We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“another amazing experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanyuki Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“another amazing experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

Not a hotel! This time, six of us spent several nights at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, at both ends of a safari in N Kenya organised and guided by Alex and Diana Hunter, whose base this is. After my three visits to Ol Pejeta BC over the past four years, I confirm the standards keep rising and their enthusiasm [and recognition of what is realistic] is undiminished.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunger4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
50
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

A safari that includes a stay at OL Pejeta will certainly ensure you have a fantastic time. We flew into Nanuyki and were met by, Alex Hunter, our host. There were 6 of us so two land cruisers awaited our arrival. 40 minutes later we entered the wildlife park where the camp is situated. The amount of game we encountered within 15 minutes of our arrival was un-countable. There were 100's of Grants and Thompson gazelles, Grevy,Burchell and Highbred Zebra,Giraffe, Buffalo Hyeena and Jackal. We arrived in Camp which is now enclosed by a 7 foot high electric fence,which lets all the animals into camp except elephants as Alex has planted alot of new trees and is trying to stop them being eaten by the elephants! We were met with a gleaming smile by the whole of Alex's team. Far too many to remember but they all came to light over our stay.
OUR TENTS: Once the refreshing towel to clean off the dust and a cold drink were out of the way we were shown to our tents where our bags were already sitting on the side! Very comfortable tents with a canvas covered Terrace over looking the rusty coloured river that came from the Abedaires. There was a spacious flushing loo, a bucket bush shower linked to the main tent by a wash room area. Pipping hot water available the whole time simply by asking!! Towel rail in the shower, mirror in the washroom, coat hangers, shelves, mosquito spray, tissues, torches, and even umbrellas (to remind one of home) were all little extras supplied to make it very comfortable camping! The tents opened on all sides with mosquito netting which enabled the cool breeze to drift through and the African noises quite real as we heared a lion roar in the night! We were escorted back (and forth) to the main sittingroom tent where we met our Hostess. Diana Hunter, who had been shopping for supplies. It was great to have both the Hunters around and joining us for meals in the dinning tent. A massive wealth of experience and stories sitting amongst us the whole time. (ask Alex about being pinned down by a Buffalo?!!) We could of course nig off and just veg out with one of the many books on offer if we didn't want to be social, or browse the little shop run by Patrick,one of the guides and Di.
SAFARIS: There were driving or walking safaris on offer. We did both! Safety appeared high on Alex's list as we walked with a spotter in front, Alex with a massive gun (able to stop an elly in its tracks, quite reassuring) and another experienced guide behind with water and medical supplies. Alex is a walking encyclopedia, very interesting and enthusiastic about every thing from Trees, birds, tracks and even the animals! You could'nt remember a 1/4 of what he would tell you in a 3 hour walk. We met Hippo, impala, elephant on our walk not to mention the tracks and poo en route. Whow, how exciting is all was. On one drive we saw 6 rhino, a Hyeena den with cubs and lots of action and 2 Cheetah. One of which climbed a tree to mark it's teritory. Our long established guide said it was a first for him to see a Cheetah in a tree, certainly a first for us.
FOOD AND DRINK: The supply of food and drink in the camp was endless and delicious. Gilbert was the cook and knew how to spoil us. Alex and Di (both T-Totallers) never failed to offer us drinks at all times.
SUMMARY: Quite frankly if you are looking for an Owner run camp, a very comfortable camping experience, masses of game and stories all for an incredibly reasonable price, then this is your place. If you enjoy your experience half as much as we did you will have a great time. Lucky you, we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elephant72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Ol Pejeta Conservancy, Kenya, for 3 nights. It should have been 4, but Virgin Atlantic failed to deliver us to the correct airport on arrival so we missed a night. This was unfortunate, as our time at Ol Pejeta was the most fun we have had on holiday in years. Alex and Di are the perfect hosts. Nothing is too much trouble and their knowledge and interest in the conservancy makes a stay here something very special. Consequently they employee the most wonderful, knowledgeable staff, including their guides who are fantastic people to spend time with.

Guests stay in one of six British army tents. These are placed at secluded locations, with added frisson provided by the guides who escort you to and from your tent once darkness falls. Showers are of the jungle variety and are available on demand just about. Laundry services are provided free of charge. However the best part of this holiday is not worrying about how dirty you are! Get set to embrace your inner child.

Food is simple but fantastic: beef fillet was the best we have tasted. Breakfast is sometimes served on game drives. And the game drives are superlative. 5 cheetah in one night, countless rhino, prides of lions, amazing birds and so on. We will never forget our evening walk with Alex, Patrick and L. past hippos wallowing in the river ready to run out to graze. You will not find a better safari location than this.

This is proper camping, so when the wind blow it whistles through the tent. Yes, you can hear animal noises all night. Yes, the animals sometimes come up to camp. Next morning share stories of being nudged in the night threw the tent wall by a leopard. This is exciting camping, safari as it is meant to be. Forget lodges, and enjoy the real thing.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeyhumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2010

All the family agree that this was the best part of our safari holiday in Kenya.
The bush walks with Alex were superb.
Alex, Diana and everyone in the camp cared that we all had a memorable holiday taking into account what all the family wanted to do.
The tents had every comfort and ensured that you were close the animals. The food was great. The guides were very knowledgeable. We would all love to go back and stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTufty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, N.C.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2009

My wife and I visited Ol Pejeta (Tented) Bush Camp August 29 – September 3, 2009. This was our first trip to Africa. The camp is about a 40 minute drive from Nanyuki Airport (which has an excellent gift shop) and is just west of the Mt. Kenya National Park. The flight from Nairobi’s Wilson Airport is about 40 minutes. (Surprisingly, the Wilson Airport has a duty free shop so you can make purchases of alcohol etc there rather than earlier in your trip.)

The camp is operated by Alex and Diana Hunter. Alex is a native of Kenya who is very knowledgeable about the local wildlife especially the many brightly colored birds. He is licensed to use a high-powered rifle, custom-made to his specifications; so he can take the guests on bush walks outside of the camp (a necessary precaution since the animals in the preserve are in no way tame!). He is the grandson of J.A. Hunter, a renowned Kenyan hunter in the 1920s and 30s.

The camp is about 10 miles south of the equator, but because the elevation is around 6,200 feet above sea level, the temperature is moderate (about 55 degrees F in the early morning and mid-eighties in the afternoon). Although we live in a town in the USA that is only about 350 feet above sea level, the increased elevation did not affect us noticeably.

The camp is located on the Ewaso Nyiro river within the Ol Pejeta Conservancy which encompasses just under 100,000 acres (about 140 square miles). Most of the Conservancy is open grass lands with areas of acacia trees intermixed with brush (where the lions hang out). The reserve supports a wide variety of the typical African animals including all the big five: lion, cheetah, leopard, elephants, common zebras, warthogs, jackals, ostriches, gazelles, impalas, Cape buffalo. In addition there are some unusual animals like the black and white rhinos, the endangered Grevy’s zebra and the reticulated giraffe. The camp has night drives and during one of these we were fortunate enough to spot the very elusive aardvark scampering away. (Night game drives in Masai Mara are not allowed because it is a National Reserve.)

The food at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp is very good with a wide variety. Before the 6:30 a.m game drive “flapjacks” (a local treat), fruit and coffee are served. When the drive returns, there is a hot breakfast. Later there is lunch, tea and dinner. The accommodations are well appointed tents for two. Each tent has an en-suite shower and a flush toilet. The staff fills an overhead bucket with five gallons of hot water for each shower which is more than adequate if you don’t dawdle.

We also visited a tented bush camp in the Masai Mara. Since there is a direct flight from Nanyuki to Masai Mara, it is very easy to combine safaris in these two different regions. Unlike the Masai Mara, there are not so many land cruisers out and about at Ol Pejeta, so when a lion is spotted there is not an immediate congregation of vehicles (it can be a bit distracting to see more tourists than wild animals).

Alex, Diana and the staff are very attentive to the needs and comfort of their guests and we highly recommend a visit to the Ol Pejeta Bush Camp.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UNCCH-Duke-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
17.1 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
9.5 mi away
Porini Rhino Camp
Porini Rhino Camp
#2 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 9 in Mount Kenya National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Laikipia Wilderness Camp
Laikipia Wilderness Camp
#5 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lewa Safari Camp
Lewa Safari Camp
#2 of 57 in Laikipia County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
20.2 mi away
Olepangi Farm
Olepangi Farm
#3 of 15 in Laikipia County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Ol Pejeta Conservancy, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality 10400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Nanyuki Town
Hotel Class:4 star — Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the Ewaso Nyiro River in central Kenya's Laikipia region is Alex Hunter's atmospheric Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, the ultimate in Kenyan hospitality and safari excellence. Here you will share your space with the last three surviving northern white rhino in the world. Ol Pejeta's six traditional East African safari tents offer an excellent base from which to explore the secrets of this renowned conservancy - from the pioneering conservation projects that have made it famous to spectacular sightings of black and white rhino and the Big Five. Ol Pejeta is the first choice for discerning safari veterans looking to understand and enjoy the very best of world-leading conservation practice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp Hotel Nanyuki
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa Kenya/Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing