We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and comfort = relaxation!”
Review of The Pelican Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pelican Lodge
A TripAdvisor Member
“Peace and comfort = relaxation!”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful getaway for those who want to get away from the daily grind of city life. Very comfortable rooms and relaxing atmosphere. Polite and tending staff. Must stress that the food was tasty and the variety quite tempting. As a bonus, our car was washed without us asking for it. I recommend this place if you want a nice quite and peaceful getaway!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    32
    20
    7
    10
See reviews for
39
33
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We just got back from Pelican lodge. We went there for Easter to spend a night. It is situated in a very calm and serene location. We had a good view of Lake Elementaita. The rooms were clean and were in individual cottages. They were spacious. All the rooms had a deck and our room even had an outdoor shower. The food was excellent considering we were all vegetarians and one of us doesn't eat onions and garlic, hence they cooked separate food for him without any onions and garlic.There was a good variety of the food and we had no complains whatsoever. The chef did an excellent job. Milka went out of her way to make sure we have a comfortable stay. The added bonus was the live musician during meal times. I would definitely recommend anyone looking for a relaxing and quite break to go visit Pelican lodge.

Room Tip: When booking a room, ask for the ones with a lake view. If you are vegetarian, have the menu you in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Somehow it happened that the one night my friends and I stayed here, we were the only guests. I'm not sure how this place wasn't booked full. It was clean, and beautifully decorated. We had cabins 1 & 2. They reminded me of honeymoon suites with their canopied beds and open layouts. We had one meal there and it was pretty good compared to other lodges we had been at. It wasn't a buffet, which was a welcome change. The beer here was a very reasonable price and they had WIFI! The view from the lodge was an overlook of the lake, you are not that close, which is okay since there are hippos and all. Very nice sunsets :) The only glitch I had here was that the shower was very touchy (I'm not sure how cabin 2 was) It was either screaming hot or cold. Otherwise a fantastic stay!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This was a lovely hotel! The room was huge and very clean and the food was really nice. Though, there are two things that makes me give this hotel 4 points instead of 5: the water temperature in the room was almost impossible to regulate and we had to work on this for 30 minutes before we got a decent temperature (not too hot, not too cold) and we also had a HUGE spider in our room + two spider nests in the ceiling which really freaked me out and therefore, unfortunately, lowered the grade for this hotel...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Pelican lodge is a nice, clean and beautiful lodge. Our group of 7 people were the only guests staying in the hotel for 1 night during our trip. The food is great, the provided set meals in breakfast and dinner, which were very delicious. The room is big, facilities inside the room are good. Highly recommend this lodge if you want a relaxing stay near Lake Narkuru or Lake Naivasha.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorettalo908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pachamama, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

After 2 months tour of east Africa, pelican lodge was our last stop before Nairobi and we left with the sweetness of an amasing trip all around. The hotel staff went out of their way to take care of us and even the box breakfasts and lunches were good. It's one of those places that you feel someone cares. Very good food, lovely rooms and georgous sunsets. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was the first stop on our trip and we didn't know what to expect in terms of quality of the lodges. We were prepared for the worst. But Pelican was a wonderful surprise. Nicely done up, great service, awesome rooms and view and good food.

Pelican is a permanent hotel, so it has huge rooms with comfortable beds and very clean. The staff is friendly and helpful and the hotel has a nice lounge for a post-game ride beer.

We were sorry to have to leave after just one night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikramDevare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Elementaita
1.7 mi away
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Elementaita
76 reviews
12.0 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 3 in Lake Nakuru National Park
839 reviews
24.9 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sentrim Elementaita Lodge
Sentrim Elementaita Lodge
#3 of 9 in Lake Elementaita
125 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elementaita Country Lodge
3.4 mi away
Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp
Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp
#1 of 9 in Lake Elementaita
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pelican Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelican Lodge

Property: The Pelican Lodge
Address: Nakuru - Nairobi Rd, Lake Elementaita 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Elementaita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Lake Elementaita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pelican Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an Exclusive, Luxurious and Outstanding lodge with ten cottages six doubles and four twins, three of them with outdoor showers. Located at the shows of Lake Elementaita, each cottage has a large balcony and a spectacular view of the lake. Overlooking Soysambu Conservancy. The sunset view from the lodge is a site to behold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pelican Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing