We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely FANTASTIC!”
Review of Sirikoi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanyuki Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sirikoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

As we arrived at Sirikoi the first thing we saw was emerald green lawns, a turquoise pool and an Ele peacefully grazing just meters from the pool. Sirikoi really is an oasis in the wild savanah plains of Lewa. Over the years i have stayed in many different lodges throughout Kenya, and Sirikoi is by far the best. We were made to feel part of the family. Amory (the general manager) and JJ looked after us so well and so did all the staff.

The food was delicious and all veggies and fruit are grown in an amazing 1 acre organic garden. We munched our way around the garden trying tree tomatoes, strawberries, mulberries, cape goose berries and guavas.

We ate outside, on wooden decking, under an awning amongst the yellow fever trees and what I was amazed about was there were so few mozzies. In fact I didn't use any mosquito repelleant and wasn't bitten at all.

The game drives were spectacular. We saw Black rhino mating, as well as white Rhinos, lions and a leopard, Oryx and Grants gazelle as well as the beautiful Grevy Zebra.

Our tent was very comfy and luxurious and early morning tea came spot on time.

Sirikoi all seems rather like a heavenly dream. A lodge not to be missed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are within easy reach of the main lodge and are all lovely. You don't need to worr...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJMUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Sirikoi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 115 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is arelatively small family run lodge. The staff are excellent, especially the manager, Emery, who really pays attention to the needs of guests. Food is mainly excellent, most of it coming from their own superb garden. The overall experience will depend to a large extent on the other guests and the amount of game seen. We were lucky on both counts. Rhino, giraffes and elephants are plentiful but big cats are rare.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Teddy Roosevelt said of Kenya in 1910 "But there are no words that can tell the hidden spirit of the wilderness, that can reveal its mystery, its melancholy, and its charm" ... but after many safaris through Kenya over many years I'd say if any one place captured that spirit that we all associate with East Africa, it is Sirikoi - the splendid creation of Sue and Willie Roberts within the Lewa Down Conservatory north of Mount Kenya.

Every safari should begin here.

Weeks ago my wife and I landed in Nairobi (from San Francisco) in the early morning and immediately grabbed a small plane to fly us into Lewa. After coming such a far way I wanted to have my wife (1st time to Kenya) to start our safari in gentle and beautiful place where she could relax and enjoy all aspects of Kenya: the wildlife and all the things mingled with the beauty of Kenya, the large tropic moons, the splendors of the new stars...[the] glory of sunrise and sunset in the wide spaces" of East Africa. The superbness of Sirikoi was evident immediately on getting out of the plane. The natural beauty spectacular. The guides so knowledgeable. On arrival at the camp the vision of the Roberts family was absorbed like a cold glass of water on a sunny hot afternoon.

We stayed three days. Relaxed, saw wonderful wildlife, enjoyed the best life has to offer. And during that whole time the attention to detail of every aspect of our stay was remarkable (the design of our tent, the exquisite style of all the parts of camp, the wonderful people and staff).

For us together, it was most romantic and fun and exciting. While at Sirikoi, we also met families traveling together of all ages including young children. They too had a wonderful experience and I realized that Sirikoi is an excellent place to start any safari in East Africa - for the first timer or 20th timer! For a couple or a family.

There is much to admirer in Sirikoi. I recommend it. And I look forward to our next visit soon. Thank you Willie, Sue, Amroy, Kasao, Fatha, Maria for all your hospitality and generosity.

Patrick
San Francisco

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceKenya, Public Relations Manager at Sirikoi, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Patrick
Thank you so much for your very generous and kind words about Sirikoi! Sue and Willie have poured a lot of dedication and time into Sirikoi and we were thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Even after all our years in Africa, we are still captivated by its charm, and we hope you will be back soon to enjoy soaking up the atmosphere again!
With warm regards,
Juliet and the team at Sirikoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed here for a in June 2007 - Willie and Sue were incredible hosts, the game is literally at your doorstep and the "tents" are kitted out with bathrooms fit for a hotel suite. It is heaven on earth and I dream of going back!

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Georgina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Sirikoi was our 2nd camp on our 10 day trip to Kenya. The minute after we landed and our wonderful host Amory and guide James picked us up we stumbled up 5 lions sunning themselves. The Lewa Conservancy is a gem - limited to 4 cars per camp we felt like we had the animals all to ourselves. Very seldom were we ever viewing game with other cars. The animals were plentiful and we saw everything you could see-even the elusive leopard.
Accommodations at Sirikoi were luxurious and well appointed. We stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage which was more like a palace and it was gorgeous and comfortable. The rest of our family stayed in the tents and thought they were excellent-separate bathrooms, flush toilets and a lovely fireplace and deck. The grounds of Sirikoi were spacious and striking. Large green lawn, a pool, beautiful acacia trees and the watering hole for the animals. The animals often wandered onto the lawn at dusk while we dined on the large deck with the other guests. The service and food were excellent and what I loved the most was how casually elegant it was. Amory is relaxed and fun to talk to and he regaled us with stories of his Kenyan childhood.
The food was excellent and all grown in their own gardens. Amory gave us a tour of the grounds and the entire camp is self-sustaining...very eco friendly.
All in all, I loved Sirikoi for it's abundance of game and it's subtle luxury. I would highly recommend this Kenyan game camp.

Room Tip: All the tents are great! We loved the cottage for a family of 4. There is also another larger cottag...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenD2996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceKenya, Public Relations Manager at Sirikoi, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Hi Jen
Thank you so much for your great review of Sirikoi; we were thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much, and meeting the crew, which of course is such an important part of the experience at Sirikoi. Amory and James are in good spirits and send you their best salaams. the camp is looking lovely at the moment, with lots of wildlife coming down to the waterhole. We hope you'll be back to see us sometime soon!
With warm regards
The team at Sirikoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Having been to Kenya a few times in the past 15 years, I have been lucky enough to visit many a game lodge and let me tell you.... Sirikoi is top notch. You will not be disappointed when you choose this as your safari destination.

When you hop on your 50 minute flight from Nairobi to the Lewa Wildlife Conservancy air strip you are immediately greeted by lovely smiling faces. They then whisk you into a land rover and there and then is where you begin your safari experience with a game drive on your way to the lodge.

The setting, views and accommodations are stunning. The food is magnificent. And the management is brilliant. Whether we were on a game drive, playing cards, taking in the epic views under the acacia trees, lounging in a luxurious private bubble bath, watching elephants, rhino, zebra and other wildlife graze right in front of our luxury tent, having cocktails or chatting with other guests, we always felt at home. No corner is cut at this fairy tale location and you would be amiss if you let this opportunity pass you by.

Thank you Sirikoi for allowing us to be apart of your family, even if it was only for a few days.

Room Tip: Every room is special. You just can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAChelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceKenya, Public Relations Manager at Sirikoi, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear LAChelsea,
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Sirikoi, and we're so glad to hear that you felt totally at home with us - it's an atmosphere many find charming and enjoyable -
We can't wait to welcome you back to those long baths and glorious views!
With warm regards
The team at Sirikoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

JJ and Amory were our hosts. We really enjoyed them.
Great conversations and stories with young Africa hands.
Sirikoi, is a slice of heaven. It has four incredible tents.
It was amazing to watch the plains game and rhinos coming through camp each day.
Lions were making their sounds at night.
The tent was magnificent! Even a fireplace in the tent!!!
Peter and Legei were our Masai spotter and guide. They were just tremendous. Great humor and expertise of the land and fauna. Game viewing was amazing. From the game drive breakfast to the sundowners above the darkening landscape, we had an incredible experience.
We view Elephants and Cape Buffalo from a game hide. What a thrill!

Room Tip: Only 4 tents.... All wonderful.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Choogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
26.8 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
4.4 mi away
Lewa Safari Camp
Lewa Safari Camp
#2 of 56 in Laikipia County
230 reviews
32.2 mi away
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
#1 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.1 mi away
Le Rustique
Le Rustique
#6 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
5 reviews
28.2 mi away
Lions Court Lodge
Lions Court Lodge
#15 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary at Ol Lentille
Sanctuary at Ol Lentille
#10 of 56 in Laikipia County
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirikoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirikoi

Address: Lewa Wildlife Conservancy | Box 1690, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality 10400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Nanyuki Town
Price Range: $484 - $1,970 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sirikoi is a beautiful small family run lodge situated on private land & surrounded by the Lewa Wildlife Conservancy. Set in a shady acacia grove & overlooking a natural waterhole, Sirikoi offers some of the best game viewing in East Africa, as well as some of most unusual activities in Kenya. Sirikoi offers everything from helicopter excursions, to flying bi-planes, nights spent out fly camping on quad safaris, and riding safaris. SIRIKOI HOUSE awarded BEST SAFARI HOUSE KENYA and runner up to BEST SAFARI HOUSE AFRICA, by the Good Safari Guide awards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sirikoi Hotel Nanyuki
Sirikoi Kenya/Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing