We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Star Service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanyuki Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
“5 Star Service”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is hands down a 5 star experience. Alex and his staff deliver a classic hemingway style safari without it feeling forced or gimmicky. My wife and I recently stayed at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp as part of a honeymoon safari. It was to be a 7 night safari. Two nights at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, two nights in Navasha and then two nights in the masa mara. Ol Pejeta was the perfect start to our safari.

Just to be clear, this property is not for everyone. By design, this is a more rustic safari experience that evokes a bygone era. However, the tents are extremely comfortable and your private bathroom is right outside your tent -- less than a two foot walk. In addition, this is a very communal experience. All of our meals were taken together, along with the owner of the camp -- Alex. In addition, before dinner each night, as the various guests where returning from their late afternoon game drives, we would all congregate outside the dining tent around a camp fire, have a few cocktails and talk about what we saw on our respective game drives. The comraderie that develops between the guests and the staff in a very short time is truly special and only adds to the uniqueness of the experience that Alex and his staff provide.

A specific mention must be given to Alex, who really made our honeymoon. We arrived at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp with our own guide, who had no relation to Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, and just did not work out for us. Alex swooped in and, taking us under his wing, ensured that the rest of our trip went off without a hitch. We are greatly appreciative of his help in making our honeymoon one to remember. I enthusiastically recommend Ol Pejeta Bush Camp to anyone who is looking for a classic safari experience with a staff that will go above and beyond to give you the experience of a lifetime.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smb1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
50
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new orleans
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

What makes this place special is the caliber of the personal service. I visited with my daughter in late June and from the moment we got to the camp, the owner Alex Hunter worked hard to make our trip memorable in every way.

Alex is a native Kenyan, in love with the country and with his camp. He is direct, candid and often funny, and is a great source of knowledge about all things Kenyan. And he loves to talk, with a good store of stories about Kenyan life, past and present. His grandfather was a famous hunter and Alex either knows personally or knows interesting details about many of the famous hunters, farmers, camp owners and safari personalities.

Alex runs a true old style camp. The tents, including the lodge and dining area are simple and tasteful. The sensibility evokes old school safaris, the kind Hemingway wrote about.

The food here is really good. We stayed at three of the well reviewed, expensive camps in Kenya, and my view is that Ol Pejeta's food was the very best. Alex supervises the menu and preparation himself and it shows.

The camp has a great range of activies. One thing we did here that no one else does as far as I can tell is arranging a run in the conservancy. My daughter, Alex and I did a 10k run over the most beautiful terrain with plentiful zebras and antelope as an audience.

We also did a walk with Alex, which I have done at a number of camps, but on this walk we got very close to both elephants and hippos, which is unusual and was memorable.

The game in the conservancy is plentiful and we saw everything we wanted to see, including several rhinos and a cheetah on the hunt for zebra. The game here seemed to be the densest of all the places we have gone.

We also went on a night drive which revealed a number of nocturnal animals we didn't see anywhere else.

All in all, I heartily agree with Alex's comment that Ol Pejeta "punches above its weight." This is a very special little camp which provides a level of personal attention that sets it apart from even the heavyweights in Kenya.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShakerNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic holiday at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp.( My forth). An amazing bush camp with all the comforts of an expensive resort, without the expensive price.
The tents all look out over the river so you can lay in bed and watch the wildlife outside your room. and listen to the sounds of the bush as you rest in your very comfortable bed at night.
The food is excellent, the staff so helpful and attentive and the guide, Patrick's eyesight is amazing and he will try to make sure you do and see as much as possible during your stay.
The amount of wildlife is amazing, so many animals and birds, there is always something new to see on each game drive. How many places do you get to hand feed a black rhino, or watch the chimps in there enclosures? The highlight of my trip was sitting in the back of the car, watching the lioness and her cubs on a kill, about 20 foot away. But it was great to see nine rhino on the game drive to camp on the first day, and meet the elephant family waiting for me across the river as I arrived.
A really exciting funfill trip, I recomend this camp to everyone.

Room Tip: All the tents are the same ( except for the family tent ), and they all have a good view of the rive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Wonderful small tented camp on the river. Peaceful and quiet (except for the night time bush noises!). Alex and Diana have done a fantastic job and make you feel most welcome. Food is great too and all the staff really friendly and helpful. It was a perfect way to switch off from the hassles of Nairobi, and recharge the batteries. Great game viewing as well. My only criticism would be that more numbered stone cairns are needed over the West side! It was a joy to be back in the 'bundu', thank you!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Situated on the banks of the Ewaso Nyiro River, this small bush camp offers guests the opportunity to enjoy interactive conservation safaris. The 350 sq. km. Ol Pejeta Conservancy is only 2-3 hours from Nairobi on good roads all the way.

Alex and Diana Hunter have built an old-fashioned traditional Kenya safari tented camp, which is both functional and affordable. The food is beyond excellent.

Activities available: • day and night game drives • guided bush walks • meet Ol Pejeta researchers and learn about wildlife data and monitoring • monitor elephant, rhino and other wildlife with resident rangers and researchers • use radio-tracking equipment, e.g. to find the resident cheetah Toki (featured in the BBC documentary Toki’s Tale) • track lion with the Ol Pejeta predator-monitoring ranger • track rhino (by special request only, max 2 guests per patrol) • visit Baraka (a blind black rhino), observing him at close range at the rhino/wildlife treatment centre • take part in training walks with the Ol Pejeta tracker bloodhounds • learn about the special techniques of conservation agriculture practiced on the ranch • learn about Boran and Ankole cattle pastoral care, and pioneering integration techniques with wildlife • watch wildlife from a hide overlooking a waterhole, or even spend an exciting night there (with dinner, drinks, bedding, and night-vision monoculars). • visit a local primary school or medical clinic supported by the Ol Pejeta Conservancy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Real_TCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Spent a fantastic night at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp. The setting is spectacular, the food is five-star and the tents are beautiful. Alex & Diana are wonderful hosts who instantly make you feel at home. There are beautiful touches everywhere, including roses on the dinner table. All of this, plus the wildlife that the conservancy offers. I cannot recommend Ol Pejeta enough.

Room Tip: Tent 6 offers the best privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAnneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2012

After an amazing but arduous adventure across Africa from Kenya to Mali and back, Ol Pejeta Bush Camp was a fantastic place to relax, recover and revel in the beautiful scenery and wildlife of the place. I had been feeling unwell on the flight from Mali (low level typhoid?) and Diana personally not only took me to the hospital but waited thru seven types of queuing until we got a diagnosis (no typhoid)! Certainly well and truly above what a host needs to do!
There is so much extraordinary wildlife in Ol Pejeta - including black rhinos and white rhinos - and fascinating conservancy projects and the bush camp has a beautiful reading room and very comfortable bush tents. But what made it so special was the personal touch of the place - from the exquisite food prepared by the chef to the stories and fascinating conversations we had with Alex (ranging across all sorts of subjects) and the small details of the staff like hot water bottles waiting for us under the sheets. Highly recommended for an authentic yet comfortable experience!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
17.1 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
9.5 mi away
Porini Rhino Camp
Porini Rhino Camp
#2 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 8 in Mount Kenya National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lewa Safari Camp
Lewa Safari Camp
#2 of 57 in Laikipia County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
20.2 mi away
Olepangi Farm
Olepangi Farm
#3 of 15 in Laikipia County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
12.3 mi away
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
#2 of 14 in Nanyuki Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Ol Pejeta Conservancy, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality 10400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Nanyuki Town
Hotel Class:4 star — Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the Ewaso Nyiro River in central Kenya's Laikipia region is Alex Hunter's atmospheric Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, the ultimate in Kenyan hospitality and safari excellence. Here you will share your space with the last three surviving northern white rhino in the world. Ol Pejeta's six traditional East African safari tents offer an excellent base from which to explore the secrets of this renowned conservancy - from the pioneering conservation projects that have made it famous to spectacular sightings of black and white rhino and the Big Five. Ol Pejeta is the first choice for discerning safari veterans looking to understand and enjoy the very best of world-leading conservation practice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp Hotel Nanyuki
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa Kenya/Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing