We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing and eye-opening trip of a life-time!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanyuki Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Faversham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The most amazing and eye-opening trip of a life-time!”
Reviewed May 2, 2011

A perfectly located camp next to the river, with wonderful views for observing the ever changing animals coming to drink (including elephant). An incredible sight, especially during breakfast!
I have seen more wildlife than I could possibly imagine; a pride of lions on a kill on my first day; the gentle giraffes; a black rhino mother with her calf; walking on the plains with zebra, gazelle, antelope watching the sun go down! There is also a rich variety of birdlife, including eagles soaring over the camp.
Friendly staff, who are eager to please and always there with a smile, even at dawn with that first coffee!
Gilbert, who deserves a mention, for his fantastic culinary skills. I wasn't expecting such fine four course meals twice a day!
Alex and Diana Hunter who run the camp, have a spectacular knowledge of the area. Their passion for Africa and its future sustainability of the wildlife is evident. The perfect hosts! I was even allowed to drive one of the seven Land Cruisers out on safari.
This trip was everything one expects from a safari and so much more, and done with great style!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmac098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
50
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Fantastic trip in an amazing place. The big five like you never saw before (even on your TV). You'll be charmed by the hospitality of all the staff. I'm a kind of globe trotter, that trip will stay one of the most beautiful at the moment.
Don't hesitate, go !

Room Tip: Ask for a chocolate cake !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milousevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

This is an exceptionally well run and presented bush camp, with a strong emphasis on personal service. I felt more like a friend of the family than a guest ! The accommodation is of a very high standard and in an idyllic setting .The perfect spot to sit with that 'sun downer' and soak up the natural beauty that surrounds you.
There is a fair amount to do and the guided trips are a must .Alex and co are deeply knowledgable about the flora and fauna of the area and provide a deep insight into this fascinating area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCrichton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We spent a fantastic four nights at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp in February this year. We have been on safari several times and this place just gets everything right! The camp is situated in a beautiful spot beside a river with lots of trees and the owners, Alex and Diana Hunter, are always on hand to make sure all is well. Their guides are experienced and friendly, and Alex will even let you drive one of his old Land Cruisers through the conservancy. Ol Pejeta is packed with enough wildlife to satisfy even the most demanding of safari veterans and Alex will take you walking in the bush to see things at a slower pace. Food, from breakfasts in the bush to dinner in the mess tent, is excellent and Alex and Diana are superb hosts. We are already planning a return visit next year. A special place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SImon_Lloyd_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

I looked at many agents suggestions of what to do in Kenya for a week of relaxation. The suggestions of the 3 nights here, travel there, two more nights and then on somewhere else just didn't appeal. I was recommended to have a look at the Ol' Pejeta Bush Camp as a friend of a friend had reported having a great time. I so glad I did. I spent a whole week at the Bush Camp hosted by the owners Diana and Alex Hunter and can wholeheartedly echo the views of the other reviews on this site. It's a wonderful location, smack in the middle of the Ol' Pejeta Conservancy and a complete delight from every perspective.

I did the Game Drives and saw absolutely loads. Got thousands of great pics. I even got to drive myself in Alex's pride and joy Land Cruiser - fantastic. When I wanted a quiet day I sat and read my book in camp as the river flowed by. The bird life is quite amazing and across the river you have a huge vista with the animals coming to you.

If you want jacuzzi and infinity pools go elsewhere. If you want to enjoy times with good people who are passionate about wildlife and conservation, good food and wine and brilliant staff who go the extra mile, smiling all the way, look no further. A wholly enjoyable and relaxing time, always supported by Alex and Diana doing their utmost to make you holiday just that. A holiday. Brilliant! Thank you both

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Punchy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2011

I spent an amazing week at the Old Pejeta Bush Camp. The owners Diana and Alex Hunter organised it beautifully for me, including all transfers and flights. The days were planned based on my wishes in a very personnalised way so that I made the most of my stay. No day was like the other, a combination of game drives at different times of the day including night drives, and also fabulous walks along the river or on a plateau with Mount Kenya always in the background. Picnics and campfires were also part of the program.
Alex and Diana are a well of knowledge about the country, and happily share it. I learnt so much about the animals, trees, customs and history of Kenya. Old Pejeta Conservancy is extremely rich in wildlife and by the end of the first day I had seen all the big fives. I could not believe my eyes when on the second day we watched two lionesses hunting and then walk past carrying their prey.
The camp is located on the banks of the Ewaso Nyiro river which attracts a continuous flow of animals including elephants, zebras, hippos, buffalos and you can observe them from camp. I particularly enjoyed listening to the sounds and breathing of wild animals around the tent at night, and this included lions and leopards which I heard repeatedly during my stay.
Alex and Diana have breakfast, lunch, tea and dinner with their guests and they are the best and most friendly persons to talk to about life in Kenya both today and in the glorious 1920s and 1930s when Alex's grandfather was the well-known white hunter featured in several books and movies.
Comfort really is not a problem with very good mattresses, water and shower in ample supply at required temperature. Refreshing drinks and delicious food is always on offer.
I highly recommend Old Pejeta Bush Camp to everyone looking for a genuine personalised safari experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsa71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Not a hotel! This time, six of us spent several nights at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, at both ends of a safari in N Kenya organised and guided by Alex and Diana Hunter, whose base this is. After my three visits to Ol Pejeta BC over the past four years, I confirm the standards keep rising and their enthusiasm [and recognition of what is realistic] is undiminished.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunger4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
17.1 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
9.5 mi away
Porini Rhino Camp
Porini Rhino Camp
#2 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lewa Safari Camp
Lewa Safari Camp
#2 of 56 in Laikipia County
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 7 in Mount Kenya National Park
188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ol-Tome Laikipia Camp
Ol-Tome Laikipia Camp
#22 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
3 reviews
19.5 mi away
Loisaba Tented Camp
Loisaba Tented Camp
#10 of 56 in Laikipia County
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Ol Pejeta Conservancy, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality 10400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Nanyuki Town
Hotel Class:4 star — Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the Ewaso Nyiro River in central Kenya's Laikipia region is Alex Hunter's atmospheric Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, the ultimate in Kenyan hospitality and safari excellence. Here you will share your space with the last three surviving northern white rhino in the world. Ol Pejeta's six traditional East African safari tents offer an excellent base from which to explore the secrets of this renowned conservancy - from the pioneering conservation projects that have made it famous to spectacular sightings of black and white rhino and the Big Five. Ol Pejeta is the first choice for discerning safari veterans looking to understand and enjoy the very best of world-leading conservation practice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp Hotel Nanyuki
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa Kenya/Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing