We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanyuki Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Ol Pejeta Bush Camp is a fantastic place to stay. The camp is small and comfortable, the service is excellent and personalized, the food is fantastic, the atmosphere is extremely friendly. This is a perfect place for a romantic gettaway in a cozy atmosphere. Definitely a camp you want to visit again and again and again !

Room Tip: No need for tips. Everything is perfect at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherineOuagadougou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
71
50
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here in September 2011. We were completely spoilt - after the camp had been totally full for months prior to our arrival, we were the only ones in camp for the 3 nights we stayed. We were therefore more than spoilt with the ability to go on game drives as and when we wanted to, and both Alex and Dianne looked after us extremely well - we had a great walk around with Alex.

The team that suports was exceptional - the food was the best we experienced in Africa and the game drives were amazing. We got to see pretty much most of what was on our list and more, including 3 different varieties of Rhino. Lions just after killing a zebra, reticulated giraffe, Grevy's zebra etc etc. It was endless and continually amazing, from the water buffalo grazing around the tent at night, to the lions roaring across the river, to a wonderful and romantic candle lit dinner for the 2 of us outside our tent after a long day's safari

Definitely a fantastic camp for safari and one I will continue to recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeroenvdL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stavanger
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Alex, Dianne and their team are perfect, having a great way of delivering their incredible knowledge at a rate and level that all can absorb. Food was great, high end itallian influences that week, and the people in the camp, around 10-12 were so interesting that they add to the experience.

A mother black rhino and calf getting surprised by the jeep and showing their true nature was very exciting as was the cheetah mother and 4 cubs defending their gazelle from two cheeky jackals . All the big 5 were seen as were the black rhinos. A truly great 3 days and there was more to see in the area, with mount Kenya next door. No need to jump from place to place.

Room Tip: Fly in to Nanyuki charming airport and we believe a saviour on your bones on Kenyan roads. You see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norkiwi67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp. It was a wonderful, very intimate introduction to Kenya. Alex made sure we were happy at all times! The amount of animals in the conservancy was amazing. Patrick was a wonderful driver. We really enjoyed our communal dinners with the other guests. Would highly recommend going to see the White Rhinos, that was a real highlight.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenr661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here 2 years ago and had a great time - and somehow even better this time! Our special thanks to Patrick our guide and Steven the lion tracker for the most amazing time. We saw more than 20 different lions including 6 cubs - 1 tiny takehome size! Watching the cheetah and her 4 cubs interact - both in play and hunting mode was very special as was the relief of seeing them transform from skinny hungry cats to 'pregnant' hardly able to move cats after a feast on impala! The opportunity to go and meet 4 of the last remaining 7 Northern White rhino is a unique and humbling experience - they have adapted so well to their outdoor life after many years in a zoo - even signs of pregnancy so fingers crossed.
Ol Pejeta maintains the old world charm of 'out of Africa' with the hospitality that makes you feel like you are with friends. The food is phenominal and the picnic breakfasts a delight - although we were usually late!
We have done more than 10 safaris in many different countries but this is the place we return to!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWildCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We started our safari with 3 nights at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp. Our host Alex and staff attended to our every need and made our visit a perfect introduction to Africa. Patrick, our game driver, found every animal that we wanted to see and explained in detail about animal behavior, habitat, geology, etc.
The food was wonderful and our meals in the bush were a treat. It was fun meeting people from all over the world. And this small camp made it a very comfortable and enjoyable setting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

A wonderful safari, with lots to see and do. On my last afternoon drive we saw lions on a kill, and a cheetah mum and cub. We stopped for sudowners and on the way back saw a leopard.
( unfortunaly it was too dark for photos). Later at camp there was a buffello. So we saw 4 of the big 5 on one game drive.
The amount of game on the reserve is far more than at other places, including the Mara.
The camp and staff were as great as always. So friendly and welcoming. Ican't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms look out over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
17.1 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
9.5 mi away
Porini Rhino Camp
Porini Rhino Camp
#2 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lewa Safari Camp
Lewa Safari Camp
#2 of 56 in Laikipia County
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 7 in Mount Kenya National Park
200 reviews
19.5 mi away
Loisaba Tented Camp
Loisaba Tented Camp
#11 of 56 in Laikipia County
35 reviews
22.6 mi away
Tafaria Castle and Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Ol Pejeta Conservancy, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality 10400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Nanyuki Town
Hotel Class:4 star — Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the Ewaso Nyiro River in central Kenya's Laikipia region is Alex Hunter's atmospheric Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, the ultimate in Kenyan hospitality and safari excellence. Here you will share your space with the last three surviving northern white rhino in the world. Ol Pejeta's six traditional East African safari tents offer an excellent base from which to explore the secrets of this renowned conservancy - from the pioneering conservation projects that have made it famous to spectacular sightings of black and white rhino and the Big Five. Ol Pejeta is the first choice for discerning safari veterans looking to understand and enjoy the very best of world-leading conservation practice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp Hotel Nanyuki
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa Kenya/Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing