We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanyuki Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Ol Pejeta Bush Camp was our first stop on a three week safari throughout Kenya and Tazania. We spent 3 nights here and could have stayed 3 weeks. The setting, the food and the service by all staff was outstanding. As a bonus the game drives lead by our guide Duma was truly magnificent. My wife and i loved it.

Room Tip: Try it out, you wont regret it as both Alex and Murray will ensure you are warmly welcomed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poppy53Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
71
50
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp in October 2013 and cannot speak too highly of how Alex and his team worked to make our stay the best ever. Comfortable tent, hot showers as requested, most interesting lively conversation around bush fires and candle-lit dinners. Tents overlooking the river with visiting elephants and hippo, and beautiful birdlife. Fantastic game drives with Duma - so knowledgeable and passionate about the wonderful wild life. A trip which will never be forgotten.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ella_uk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

3 hours drive from Nairobi is bush camp on the ol pejeta conservancy. Lovely tents with the real bush experience. Russel the resident buffalo visited us at night....adding to the highlights. We saw wild dogs with 18 pups, elephant, rhino, and lions late evening with game friendly night spotlight on return from evening game drive. Highly recoomend this as weekend away from Nairobi or en route to samburu/ meru parks. Hospitality amazing - makes you feel like the camp is your home. The kids loved it...we loved it and will definitely go back.

TK

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TKWFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

By far the best camp that I have ever stayed in, with fantastic service from Alex and his staff, unbelievable food. An incredible location, with amazing game drives. Cannot wait to return with my friends very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VMicheleJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Ol Pejeta Bush Camp is Kenya at its best from the amazing scenery at the foot of Mt Kenya, fantastic hospitality from Alex and team, luxurious spacious tents to wonderful food and unforgettable game drives. We went with our three teenage kids who repeatedly were amazed by the scenery and wildlife which was made even more special by very few vehicles. Ol Pejeta has plenty of game and great moments were watching cheetah eating a kill and following wild dogs.
Getting up close to the rhinos was a real privilege. During the day and at night game graze close to the camp which made it even more exciting. Its a highly recommended experience and...can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Have just returned from a wonderful time at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp. The entire staff were gracious and hospitable. Alex, Murray, Moses, Duma and the whole team responded to every query with “sure we can do that” - and then went on to deliver as promised. The tent was spacious and comfortable, with a hot shower available at any requested time. The morning wake-up was a delightful blend of fresh coffee and chirping birdsong. Meals were delicious and plentiful. Each game drive started with anticipation and ended with reflections on abundant and diverse natural wonders: startling views of Mt Kenya and the Aberdares - impala, zebra and warthogs galore – along with elephants, rhinos, cheetah, lion – saddle-bill stork, Kori bustard, Marshall eagle … the list goes on. I’ve been on many safaris over thirty years, but nothing tops the experience at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp. Am planning a repeat visit with friends and family in tow.

Room Tip: Every tent has a view of the river - often with hippos in the water and visiting elephants on the op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEAJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Gervais-les-Bains, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Jon, Gemma, Danny and I had a fantastic few days at OL Pejeta camp in August this year. Alex and his team were first class hosts and we saw the most amazing wild life ever. The luxury tents are very spacious and we had hot showers on request. We were very close to the wild life and even saw lion whilst sitting by the camp fire. The food was of a very high standard and more than we could eat. We did 2 game drives a day and the guides were very knowledgable and wanted us to see as much as possible. Alex then arranged for us to climb Mount Kenya which was also an amazing experience. We would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millyd32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
17.1 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
9.5 mi away
Porini Rhino Camp
Porini Rhino Camp
#2 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lewa Safari Camp
Lewa Safari Camp
#2 of 56 in Laikipia County
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 7 in Mount Kenya National Park
200 reviews
19.5 mi away
Loisaba Tented Camp
Loisaba Tented Camp
#11 of 56 in Laikipia County
35 reviews
22.6 mi away
Tafaria Castle and Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Ol Pejeta Conservancy, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality 10400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Nanyuki Town
Hotel Class:4 star — Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the Ewaso Nyiro River in central Kenya's Laikipia region is Alex Hunter's atmospheric Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, the ultimate in Kenyan hospitality and safari excellence. Here you will share your space with the last three surviving northern white rhino in the world. Ol Pejeta's six traditional East African safari tents offer an excellent base from which to explore the secrets of this renowned conservancy - from the pioneering conservation projects that have made it famous to spectacular sightings of black and white rhino and the Big Five. Ol Pejeta is the first choice for discerning safari veterans looking to understand and enjoy the very best of world-leading conservation practice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp Hotel Nanyuki
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa Kenya/Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing