We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Average - great views and location but awful food and service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sleeping Warrior Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sleeping Warrior Lodge
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Average - great views and location but awful food and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Great location with stunning views. Awful food - if your vegetarian, forget about going here or take your own pre-packed sandwiches - trust me even three days later, they'll be better than the fare at the lodge.

Despite claiming to be family friendly with lots of activities for kids - I had kids waiting for almost 45 minutes without anyone turning up.

A greatly located place let down by the food and service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Njora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWCamp, Owner at The Sleeping Warrior Lodge, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Many thanks for your review. Our sincere apologies for the challenges experienced during your stay with us. We have hired a new chef who will be starting this week and who is proficient with vegetarian meals. We hope that you will come to Sleeping Warrior again and give us the opportunity to provide you with a fantastic experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    12
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

the location of this lodge is just stunning and the heated infinity swimming pool gorgeous..However the service and food was terrible. Definitely not worth Kshs. 12,500 per person.

We were told that there were children's activities beginning at 11am. 7 kids were waiting from 10.55 to 11.35 and no one turned up. 3 of the kids left at 11.30am. finally someone came at 11.40am. Its just not fair to leave kids like that in the hot sun like that..I ended up entertaining the kids with singing and dancing to stop them from throwing tantrums..

Furthermore, the food for vegetarians was terrible. the first night we had half a plate of chips, 3 broccoli and 2 carrots. we asked the waiter 3 times and he confirmed that was all that was there for main course. We then complained to the owner and we were brought quiche..apparently she is veggie as well..but chips and cold quiche is not a dinner meal. Breakfast was all the normal stuff but not well made. Terrible pancakes. Lunch was nice - lasagne but again the portions were tiny and we actually left hungry.

the owner seems nice but its seems like she has not trained her staff properly. when we got there at 4pm the bathroom in reception dinning was a mess. At 7pm when we were having dinner I heard her tell that staff the bathroom needed emergency care..then i saw her going and changing the towels herself. This is just an example of how the attention to service and detail was very poor.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RadhaNjora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWCamp, Owner at The Sleeping Warrior Lodge, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your review and your compliments regarding our location. On behalf of the whole team we sincerely apologize for the difficulties you experienced during your visit. We have just hired a new chef starting this week who creates excellent vegetarian meals. We have met with our service and housekeeping teams to discuss the issues you raised. We value your feedback and hope that you will come again to Sleeping Warrior Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

If you want a break away from the busy city life... Sleeping Warrior Lodge is the place to go

About 2 hours drive from Nairobi, Sleeping Warrior Lodge has the most beautiful location in this area with a perfect view of Lake Elementaita and the great rift Valley. The swimming pool is carved out of a cliff and is simply stunning. The food is great, staff are friendly and welcoming.
There are plenty of activities to keep you busy, and most of all, you get the time to relax and unwind.
I came for a romantic weekend with my wife and stayed in Love Birds. This room is awesome, the view is breath taking and is very exclusive so you have 100% privacy

Great for honeymooners, family, and group travel, Sleeping Warrior Lodge is the ideal place.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view.. if you're a honeymooner, go for Love bird room, its amazing :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murad9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Although this is not on the banks or anywhere near Lake Elementaita, if within the area and looking for a place to stay, i would highly recommend it. The drive is long from the gate but the lodge is a reward in itself. It is built atop a hill and has a splendid view of the Soysambu conservancy. The sunrise and sunset views are sublime and i recommend sitting on your deck or by the fire pit with your favourite drink.

Room Tip: The rooms furthest from the restaurant add to the charm and privacy of the experience. Walking aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samdave69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We went there for one night in June 2013. We were blown away by the amazing location as soon as we arrived. It had minimal cottages so it wasn't overcrowded. The rooms were big with a nice deck overlooking the Sleeping Warrior and Lake Elementaita and a vast expanse of the Soysambu Conservancy without any human developments. Just pure savannah land.

The service was good, a cosy dining room and satisfying meals. There are lots of activities to do or simply just relax.A must place for a getaway or weekend break and its is only about 2 hours from Nairobi.

The only hitch we had was that the first meal wasn't catered as per our expectations but the remaining two meals were wonderful after talking to the chef.

Room Tip: If you are a vegetarian, kindly get the menus in advance and sort it out well befoe you arrive so th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Sleeping Warrior is one of my favourite places in Kenya. Wonderful views over Lake Elementaita, the Sleeping Warrior and Soysambu Conservancy, as well as great food and lovely people. It's lovely and peaceful offering safaris, walks, and a beautiful place to just relax. I've been solo and with friends and will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Batik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed here in March 2014 for 1 night. It's a comfortable 3 hour drive from Nairobi to the lodge - you can drive to and from with a 4 wheel drive - and you can either stay at the camp or the lodge (we were at the lodge).

Nestled on a hill, the views from the room are glorious and the rooms designed like cottages are massive! There are many activities that the lodge can organise eg walks, hikes, guided game drives etc. If you prefer just to relax, there is a cosy swimming pool on site.

Food is a la carte and they cater to vegetarians but prior arrangements should be made.

While at the lodge, it was safe to walk around during the day but at night we were advised against doing so for fear of buffalos. You need to drive to and from the restaurant.

We were happy with the overall service provided but have one complaint about the cleanliness of the rooms. It seemed like the room had been cleaned but then left untouched so we noticed thick layer of dust and dead insects.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aparna_Nbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Elementaita
5.4 mi away
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Elementaita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
11.4 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
14.8 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 2 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
8.7 mi away
Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp
Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp
#1 of 8 in Lake Elementaita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sentrim Elementaita Lodge
Sentrim Elementaita Lodge
#3 of 8 in Lake Elementaita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sleeping Warrior Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sleeping Warrior Lodge

Property: The Sleeping Warrior Lodge
Address: Soysambu Conservancy, Lake Elementaita 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Elementaita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Elementaita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sleeping Warrior Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive, addictive and elegant clustered high on the slopes of an extinct volcano are eight wide-spaced natural stone cottages. The vaulted lounge and dining room achieves just the right blend of Africana and elegance while the stone clad terrace features a central fire pit and safari bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Sleeping Warrior Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing