush. We drove up and staff was there with tablecloths and hot and cold breakfast being prepared, it was amazing

I highly recommend James as a guide. He is an amazing young man who is Masai. He has great knowledge of the area flora and fauna and we really enjoyed learning more about his culture. You will be delighted spending a few days with this young man.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirikoisue, General Manager at Sirikoi, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
What a wonderful review, thank you so so much! I will tell James what you said about him and I know he will be very pleased. You touched on many things, we appreciate you going to all the trouble as it is great for us to have your feedback. We try to collect the fruit and vegetables within two hours of a meal so that it is at its most nutritious, so glad you enjoyed the food, everything here is organic. Very many thanks and we hope to see you again one of these days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberageri, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We spend 3 nights at Sirikoi, what a beautiful place, just how you imagine Kenya and the wildlife. Beside good game drive with amazing ranger James, we experienced the best outdoor activities ever done on a safari, and great community trip! The service, the food and accommodation is fantastic.

Room Tip: Sirikoi House
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrid2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirikoi L, Manager at Sirikoi, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for coming to Sirikoi. We very much enjoyed having you to stay and hosting you whilst here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We loved our 3 night stay in this little gem-Sirikoi. Magical setting with acacia trees, amazing knowledgable hosts- pioneers in wildlife conservation. We enjoyed the special aerial trip to see rare wildlife, the guides were great and the food was 5 star quality.. It was wonderful to see the endangered rhinos doing well!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirikoi L, Manager at Sirikoi, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed the flight and enjoyed the fabulous landscape. It is indeed a privaledge to see the rhinos. We are doing our best to keep them safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I can not rave enough and only wish we had more than 3 days there.

Food, hospitality, staff, accommodation, guides, game drives, grounds, everything so brilliant.

Our fabulous hosts Johnny and Penny were wonderful company and each night was like an international dinner party. We had drinks and "bites" on the large candle lit deck in front of the fire and dined at a beautifully decorated table.
Rhinos, impala, zebras or buffalo often peeking in at all of us.

Our guides John and Mr B were the best company ever on our game drives. They were entertaining and very very knowledgable. Thanks to you both!

I highly recommend Sirikoi for all it has to offer.
I hope to return....
Thanks to all the staff

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diesy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirikoi L, Guest Relations Manager at Sirikoi, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, it was so good to hear and much appreciated by all at Sirikoi. We do hope you make it back one day, but what a long way to come! John and Mr.B send you their best wishes and were thrilled to read what you said about them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

A small camp with a great vibe and even better food, mainly from the amazing kitchen garden. Masai drivers in all their finery and plenty of relaxed and private big 5 and other viewings. Difficult not to enjoy every moment. .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dixiegrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirikoi L, Guest Relations Manager at Sirikoi, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hi Dixiegrand,
Thanks so much for your great review of Sirikoi. Thrilled too that you say "Best Food on Safari" WOW…that is fantastic, the organic veg and fruit garden does help tremendously and we try to get food on the table within two hours of being picked.
thanks again
The Sirikoi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Absolutely fantastic experience! Everything worked perfectly - food, wine, room, staff & guides combined for a simply gorgeous time. Johnny & Penny were fantastic hosts, including a final game drive where we saw the Big Five in two hours - all before the sundowners. The pool during the day, and the fire-lit dinner table by night, gave a fantastic game experience even before the game drives. Definitely the highlight of our month in Africa.

Room Tip: Make it special by choosing the cottage or the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirikoi L, Manager at Sirikoi, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are thrilled you had such a great time at Sirikoi and it was the highlight of your month in Africa. It was fantastic that you saw the Big Five in two hours. Having supper under the stars by the fire in front of the waterhole is indeed a fabulous experience. I will pass on your lovely comments to the rest of the team and hope we will see you back at Sirikoi soon, Johnnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
26.8 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
18.1 mi away
Alba Hotel Meru
Alba Hotel Meru
#1 of 5 in Meru Town
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lewa Safari Camp
Lewa Safari Camp
#2 of 56 in Laikipia County
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.1 mi away
Le Rustique
Le Rustique
#5 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#17 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
6 reviews
28.2 mi away
Lions Court Lodge
Lions Court Lodge
#16 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirikoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirikoi

Property: Sirikoi
Address: Lewa Wildlife Conservancy | Box 1690, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality 10400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Nanyuki Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sirikoi is a beautiful small family run lodge situated on private land & surrounded by the Lewa Wildlife Conservancy. Set in a shady acacia grove & overlooking a natural waterhole, Sirikoi offers some of the best game viewing in East Africa, as well as some of most unusual activities in Kenya. Sirikoi offers everything from helicopter excursions, to flying bi-planes, nights spent out fly camping on quad safaris, and riding safaris. SIRIKOI HOUSE awarded BEST SAFARI HOUSE KENYA and runner up to BEST SAFARI HOUSE AFRICA, by the Good Safari Guide awards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sirikoi Hotel Nanyuki
Sirikoi Kenya/Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing